Nicole Seah calls for more volunteers to give free tuition

Baphomet

SINGAPORE - National Solidarity Party (NSP) member Nicole Seah sent out an appeal through Facebook on Nov 5, calling for more volunteers to provide tuition to needy students.

According to Ms Seah, the scheme was set up in May this year, for needy students living in the Macpherson area. The session is held every Saturday, for two hours, reported the Shin Min Daily News.

Click here to find out more!

Students, ranging from those studying in primary to secondary schools, have to pay a $30 fee, which is used to purchase teaching materials.

"Under special circumstances, we will also absorb the fee," says Ms Seah.

The scheme started out with only 15 kids, but the number has been increasing steadily.

They now have 40 students registered under the scheme. Most of them are primary school pupils, but secondary school students have also come forward to enquire about the scheme.

There are plans for expansion as well, says Ms Seah, who has received enquiries from parents living in the Marine Parade GRC area.

There are currently only eight to 10 volunteers tending to the 40 students. Hence, they are hoping to recruit more volunteers in order to reduce the student to tutor ratio, which will benefit the students.

After her post, many netizens left messages on her Facebook page, expressing their interest in helping out. But many were worried that they do not possess the experience nor qualifications to tutor kids in the academic subjects.

But Ms Seah says the main aim of the tuition classes is to inspire students to believe that they can still do well in their studies, despite their family circumstances.

She says the effort of the kids and volunteers have paid off. In the recent year-end examinations, many students reported a marked improvement in their results.

http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news...ee_tuition.html

Kudos to Nicole [thumbsup]

SINGAPORE - National Solidarity Party (NSP) member Nicole Seah sent out an appeal through Facebook on Nov 5, calling for more volunteers to provide tuition to needy students.

According to Ms Seah, the scheme was set up in May this year, for needy students living in the Macpherson area. The session is held every Saturday, for two hours, reported the Shin Min Daily News.

Click here to find out more!

Students, ranging from those studying in primary to secondary schools, have to pay a $30 fee, which is used to purchase teaching materials.

"Under special circumstances, we will also absorb the fee," says Ms Seah.

The scheme started out with only 15 kids, but the number has been increasing steadily.

They now have 40 students registered under the scheme. Most of them are primary school pupils, but secondary school students have also come forward to enquire about the scheme.

There are plans for expansion as well, says Ms Seah, who has received enquiries from parents living in the Marine Parade GRC area.

There are currently only eight to 10 volunteers tending to the 40 students. Hence, they are hoping to recruit more volunteers in order to reduce the student to tutor ratio, which will benefit the students.

After her post, many netizens left messages on her Facebook page, expressing their interest in helping out. But many were worried that they do not possess the experience nor qualifications to tutor kids in the academic subjects.

But Ms Seah says the main aim of the tuition classes is to inspire students to believe that they can still do well in their studies, despite their family circumstances.

She says the effort of the kids and volunteers have paid off. In the recent year-end examinations, many students reported a marked improvement in their results.

http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news...ee_tuition.html

Kudos to Nicole [thumbsup]

sorry, but there are already lots of ppl giving free tution before she started this liao. why only kudos o Nicole??

How about those that started this long ago? Nicole go in for political reason, while those ppl i know are giving freelance with totally no string attach.

sorry, but there are already lots of ppl giving free tution before she started this liao. why only kudos o Nicole??

How about those that started this long ago? Nicole go in for political reason, while those ppl i know are giving freelance with totally no string attach.

Yeah boy. Dan how about those doctors who volunteer to give free consultation to the needy? Kudos to them also, don't you all think so? Somemore their actions are motivated by care & passion, not politics.

Because she's my "菜" :wub:

okie...I stand corrected.

Kudos to all volunteers in Singapore!

I admire their dedication.

Edited by Baphomet

at least these people are seen trying to do someting to the GRC, or SMC they contesting..

rather than disapear & reapear b4 next election.

Will GY or his aunties give free tuition to aljunied GRC?

Precisely she is into politics that her doing whether good or bad are bound to attract attention. Btw, help us by not quoting the full posting please.

at least these people are seen trying to do someting to the GRC, or SMC they contesting..

If you are kidding with us, this is ticklish. If you are not, I believe only Elites are eligible.

GY got give free prayer session mah .....

[laugh][laugh][laugh] yah at bedie resrvoir

eh dun make fun hor...he v staunch catholic [angel][angel]

Because she's my "菜" :wub:

okie...I stand corrected.

Kudos to all volunteers in Singapore!

I admire their dedication.

Whatever she is does not matter to me cos after the "pot calling the kettle black" on TPL's FB posting she gave me the impression that she will do anything to score political points.

just like any game ... one plays to win !!