Disgust at GRC Blackmail

Gendut

Ms Tin looks like she is going to be fielded in a GRC under the skirts of strong experienced ministers.

Does the ruling party turn a deaf ear to the horror its citizens are expressing?

Or are they blackmailing us? Vote for one or vote for none? I hope they don't try to test the citizens resolve.

Well if they want to play poker, wait until the GE and see where the chips fall. For all we know Tin Pei Ling may be the cause of heavyweight ministers losing the election.

PM still insists GRC is a must because in multi racial singapore, it allow multi racial representation. this brings to me this quesiton

1) if the minority never insist they need their race MP to represent them, why must the servants insist the minority citizens need (their usual i know-what-is-good-for-you-betther-than-you-know-what-is-good-for-yourself attitude)

2) so is he saying in SMC, there are very little malays and indians? i thought we have the ethnic quota ratio in HDB? or unless all the SMC are in areas with little HDB flats?

3) statistically, how many minority citizens cross to neigbouring constituency in same GRC to look for their own race MP to represent them?

4) does it make sense then for a grc for for 2 constituencies (marine parade and braddell area), (tanjong pagar and balestier area) to be so far apart?

I dare bet that if 1 or 2 GRCs fall to opposition in the coming election, PAP will further shrink the siZe of the GRCs and then they will come up with a c--k and bull story to say that they have reviewed the system and find that greater presence of SMCs or smaller GRCs could be better for Singapore afterall. Was anyone curious why they increase the number of SMCs and reduce some GRCs from 6 members GRC to 5 members GRC and some from 5 members to 4 members GRC for this election? My gutfeel is that they already have the feeling that GRC may not be as foolproof as it used to be anymore..

Ms Tin looks like she is going to be fielded in a GRC under the skirts of strong experienced ministers.

Does the ruling party turn a deaf ear to the horror its citizens are expressing?

Or are they blackmailing us? Vote for one or vote for none? I hope they don't try to test the citizens resolve.

Well if they want to play poker, wait until the GE and see where the chips fall. For all we know Tin Pei Ling may be the cause of heavyweight ministers losing the election.

aiyoh.. young man... u guys made the same noise at GE 2006 and the results were the same as GE 2001. PAP is still in power, sans 2 token opposition MPs.

Yawn...

aiyoh.. young man... u guys made the same noise at GE 2006 and the results were the same as GE 2001. PAP is still in power, sans 2 token opposition MPs.

Yawn...

for most, or at least for me, i agree with WP...

Opp are not ready to take over the govt yet, but that doesn't mean we are contended with PAP rule

if this election, WP (or any other opp) can win a GRC and more seats, it is considered a big victory already

Yawn...

it is the same in terms of seats lost, but the margin of votes went down from 75% in 2001 to 66.6% in 2006. That is a significant result. If it could go further down this time round near to their previous record low of below 63% back in 1991, a bigger loss of more than 2 seats for this coming election cannot be ruled out.

I guess you have not heard this heavy weight minister spoke about her on TV tonight, right? It is not looks like, it is confirmed. This heavy weight minister has confirmed that she will be one of the members of P@P Team contesting in Marine Parade GRC, which include another new candidate, BG Tan Chuan-Jin. There is no doubt about it that they are determined to bring her into the parliament, and thus she will not be field at any SMC. He said he is confident that TPL will make a good MP in Macpherson. Being young and energetic, she will be able to take care of those old and lonely old people living in this constituency. He went further to add that whether TPL is a liability to P@P, can only tell after the election.

If there is no opp contesting in Marine Parade GRC, she will just walk in to enjoy her 15K monthly allowance.

Yawn...

Only apathetic citizens who don't love their country, sit down with arms folded when they see things sliding into the gutter.

The fact that I saw it way back in 2006 shows my foresight. My distrust of them goes way before that.

Be wary of what they will implement after the elections. If you think the current situation is painful, think again. You'll be like slave then.

Edited by Gendut

I guess you have not heard this heavy weight minister spoke about her on TV tonight, right? It is not looks like, it is confirmed. This heavy weight minister has confirmed that she will be one of the members of P@P Team contesting in Marine Parade GRC, which include another new candidate, BG Tan Chuan-Jin. There is no doubt about it that they are determined to bring her into the parliament, and thus she will not be field at any SMC. He said he is confident that TPL will make a good MP in Macpherson. Being young and energetic, she will be able to take care of those old and lonely old people living in this constituency. He went further to add that whether TPL is a liability to P@P, can only tell after the election.

If there is no opp contesting in Marine Parade GRC, she will just walk in to enjoy her 15K monthly allowance.

Then GCT better be prepared to be voted out. Don't miscalculate the citizens will.

I think TPL will pull GCT votes down if there is a contest but I doubt he will lose. He enjoy immense popularity at Marine Parade. And Marine Parade is the type of place where the residents feels good to live in due to convenience and no lack of amenities. This is type of place the residents usually more likely to vote PAP.

come to think about it.

this is Republic of SG.

from http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/republic

Republic: a state in which the supreme power rests in the body of citizens entitled to vote and is exercised by representatives chosen directly or indirectly by them.

knowing that boycott or riot will face with legal actions, the netizens had raised the unhappiness with the decision made previously.

instead, it was being challenged back. insisting that the choice made will be final.

so, where is the "Republic" comes into play? think about it.

nonetheless, please vote wisely.

come to think about it.

this is Republic of SG.

from http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/republic

Republic: a state in which the supreme power rests in the body of citizens entitled to vote and is exercised by representatives chosen directly or indirectly by them.

knowing that boycott or riot will face with legal actions, the netizens had raised the unhappiness with the decision made previously.

instead, it was being challenged back. insisting that the choice made will be final.

so, where is the "Republic" comes into play? think about it.

nonetheless, please vote wisely.

"4 legs good, 2 legs better!" in motion here :)

Since pappies want to show that they are democratic and care so much for the people, why not they ask the people to decide whether they want to be in SMC or GRC?

Let the people decide what they want, not let the garment decide what the people want

He might win, but only by a small margin.

Younger generations are staying in his area, and they are not as dumb as the older generation. BTW, the older generations may be long gone by now. So the size of die hard supporters have been shrinked

I think TPL will pull GCT votes down if there is a contest but I doubt he will lose. He enjoy immense popularity at Marine Parade. And Marine Parade is the type of place where the residents feels good to live in due to convenience and no lack of amenities. This is type of place the residents usually more likely to vote PAP.

To me, Marine Parade is a place of kiasi retired teachers who loves to write complaint letters, have several properties but live in HDB and definitely not vote for anybody who would depress their condo prices.

Popularity talk is irrelevant. The question is who can bring them the MRT sooner?

yawn..... talk so much also no use, it is not the first day you know i know everyone know they dun listen to the ground lah, peasants like us may get better response talking to a wall lah, dun waste time talking lah, just give them whatever you think they deserve lor..... [laugh]

Edited by Ahwhye