Any successful travel insurance claim before ?

Joemit7850

This make insurance companies sounds like casino operators, make $ from the majority of gamblers to pay the few winners

if so, if u declare that you never claim before and later they find out...it will be a fault declaration and u will get nothing even if it is a big problem like ''mati'' or accident...so I guess the premium will change if one ever claim it....so better think before u claim here claim there....these insurance company will never make losing money business .....

I cannot remember my insurance company but once i claimed was from qbe. Anyway, first time my money was stolen in amsterdam, I got the 500 sing max as compensation. I lost over a thousand dollars, though. All i needed was the police report, which was writtened in dutch, the company asked to to just write in short in english what i lost.

Second time, i was late for my flight cos the public bus did not come. Wasted one day. The bus company (in new york) denied their bus was late but i persisted, firing email after email from singapore until they sent an email saying the bus got engine trouble. I printed out the email and sent as claim to the insurance company and got my compensation

So did your premium increase after those claim?

so far, no. BUT from what i have heard from my own agent, cos mine are small claims, so not worth their time to investigate. One is ABOUT HUNDRED DOLLARS, THE Other about 500 dollars. Not like those evacuations or something that is in the thousands....

Usually there is a column that ask if you have ever claim insurance before....

Never encounter this with the various travel insurance purchased before leh.

Anyway, to TS : No problem with medical claims after come back from trip.

Edited by Kingkong

SG fly to Lisbon, the flight stopover in Istanbul.

Luggage was to be offloaded and sent to Lisbon.

But it didn't arrive. Half of our tour group lost luggage.

Took 2 days for the luggage to come back.

Delivered to our hotel.

Travel insurance claim was ok.

Good to snap a photo of your luggage when travelling. Need the brand info when reporting to Lost Luggage counter.

Once in LA, wife fell sick.

using the insurance policy documents as reference, we were told to call a certain Singapore telephone number for advice. Did so, and was directed to a certain hospital for treatment.

The claims after that was smooth, but guess what? The telephone call charges were not claimable. I questioned the said company when back in Singapore. My reason: If I did not call the Singapore number, I would be blamed for not seeking advice and the subsequent medical claims might be in jeopardy. And if so, how could it be that the call charges which were directly linked to the case could not be claimed?

Argued and argued, based on logic and principles. In the end, the agent (a friend) settled for us. Not sure if it is out of his pocket.

That company, btw, is a certain company from the "East" that claimed to be "Great".

Never will I be a customer of that company, never anymore.

You mean other travel insurance will cover the cost of calling?

The policy requires us to call back to a Sin-based number. What do you think?

Say if I did not call, either my claims be void (since they provided a Sin number to call), or I just went ahead to any hospital and seek consultation? If the latter is alright, then why require us to call back? It is not cheap btw for such long distance call, and the conversation was about the conditions of the sickness.

Other companies did not require us to call back. At least for NTUC - just seek consultation with medical personnel and claim when you return.

Edited by Latio2005A

using the insurance policy documents as reference, we were told to call a certain Singapore telephone number for advice. Did so, and was directed to a certain hospital for treatment.

The claims after that was smooth, but guess what? The telephone call charges were not claimable. I questioned the said company when back in Singapore. My reason: If I did not call the Singapore number, I would be blamed for not seeking advice and the subsequent medical claims might be in jeopardy. And if so, how could it be that the call charges which were directly linked to the case could not be claimed?

Argued and argued, based on logic and principles. In the end, the agent (a friend) settled for us. Not sure if it is out of his pocket.

That company, btw, is a certain company from the "East" that claimed to be "Great".

To be fair, you did claim back the hospital bill which was what the travel insurance was. That is the crucial part. How much can a phone bill cost? Even if it's a couple of hundreds, I think it's worth it and not something to go fighting for.

The insurance we bought was meant for more than medical coverage.

The policy required you to call back to seek advice. If the calls are required by the insurance company, and the conversation went along the line of asking your conditions, and dictating which hospital to go to etc, do you think it is fair for us to incur the charges?

Yes, the call charges were in the hundreds, and were directly relevant to the claims (not personal calls).

It is not about worth the fight or otherwise. It is about the purpose of the insurance, and in my case, the purpose of making the calls, which was in accordance to the instruction for us to make the call. Otherwise, as I explained earlier, my wife could just gone to any medical professionals in LA and claimed accordingly. We were merely following the protocol of the insurance policy.

