New 2nd Generation Mercedes B Class

Davidklt

Thanks bros, did the deed..

BTW, they offer full replacement for the first three years, plus NCD protection, and repair at Merc.

All drivers included, no surcharge or excess unless the driver is under 25.

On a separate note, does anyone know how to swop out the wipers?

Any videos?

And is it ok to leave the car for 11 days without starting?

Thanks

My previous 12yo eurovan and 8yo Perodua got leave at home for 15 days before when I went overseas. No issue with starting up when I came back.

So believe your merc shouldn’t have any issues at all.

To all B Class owners,

The whatapps groupchat has been created!

I initially thought it will just be a platform to chit-chat and ask some car questions (if any) but it turned out more exciting than that! Choco1980 and I exchanged our car photos and never ever have I felt so thrilled seeing another B class with the owner so proud of showing their own cars, regardless of year of make, regardless of color, regardless of modify or not,....in the end, we are just B CLASS OWNER :)

Ok, just PM me if you are keen to join! Talk to you again [wave]

Bump :)

Thanks bros, did the deed..

BTW, they offer full replacement for the first three years, plus NCD protection, and repair at Merc.

All drivers included, no surcharge or excess unless the driver is under 25.

On a separate note, does anyone know how to swop out the wipers?

Any videos?

And is it ok to leave the car for 11 days without starting?

Thanks

I have a bit more time this week and will head down to stockist to get the wiper. I have not investigated the installation method but should not be too difficult.

Btw, come in the whatapps group lar. Then I will send u the pic how I install it :)

I bought my spare from amazon U.K.

Chat groups.. too chatty ..

Let us know cheers

no la bro no chatty. only once a while we share stuffs only. not those thousands of messages per day. only 3 of us inside as the chat group is new

Went along to kaypoh when a good buddy bought the BMW 216d.

I actually went to check it out and it was the first car I tested..

But the rep gave me such a lousy price, I had no choice but to walk away..

Since this car is meant as a direct rival to the B Class, I figured it will be nice to do a head to head comparo of sorts.. 

So some important differences

BMW

- diesel : super economy, but tax is more, and it sounds like a taxi

- electric tailgate 

- rear seats electric release, and they slide - super!

- dimensions pretty much the same

- no paddle shifts

- no SD card input

- no free USB cables

- no cruise control, very odd

- leather steering - yeah cheap Merc - rubber steering wheel, really Merc ??

- Emergency call function - best safety function

- anti collision warning only works at low speed

- 6" inch screen

- superior interface for the command system

- more sleek interface

- sleek Aisin 6 speed gearbox, very smooth

- rear air vents

- no insulation in the door pockets - your keys will rattle

- 5 year free service warranty is nice

- nicer keychain holder leather

- keyless entry

- remote boot and bonnet release, plus gas struts for the bonnet - cheap struts on the Merc

- nice welcome note when you switch on the engine

- but that engine ... the Merc is quite agricultural, but the 1.5 TD is really rattly

- good noise insulation, apparently BMW took the Merc and tried to reduce it by 10 db

- smaller driver seats, ok for daily ride, and you sit less upright, but I can't say too much about long distance driving

- good visibility

- regular place for gear shift, meaty steering

- superb handling, even for an SUV

- lights on door handles

- red color paint is metallic

- ?more slick / modern looks

- auto aircon with rear vents (nice touch)

- cheap parcel shelf

- individual seats for three behind

- nice rear cup holders and compartment

- front and rear fog lamps

- intelligent high beams lamps

- lane change and safety functions only work above 70 kph But the collision warning works only for pedestrians and low speeds (inferior to Merc, Volvo, and now many Jap brands)

B Class

- memory function on the both sides with three settings instead of two in the BMW

- lumbar support superb

- easier for older drivers to climb in and out - best position

- two USB ports 

- bigger glove and armrest compartment

- bigger boot

- spectacle compartment on the roof lining

- nice dial pad for numbers, more hard buttons - which I like actually

- has a port for SD card

- autopark assist

- knee airbag

- build quality about equal but just a few more rattles in all the 1 and 2 series that my friends own

- flip down table behind front seats, a winner for my passengers

- metal scuff plates

- the most comfortable seats in the business IMO.. Volvo comes close, but the lower sitting position makes it a big minus for older folks like me

- very easy and relative cheap to find spares

- fantastic radio reception and decent sound from stock speakers and the Audio 20 system

- Carplay in the 2017 models

- dipstick present

- OMV is about 2-3k less for the same model

- CEVS is 5k instead of 10k so you get more money back at the end

- nicer sounding engine and more responsive when you kickdown

- slightly more spacious at the back with a bit more headroom

- better suited to those who are tall and have long legs

- 8" high res screen

- better collision warning and driver sleepy function

- gear shift is where the right stick / turn indicator is in a Jap car - takes some getting used to, and of course some will worry about going in reverse, which you can't

- you take delivery of your car in the same place as the other cars from C&C, albeit in a quiet separate room, whereas there's a nice area in the BMW showroom. Of course if you bought a higher BMW / Merc, they will bring you to an even better spot.. 

Both cars have some very odd cost cutting measures and you do know that they are both entry level cars in the premium marques:

Vinyl instead of leather

Each misses out on some features, eg no leather steering on the Merc, no cruise control on the BMW

A few cheap bits of plastic are found in both cars, though the BMW has less of them. The 2011 designed Merc has more down below, although most of the plastics seem well put together. The straight lines of the Merc may not suit everyone.

Each has it's virtues and in the new year, the 216d will be replaced by the 216i, which is slower but potentially smoother and quieter. 

YMMV on the looks and ergonomics so make sure you sit down and try it, and also drive them to see which one suits you. 

Both cars are stable at speed, offer good safety features and good space.

Plus they give you a hint of the premium and luxury that you can get further up the food chain.. 

Edited by therock

So at the end of the day, I have joined the BMW family and got a BMW....

Well, at least, a BMW umbrella free thanks to my friend  [laugh]

s-l300.jpg

Edited by therock

So at the end of the day, I have joined the BMW family and got a BMW....

Well, at least, a BMW umbrella free thanks to my friend [laugh]

s-l300.jpg

Mbrella!

the opening must be faster than normal umbrella right?

Edited by Eyke

the b class comes with DCT gearbox .. any problem with these dual clutch gb ?

All the entry level mercs come with that kind of gear box.a class CLA b class glas same .only some c class above then gtronic. So far no issue .it is a wet clutch. Wife have been driving for 2years no issue but not as refine as those in vw

Bro, i think it is chassis driven lah.

All FWD uses DCT.

Smooth depends on ECU/TCU.

Bro, i think it is chassis driven lah.

All FWD uses DCT.

Smooth depends on ECU/TCU.

entry level = FWD for premium brands

Smooth depends on ECU/TCU. this one i dont know . really . but merc duo clutch really not smooth very rough and loud.

entry level = FWD for premium brands

Smooth depends on ECU/TCU. this one i dont know . really . but merc duo clutch really not smooth very rough and loud.

Bro, a lot of sensitive on MCF le.

A45/GLA45 not exactly entry level :XD:

What do mean by loud?

Bro, a lot of sensitive on MCF le.

A45/GLA45 not exactly entry level :XD:

What do mean by loud?

Bro.. AMG not entry level ley... entry level is like A class B class .. that is the fact nothing to be sensitive.. my wife drive A class which is to us entry level lor .. 

even the E class i drive now got ppl also say entry level..

cannot afflord high level so no choice i no paisei one. 

i also dont know how to explain to you what i mean loud hahha. the engagement not smooth ..,maybe i should not use loud but rather no refine. 

paisei .. english no good.. i only know write love poem to @chryst 

Bro.. AMG not entry level ley... entry level is like A class B class .. that is the fact nothing to be sensitive.. my wife drive A class which is to us entry level lor .. 

even the E class i drive now got ppl also say entry level..

cannot afflord high level so no choice i no paisei one. 

i also dont know how to explain to you what i mean loud hahha. the engagement not smooth ..,maybe i should not use loud but rather no refine. 

paisei .. english no good.. i only know write love poem to @chryst 

Double clutch supposed to be the refine version of Sequential Manual Tranmission.  It is surprised to find it not refine.