Be warned: never buy air con from G@1n C1ty

Jkcs

I've got my ac installed by GC. Satisfied with their job cos they asked my opinions before they lay the trunks during installation day. Thumbs upzzz!

Our aircon also installed by Gain City abou 4yrs ago.

I was present when they arrived at my HDB unit before starting work. We discussed on the locations of the units, routing of trunking, any doubts [eg. why dun lay trunking to our preference, etc...] was clarified with them, finally agreed and confirmed, I left the unit to them for whole to complete, they almost completed, called me to endorsed their work. Fairly satisfied.

GC already told you that your renovation contractor told them that the installation was okay so why do you keep insisting on blaming them? If you willingly delegate authority to someone else, then you should accept the consequences.

Our aircon was not included in the reno package, becos I thought cheaper if I source myself. In this case, the reno contractor will be involved/responsible for any aircon installation, we informed them when aircon installer is coming, then reno workers stay clear on that day to avoid crowding of work space.

Any supervision/discussion about aircon is between me and Gain City. This is understandable.

Bro, wait till u encountered something similiar issue like what happened to me, then u tell me how is your feeling..

伤不在你身, 你不知疼 [;)]

但是错在你自己,哪还可以怨!

Take your LCD TV as an example, I will clearly indicate to the installer how many meters from left/right wall and floor if I am not able to supervise. If the installer still do it wrongly, then of course can complain because never follow instructions. I expect installer to know the product well but not to know my preference of positioning.

Different people has different expectation where the good position is to mount the LCD TV. If no clear instructions are given, do not blame and push the responsibility to others.

Hi TS,

I have bad experience with GC as well.same issue like u and my trunking is 10 times more ugly than u. the workers dilebrately lay until super ugly then ask me for extra $$ to relay. the worker even say give him the $$ dun give GC, he can charge me lower.. refused to talk to the worker and f--k the s--t out of GC salesman and managed to get them relay the pipings..

then the worker lay the wiring wrongly for me. on aircon at room2, room 3 blow air instead...when the service guy came, he say how come the wiring can be lay wrongly and say must be the worker dliebrately do so as he say 99.99% wont lay wrongly..

to be fair to GC, maybe i kana the bad worker.. so maybe there are some with good encounters.. but this exp make me think twice abt buying from GC..

Bro, wait till u encountered something similiar issue like what happened to me, then u tell me how is your feeling..

伤不在你身, 你不知疼 [;)]

It happens to you becoz you were not there to discuss and lay out your expectation to them. They will discuss with the home owner or the renovation contractor in charged. Since you left it to your reno contractor, who to blame?

some don't get my point, this i understand and this is a nvr ending issue if I carry on debating here so this is my last post to my own thread.

pray that this similiar issue doesn't fall onto anyone

cheers!

伤不在你身, 你不知疼 [;)]

Since you want to say things like hurt is not on us, we don't understand. Then don't come in here trying to seek understanding and complain.

The bro will probably not encounter something like u cause he is not u. He would likely have been around to supervise in the first place.

Most have been telling u generally hw wat they would have done in the first place so they don't experience this, but u don't wana listen and instead tell them 伤不在你身, 你不知疼.

Dude, life is a learning process. Try to get them to rework if possible for free, but this time around be there to supervise.

thanks all for your replies :)

@Hoytusa84: of cos I am not so mean and evil lah, all new flats have aircon ledge for installer to work on. so how can one fall and die?

Ohh I didn't know that.. Thought u want him to climb out wit a safety harness and work haha!! Too bad I'm poor still living in old HDB.. -_-

Since you want to say things like hurt is not on us, we don't understand. Then don't come in here trying to seek understanding and complain.

The bro will probably not encounter something like u cause he is not u. He would likely have been around to supervise in the first place.

Most have been telling u generally hw wat they would have done in the first place so they don't experience this, but u don't wana listen and instead tell them 伤不在你身, 你不知疼.

Dude, life is a learning process. Try to get them to rework if possible for free, but this time around be there to supervise.

Most of us do know how to minimize disputes with contractors/installers when come to house renovation, but TS will never accept our pov. He initial objective was to condemn the shop [rifle] when thing didn't turn out well and EXPECTED most of us do think like him and supported him, just like he EXPECTED the installer to know exactly what was on his mind without giving clear instructions.

Dude I did my air con at Gain city too, all 4 units of them. They did exactly as I asked them to. They will ask you how u wanna run the trunking before doing it. SO if you leave it to your contractor or simply bochap. They will do it as per your contractor instruction. Then they will likely to push responsibility to each other. If its your house u need to be physically there for the renovation. You why know there are construction foremen ? Why designers argue with their contractors alot ? Contractors sometimes "change" design as a short cut to make their work easier.

If you want things to be done right then supervise yourself, cos that's what I did.

i agree... when the installer came. they took almost 1 full day. 3 aircons with condenser... i was there all the time. before they start work we 'discuss' how and where the pipes go and such. and then they start work. all in all good work leh..

Chances for us to be in your situation is minimal coz we take steps to ensure it would not happen by being present to discuss with the installer. The root cause of your problem is you left the installer in auto-pilot mode. The installer is not a arty farty interior decor expert, what they can do is install as close as possible to the customer requirement. Aesthetic is not the installer forte.

TS, you did not set the expectation correct in the first place. you should have discussed the trunking path with your contractor to see whether any path impact your reno or not or whether to your liking or not. They r specialist in technical area but not in aesthetic area which is very subjective. You should communicate your preferences to your contractor who will then either draw out or u draw out for aircon men to install.

My aircon was installed by Gain city and they did an excellent job, very professional and efficient. btw: home owner must do the due diligence to ensure work is properly carried out or any communication is clearly communicated. DO NOT LEAVE TO CONTRACTOR. REMEMBER THIS IS YOUR HOME NOT THEIRS.....

another impt factor, if home owner super duper hiam tang hiam sia type, obviously the worker will not be happy.

rule of thumb: treat them a can of 100 PLUS each before the work starts and they will do shui shui for u... :)

Edited by Help1

To TS i empathised with u but cant blame GC 100%..

Im also scared coz gg reno my place soon..such ugli trunking will spoil looks of the house.

If me I would juz pay $100+ treat it as a lesson & be there to supervise their rework.

I also bought my AC from GC. Everything was smooth years ago.

Of course, I was there to discuss how the trunking/AC placement was to be done.

Looks like that's the key. (IIRC my contractor ask me to be on the spot with him)

Servicing initially done by then but sign a package with another company which is cheaper.

Isn't it dangerous if you want the specialist to go out of your window and lay the pipe? Later he fall down and died you got more problem!

Lucky me, my air-con sub still alive..... I live at 21 sty w/o AC ledge. BTW when they install my CU, the one on the outside the flat

always have his harness anchored...

I bought my AC in Now from Gain City too. Solid installation. Guess, they have many sub contractors to do installation for them. If you suay suay kana one that is bad, then things turn sour lor.

But thumb rule, must supervise at all times one. they have to do things your way, not their way.