Can HDB n LTA work together for Punggol/Sengkang

Sunnycrowe

Wow another BTO project launched in Punggol... over the past years n months we have seen countless new residential projects (HDBs, ECs, Condos) launched in Punggol n sengkang..... and there r stil plenty of vacant land in these two areas siting down there, most probably they will turn into residential sites soon........

Traffic situation in Punggol n Sengkang right now is in a near-critical mess..... whether using CTE or KPE, or by upper serangoon, its already very jam during morning peak hrs as pple are going to the city area for work...

So can HDB n LTA work together first and solve the current and anticipated future traffic woes, before selling the vacant lands to private developers or HDB itself to build more flats? and in turn create more pple and more cars.....

They realy mus start building more roads, or do road widening at KPE like CTE.... dun just solve problem by increasing ERP...... even by increasing ERP oso wont solve the traffic problem....

otherwise, stop building flats in these areas, build more facilities instead...... my fren who live in punngol said he waited for 10 years b4 they finally build a community centre there.....

i live in sengkang n is worried for the current jam at KPE (even b4 entering the tunnel)........ the worst is to come in years ahead as more flats are developed.

Edited by Sunnycrowe

Punggol current residential stands at about 15k, within the next 5 years will become double to 30k. ERP already stand-by waiting for activation only. Singapore is small, we have limited lands to build flats. I expect the ERP at KPE to start operation by end of next year

Wow another BTO project launched in Punggol... over the past years n months we have seen countless new residential projects (HDBs, ECs, Condos) launched in Punggol n sengkang..... and there r stil plenty of vacant land in these two areas siting down there, most probably they will turn into residential sites soon........

Traffic situation in Punggol n Sengkang right now is in a near-critical mess..... whether using CTE or KPE, or by upper serangoon, its already very jam during morning peak hrs as pple are going to the city area for work...

So can HDB n LTA work together first and solve the current and anticipated future traffic woes, before selling the vacant lands to private developers or HDB itself to build more flats? and in turn create more pple and more cars.....

They realy mus start building more roads, or do road widening at KPE like CTE.... dun just solve problem by increasing ERP...... even by increasing ERP oso wont solve the traffic problem....

otherwise, stop building flats in these areas, build more facilities instead...... my fren who live in punngol said he waited for 10 years b4 they finally build a community centre there.....

i live in sengkang n is worried for the current jam at KPE (even b4 entering the tunnel)........ the worst is to come in years ahead as more flats are developed.

Agreed totally. [drivingcar][thumbsup] Better to be pre-emptive rather than reactive. Town planning includes infrastructure like roads, amenities, healthcare clinics, police station, petrol kiosks among so many things.

I have stayed in Punggol for past 10 years, only one miserable Punggol Plaza and one petrol kiosk till date. The only thing holding me back from moving out is the tranquillity which is slowly eroding away.

They dont listen and they dont talk to each other either. Even if can anticipate the problem now, nothing is gonna happen. Already not enough time to plan for their million dollar spending, where got time to take care of traffic jam. Maybe Punggol and Sengkang will be the first to have ERP gantry right at your MSCP exit. Then swee liao [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][crazy]

Agreed totally. [drivingcar][thumbsup] Better to be pre-emptive rather than reactive. Town planning includes infrastructure like roads, amenities, healthcare clinics, police station, petrol kiosks among so many things.

I have stayed in Punggol for past 10 years, only one miserable Punggol Plaza and one petrol kiosk till date. The only thing holding me back from moving out is the tranquillity which is slowly eroding away.

Got one popeyes restaurant opening tomorrow :D

Sure they can work together. Hopefully not solving problems with ERP gantries can already. I can't believe our PM can laugh about it during last year's rally when it isn't solving problems.

sorry to throw u guys with wet blanket on x'mas eve, sad to say, they do not operate in that manner. what i foresee is simply ERP activation on KPE, and ERP gantry erection on TPE.... and that's was their "solution" and it will remains to be their "only" solution. (perhaps until the settle the satelite ERP thingy, but that's also the same stuff.....)

for me, im preparing to moved to the next "new town" in ~10yrs time if possible when punggol become too congested. me and wife hate crowded places. [laugh]

i remember some years back some friends decided to move to Woodlands... so can save by pumping MY petrol... some got nice places in Sembawang... ridiculous... in the end more petrol used cause so far from town...

and lately the Woodlands Ave 12 morning jams are crazy... SLE towards CTE so many lanes also will jam so bad so often... haiz...

Is why I was never quite taken in by urgings of friends, colleagues and even some subtle marketing by the govt (Waterfront living, anyone?) to buy a new home at Punggol/Sengkang area. Prices are not that cheap also.

I'd rather just top up a little bit more and stay in older, "matured" neighbourhoods, west side. There's no "waterfront" and the flats are older. But facilities and public transport are already long-established. For commuting to work, traffic flow on the expressways also favour those staying west, working east.

Got one popeyes restaurant opening tomorrow :D

That's commercial, not infrastructural.

Can have 20 3-star michellin restaurants opening tomorrow, but not enough road means not enough road. The restaurants will close down the month after.

Dear sir,

The solution is already implemented via COE and ERP.

if traffic get heavy, we will raise them further..... until you buay tahan and take public transport to work.

that should reduce some traffic...

we thank you for your valuable feedback and we are monitoring the situation closely.

Is why I was never quite taken in by urgings of friends, colleagues and even some subtle marketing by the govt (Waterfront living, anyone?) to buy a new home at Punggol/Sengkang area. Prices are not that cheap also.

I'd rather just top up a little bit more and stay in older, "matured" neighbourhoods, west side. There's no "waterfront" and the flats are older. But facilities and public transport are already long-established. For commuting to work, traffic flow on the expressways also favour those staying west, working east.

thats fake waterfront.....

real water front is marina sails, keppel bay and sentosa cove.

thats fake waterfront.....

real water front is marina sails, keppel bay and sentosa cove.

Truely agree. Spend so much money reclaiming land, and now waste so much money again digging the man-made canel.

Didn't the gov always say there ain't enough land that we have to reclaim? Then why waste a sound piece of land for this canel?

Actually a better suggestion to have a near natural waterfront is to reclaim Coney Island and stretch it longer towards Pasir Ris direction.

Immediately we have a water front by reclaiming and not digging. More land mass achieved instead.

Truely agree. Spend so much money reclaiming land, and now waste so much money again digging the man-made canel.

Didn't the gov always say there ain't enough land that we have to reclaim? Then why waste a sound piece of land for this canel?

Actually a better suggestion to have a near natural waterfront is to reclaim Coney Island and stretch it longer towards Pasir Ris direction.

Immediately we have a water front by reclaiming and not digging. More land mass achieved instead.

no canel, how to lure suckers to pay extra more for a "waterfront" HDB flat...

i think they can work togther to make more $$ from thje residents in that area. it seems that they are very profit minded. most things, though not all, are done with a view to generate more revenue