Edited by Latio2005A

mine i didn't call, don't even know if i need so as i didn't even bother to read the documents. just came back and submit claim, no issue at all. so if i also used the same as yours, jialat liao.

Yup, maybe just pretend pretend and not call. Get the most expensive medical treatment and claimed later? Is that what they want of us?

I mean, I was following their protocol and I have to incurred out-of-pocket money because of their protocols?

That's why on matter of principle, I pursued.

The insurance we bought was meant for more than medical coverage.

The policy required you to call back to seek advice. If the calls are required by the insurance company, and the conversation went along the line of asking your conditions, and dictating which hospital to go to etc, do you think it is fair for us to incur the charges?

Yes, the call charges were in the hundreds, and were directly relevant to the claims (not personal calls).

It is not about worth the fight or otherwise. It is about the purpose of the insurance, and in my case, the purpose of making the calls, which was in accordance to the instruction for us to make the call. Otherwise, as I explained earlier, my wife could just gone to any medical professionals in LA and claimed accordingly. We were merely following the protocol of the insurance policy.

I see... yes, that probably should be claimable if they allow only a certain hospital.

Did you ask them what would happen if you visited another doctor? Zero claim?

I see... yes, that probably should be claimable if they allow only a certain hospital.

Did you ask them what would happen if you visited another doctor? Zero claim?

No I did not ask. It was stated in the policy instruction to call.

On hint sight, I should have just sent my wife to any hospital (those certified by the American Medical Association, i.e., the qualified ones) and claimed them jialuck jialuck. (Medical cost in America is expensive, mind you.) And because of the instruction after the calls, I had to drive a long way to the hospital, extended my car rental (car which I supposed to return the same morning, but now deferred for one more day). I mean, I could not return the car as I had to accompany my wife to the hospital further away, while there was a nearby private clinic next to my hotel. The trip to the hospital was not that simple as we were not locals.

I bo pian borne all these additional car rental charges and paid out of pocket, yet they wanted to deny the call claims.

Anyway, water under the bridge. I want no more dealings with that insurance company. Now I bought company travel insurance and family travel insurance package from another companies. My claim records are very clean one.

Edited by Latio2005A

No I did not ask. It was stated in the policy instruction to call.

On hint sight, I should have just sent my wife to any hospital (those certified by the American Medical Association, i.e., the qualified ones) and claimed them jialuck jialuck. (Medical cost in America is expensive, mind you.) And because of the instruction after the calls, I had to drive a long way to the hospital, extended my car rental (car which I supposed to return the same morning, but now deferred for one more day). I mean, I could not return the car as I had to accompany my wife to the hospital further away, while there was a nearby private clinic next to my hotel. The trip to the hospital was not that simple as we were not locals.

I bo pian borne all these additional car rental charges and paid out of pocket, yet they wanted to deny the call claims.

Anyway, water under the bridge. I want no more dealings with that insurance company. Now I bought company travel insurance and family travel insurance package from another companies. My claim records are very clean one.

Ya... but no point thinking back about it. Should just boycott this "Great" company from the "East". I never had any problem with travel insurance claim. Once I was supposed to go on a tour with my family. My son had high fever just 2 days before the tour. We took him to a GP and asked for a letter. Forwarded it to the insurer and the whole tour package was refunded minus some admin charges. It was simple without hassle.

Unexpected incidents already dented the mood of a holiday. These claim thing should make it worse.

Claimed once, bkk airport riot.

Full refund on flight tickets.

Then budget airline gave us option to top up for another flight somewhere else which we did.

After deducting from the claim amount, it just cost $80 per pax to Macau.

I make it a point to buy travel insurance and also, try not to fly with budget airline after the bkk incident.

Claimed back flight cancellation for domestic flight from Queenstown (NZ) and Auckland to Sg during the ash from volcano eruption by Jetstar. The refund sufficient for me to cover the cost of air ticket by Air NZ & SQ flight back to Sg. Just that very troublesome to get letter from Budget airline to confirm the flight cancellation and deal with insurance that need black and white.

As medical claim, no problem as long you visit clinic by the 7th day upon your arrival @ a Changi airport.