Anyone into laopok Mercs?

Lethalstrike

Was browsing through sgcarmart for Mercs which are more than 10 years old and happened to spot a few gems, besides the usual W124s. [cool]

Its interesting to see the classic Merc genes and design slowly evolving over the years as well.

If the owners happened to chance across this thread, could you kindly share with us the experience of owning a classic Merc in Singapore, besides being patient and having wads of cash on hand for restorations and ad-hoc repairs? :D

1. W111? Earliest predecessor to the S-classes

128209_1b.jpg

link

2. R129 in chio chio chilli red :wub:

126833_1b.jpg

link

3. W201 The legendary ex-DTM Cosworth 2.3-16

123743_2b.jpg

link

4. W113 Predecessor to the SL-classes

129318_2b.jpg

Visit My Website

5. W108/109 Predecessor to the S-classes

104563_2b.jpg

link

6. W123, still used as taxis in some European countries

119460_1b.jpg

link

7. R107, another SL from the 1970s. Dun really like this round quad lamps variant though

121041_1b.jpg

link

8. W140. A 5-litre V8 german tank registered in 1994. Can't imagine the roadtax then... ^_^

74768_1b.jpg

link

9. W126. Most successful S-class which seals Merc's status as the leading luxury car maker.

121227_1b.jpg

link

10. R170. First SLK with mass-produced folding metal roof. Destined to be a future classic.

110217_1b.jpg

link

yeah.. love the red one since i was a teenager.. but the road tax is a killer.. not practical... unfulfilled dream [bigcry] only have matchbox ones instead

Waaaahh!! The W113 cabrio in Burgundy is DAMN F**KING chio lorrrrrrr!!!! Too bad it's on vintage number plate, can only drive 28 days a year [:(]

Yes, the W113 is my favourite among all the classic Mercs. [cool] Fantastic and timeless design, this example seems to be lovingly restored.

Am very impressed by W124 since i read that it is the last from Mercedes's over-engineered era and also the fact that numerous examples have been found to clock intergalactic miles. Furthermore, i got the impression from forummers in MCF that spares can be easily had and at a reasonable price from Waterloo street.

There is one white W124 that has been beautifully restored in my HDB carpark. The owner went to great lengths to swap out the stock headlamps for an integrated cluster lamp that uses HID. Very clean stock look. I have stopped and listened to the engine note once when i was walking home. The engine note told me that the engine is still in very good condition indeed.

I have always liked the W124.

One with renewed COE (till 2019) would probably cost $30k.

Seems very affordable. Is there any catch, e.g. high maintenace/repair costs?

I would be happy to own a W124 or Cefiro 200JK.

Both have the classic Ah Pek Towkay look.

Edited by Albeniz

W124 and R129 are my favourites.

Esp the R129 SL, reminds me of those 500SL model cars which were very common during my childhood days. : D

Seeing a clean original always bring a smile to my face.

Am very impressed by W124 since i read that it is the last from Mercedes's over-engineered era and also the fact that numerous examples have been found to clock intergalactic miles. Furthermore, i got the impression from forummers in MCF that spares can be easily had and at a reasonable price from Waterloo street.

There is one white W124 that has been beautifully restored in my HDB carpark. The owner went to great lengths to swap out the stock headlamps for an integrated cluster lamp that uses HID. Very clean stock look. I have stopped and listened to the engine note once when i was walking home. The engine note told me that the engine is still in very good condition indeed.

The W124 is indeed an overengineered Merc. Some many examples are still running around in Singapore, even though they are already more than 15 years old.

Aiyo if you are a fan please call it classic lah ...laopok [shakehead]

Of course when i mentioned laopok i don't mean it literally.

Somehow "laopok" seems to be a more intimate term to describe these classics, as least to me lah. ^_^

For W124, recommended to get 16V fuel inject model from '93 to '95.

Those 8V carb examples from '88 to '92 are more problematic .