SMRT buys electric buses and taxis from BYD

Stooky

anyone read today's Straits Times? SMRT has ordered 10 electric buses and an unknown number of electric taxis from chinese automobile manufacturer BYD. The delivery of the vehicles will depend on when the charging infrastructure is ready. The right hand drive version of the electric buses will go into production in August, while the right hand drive version of the electric taxis will be made in June next year.

Jialat... will they also import the China Drivers too??? :o

I don't know if anyone knows that,

but BYD means Build Your Dreams, no kidding.

Well, they can always dream on.. MIC cars are moving death traps!!

post-64891-1307588499_thumb.jpg

This is the ST article which i have sourced from other forums...

Anyway IMO i dont think it is a wise move....

-Very rare non renewable materials are sourced for the production of these batteries...

-The cost of these electric buses are way way much more expensive than those Euro 5 diesel buses...

-Additional infrastucture are needed for the charging points of these buses &taxis...

-IMO i dont think these batteries can last for a long time( say for 5years?)

-These batteries are very very expensive

-We have seen how SMRT managed its buses

[shakehead]

Btw, Daimler is one of the partner of BYD...

Anyway this would probably be the bus which SMRT is rolling out : http://chinaautoweb.com/2011/03/byd-k9-ele...ted-in-denmark/

[;)]

Edited by Mike1234

They are bringing in cabs as well from China...

i would say SMRT make a very bold decision... :o

These vehicles were not even on trial run... :blink::blink:

Anyway, Comfort have Camry (Petrol & electric motor) on trial run....

From wad i know, it seem tat Comfort might turn to these camry after Sonata...

[:)]

i am sure they have some qualified mechanics assessing the vehicles before the purchase. Its a huge investment and public transport vehicles. I doubt they buy just because they are cheap or anything.

Erm, they are not cheap btw...

They cost much much more than normal diesel buses

:o

Erm, they are not cheap btw...

They cost much much more than normal diesel buses

:o

thats y lor, our goberment not so stupid, buy lousy vehicles at this point of time and give us chance to swan them ar.

Our gahmen not known to buy cheap stuff. Just look at MOH chairs. :)

thats y lor, our goberment not so stupid, buy lousy vehicles at this point of time and give us chance to swan them ar.

the thing is normally bus companies (SMRT, SBS) normally have 1 demonstrator to "test run " the bus for 1 year one...

I have not seen or knew any of the BYD demonstrator on our road wor...

Now the report said SMRT already bought a few buses liao wor...

:blink: