Lui Tuck Yew rebuts some MCF suggestions on car population

CKP

Expect changes to vehicle growth rate

By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 14 October 2011 1151 hrs

phpkB8AW3.jpg

Photos 1 of 1

SINGAPORE: Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew revealed that graduated changes can be expected in the implementation of the revised vehicle growth rate from the current rate of 1.5 per cent.

Writing in his Facebook page, Mr Lui said changes will be announced later on Friday.

He also addressed concerns that the revision will lead to sharply higher COE prices and greatly reduced quota.

Mr Lui believes the graduated changes and the expected increase in the de-registration of vehicles, should result in relatively stable quota numbers over the next one year or so.

He said if de-registration trends remain generally stable, then it is likely that there will be a higher quota from 2013 onwards.

Mr Lui said he understands the aspirations of those who want to own a car.

But the hard reality is that while the government will build more roads, Singapore cannot build its way out of the traffic congestion problem as there is a limit to competing demands for land.

With more car ownership, he said there's a need to take more stringent measures to restrict car usage, such as through much higher ERP charges.

As such a balance is needed and that is to rely on both our COE and ERP policies to better manage road congestion.

On restricting the number of cars per household, he said every family has their own needs - some have young children while others may have members with mobility issues.

He said it would be difficult to determine who has the more pressing need.

On a balloting system for COE, Mr Lui said this tends to generate additional demand as those who may not need a vehicle would also ballot making it harder for those who really need a car.

Mr Lui said the cornerstone of the land transport policy is to develop a quality and reliable public transport system.

He said the recent opening of the Circle Line has shown, that there's great value in investing significantly in the public transport system and raise service standards further, so that more people will consider it a choice mode and not that of last resort.

- CNA/ck

Hmm, Ah Lui is a very efficient minister who has already concluded that the above red and blue suggestions are unfeasible. [thumbsup]

PS: Those who post "tuck yew... tuck yew", you know he's watching hor. [smash]

Edited by CKP

Actually who is making more noise on high car price? Existing car owner or non car owner? I see my surrounding friends who don't drive, they have no complain about high COE leh. Infact they can't be bothered with it. Infact I find car owners are making more noise bcos they can't change or upgrade their cars like before.

Maybe he is non other than GO. cannot be a b------d as a Minister so come here to act as one [laugh]

Expect changes to vehicle growth rate

By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 14 October 2011 1151 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

SINGAPORE: Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew revealed that graduated changes can be expected in the implementation of the revised vehicle growth rate from the current rate of 1.5 per cent.

Writing in his Facebook page, Mr Lui said changes will be announced later on Friday.

He also addressed concerns that the revision will lead to sharply higher COE prices and greatly reduced quota.

Mr Lui believes the graduated changes and the expected increase in the de-registration of vehicles, should result in relatively stable quota numbers over the next one year or so.

He said if de-registration trends remain generally stable, then it is likely that there will be a higher quota from 2013 onwards.

Mr Lui said he understands the aspirations of those who want to own a car.

But the hard reality is that while the government will build more roads, Singapore cannot build its way out of the traffic congestion problem as there is a limit to competing demands for land.

With more car ownership, he said there's a need to take more stringent measures to restrict car usage, such as through much higher ERP charges.

As such a balance is needed and that is to rely on both our COE and ERP policies to better manage road congestion.

On restricting the number of cars per household, he said every family has their own needs - some have young children while others may have members with mobility issues.

He said it would be difficult to determine who has the more pressing need.

On a balloting system for COE, Mr Lui said this tends to generate additional demand as those who may not need a vehicle would also ballot making it harder for those who really need a car.

Mr Lui said the cornerstone of the land transport policy is to develop a quality and reliable public transport system.

He said the recent opening of the Circle Line has shown, that there's great value in investing significantly in the public transport system and raise service standards further, so that more people will consider it a choice mode and not that of last resort.

- CNA/ck

Hmm, Ah Lui is a very efficient minister who has already concluded that the above red and blue suggestions are unfeasible. [thumbsup]

PS: Those who post "tuck yew... tuck yew", you know he's watching hor. [smash]

From the perspective of just policy making, I think he is doing all he can. He is right. As much as people will want to whine about being left out of car ownership, they have to realise that the government is not held accountable that everyone in SG ought to own a car or drive around. Policy cost of differentiating who needs a car or not may far exceed the benefits of actually implementing the system.

The justification of intervention in the car market is not strong. To put it harshly, can afford drive, can't afford take bus. It is really that simple. I thot LTY put it across in a very tactful manner. 2 cents.

As much as I hate the increase of car ownship, he did had his points. However, there are other things he can do in conjunction to increase everything under the sun.

Such as (my opinion only)

1) promote car sharing,

2) put ads that use car only when needed, like people from big Cities like London or New York.

3) Tax rebate for driving smaller cars.

From the perspective of just policy making, I think he is doing all he can. He is right. As much as people will want to whine about being left out of car ownership, they have to realise that the government is not held accountable that everyone in SG ought to own a car or drive around. Policy cost of differentiating who needs a car or not may far exceed the benefits of actually implementing the system.

The justification of intervention in the car market is not strong. To put it harshly, can afford drive, can't afford take bus. It is really that simple. I thot LTY put it across in a very tactful manner. 2 cents.

Yup I agree, but I also propose that he get commoner and peasant's salary cos the matter before him is already cut and dried liao. No more things to solve. The issue is quite simple. :D

As much as I hate the increase of car ownship, he did had his points. However, there are other things he can do in conjunction to increase everything under the sun.

Such as (my opinion only)

1) promote car sharing,

2) put ads that use car only when needed, like people from big Cities like London or New York.

3) Tax rebate for driving smaller cars.

1) you mean car pooling??

2) who going to pay for extra cost?? :ph34r:

3) already have liao. its called Road Tax.

Raise mrt and bus standards is something say for very long but I don't see leh.

Tuck yew, if you reading this. Please show us how you measure whatever improvement? And also penalty for smrt late timing is a joke leh.

So far, you are pushing right buttons. But I will be monitoring you! :D

Eventually, a car is a Luxury not a need.

You won't die if you can't own a car. Its the Perceived inconvenience one has to live with esp ppl like me have been driving since 1986.

With the Circle line fully operational the capacity in our MRT should be able to ease some locations from congestion during peak hours.

However, I do hope that they start to be proactive in their infrastructure plan from now onwards.

Previous years if you look back, you can tell they were not talking to among each other, they were using knee jerk reactions to solve problems. they were rewarding themselves and patting each others' back for job well earned.

Edited by Tigerwoods