Offer COE rebates for couples with young chewren...

Acherli i partially agree..should have concessions if family got children or old folks, you know like u pay less maid levy if you got either.

but oso then hard to give rebates when COE always fluctuating. Unless govt give fixed price COE, then include terms like cannot sell car blah2 to prevent pple from profiting.

Oso surcharging those rich folks who own a fleet of cars, although i still tink they can afford to pay.

Since its not optional but a necessity, lets give her a coe for free. But the car must be a cherry qq with no aircon or radio or any other luxuries but a real nothing but transport car. Let it be illegal for her to install any accesories.

I concur [laugh][laugh][laugh] oh and give her OPC

good idea, but only give rebates if you have 4 children and above [sly]

just 1 or 2 kids also want rebates, crazy [whip]

just choose a childcare centre near to home lor, every morning walk there can already.

You have kids? Sometimes not so easy.

Not all childcare centres are equally well-run. Some overcrowded, understaffed or badly staffed, your child cannot settle there... no choice got to look a bit further.

Even nearby childcare centres within walking distance are not really "walkable" when your consider you have to cart your work stuff, the kid's bag, and sometimes the kid too (if he refuses or is reluctant to go childcare).

So all these are the considerations. Definitely will be late for work if you don't have a car to drive (centres only open at 7am and people usually drop their kids at 7:15am or so onwards).

4 and above? I think you need more than a car by then... mini-bus or van, maybe!

...Women used to single-handedly raise multiple kids (many more than what couples are producing nowadays) without a car and sometimes with a single income.

That's all our wish. But now got to accept that women are also equally highly-educated and they also have equal chances and desire for career success. Who wants to stay home and rear your kids?? [laugh] If the woman is working, then the kids got to go somewhere during office hours and that's when a vehicle becomes more necessary.

Edited by Sosaria

....wah jialat liddat. Now Gahmen must take care of ppl liddis too.....knn, never hear of taxi ah <_<<_<

OWNING a car is a necessity, not a dream, for a family with young children.

Just think of the daily morning rush to send a child to day care or a baby to the grandparents' homes. From prams to milk bottles, diapers to food, change of clothing to wet wipes, the list of mandatory baby or child supplies is long and difficult to trundle if one has to resort to public transport.

The weekend is short when one has children and errands must be undertaken with the entire family in tow. How do you visit the bank, take the child to the doctor, buy groceries and visit the grandparents in a day? Answer: By having a car, which makes a significant difference in the quality of life for Singapore families.

The Government has announced further reduction in vehicle growth rate which will ratchet up prices of certificates of entitlement (COE) further, beyond the reach of young couples. The Government should consider offering COE rebates for cars with 1,600cc capacity and less to families with at least one child, and rebates for bigger-capacity cars to families with at least two children.

The latter takes into consideration families with grandparents, two young children (two car seats required) and a maid.

For a family with young children, a car is not an optional, flashy plaything.

Wang Siang Ling (Ms)

Oh ya and now maybe GOVT should even subsidize them when they pump petrol...

cheaper road tax because they fetching lighter humans...

and free insurance because it is a neccesity for them...

wonder where her brains are grown...

govt should have a family centre to rent out car on short term basis (1 to 5 yrs) [idea][idea]

Good idea??

can i rent my hearse? can carry more ppl [laugh][laugh][laugh]

she should also ask for additional rebate for those with surname Wang as they are rarer than surname Tan [rolleyes]

next she will ask Boon Wan, give rebate for house.....cos she got 4 chewren.... [laugh][laugh]

then she will ask Tuck Yew, hey, give ERP rebate leh....

That is why having children in today's singapore doesn't come easy. There are really some serious considerations and planning to make.

Example: what are childcare arrangements? How to get to work on time? Does your workplace allow flexi-time? Is it necessary to change to part-time work or to a more relaxed job that gives you more time at home in lieu of salary? Can you accept lower salary for more time at home? How to accomplish household chores and routine admin during the weekends with children in the equation? Contingency procedures if child falls ill? Contingency procedures if you fall ill? etc. etc. etc. When you can answer every question, then go ahead and have children [laugh] Of course, having helpful parents or in-laws already make life much easier.

What this letter writer highlights is her lack of planning... if a car is factored as necessary pre-condition to make life after children a bit easier to handle... why never budget or save enough in the first place? Perhaps she should cut down on other luxuries to channel more cash towards the car?

next she will ask Boon Wan, give rebate for house.....cos she got 4 chewren.... [laugh][laugh]

then she will ask Tuck Yew, hey, give ERP rebate leh....

i tink what she realli needs is a rebate for contraceptives..... :D

HPB will give her a box of gloves....each glove use 5 times, er 4, the 5th one no functioning...unless... [laugh][laugh]

For a family with young children, a car is not an optional, flashy plaything.

Wang Siang Ling (Ms)

Ms. Wang just have to buy a 2nd hand car. Problem solved.