Why Taxi Uncle like to leave the engine running?

Yahgo22

I parked my car at my MSCP this afternoon and noticed that a SMRT taxi

with the engine running without the driver inside.

I think the driver had gone home to take his lunch or pang sai.

Is diesel free?

Taxi companies say that they need to increase taxi fares becos of high

operating costs and high diesel prices but I notice many taxi uncles

like to leave their engine running.

Is diesel free?

Does that mean the key is still in the cab? Taxi uncle either is rich to install central locking out of his own pocket or have spare key. Amazing act indeed. [thumbsup]

I think its an offence to idle the engine for more than 10mins for a parked veh? One pte bus told me he was fined for running the bus engine while waiting for his passengers in a carpark.

Edited by KARTer

It is an offence... but it's enforced by NEA officers because it's an offence under the Env act. I don't remeber anyone telling me that it's an offence to leave the engine running when I passed my theory tests and driving test.

Wonder if they still can do it on those higher specced taxis, like cars, where you are unable to lock from outside if engine is still running?

can still lock what.

remove the remote keychain and press.

I think one reason is every taxi driver need to clock some milage within a month..this is gauge by the fare meter.....some of them did not meet the min milage so they let the engine running and meter on to clock it.....the reason behind the milage clocking is to avoid peohire rent taxi just for personal usage .....I may be wrong...

Edited by LoverofCar

I think one reason is every taxi driver need to clock some milage within a month..this is gauge by the fare meter.....some of them did not meet the min milage so they let the engine running and meter on to clock it.....the reason behind the milage clocking is to avoid peohire rent taxi just for personal usage .....I may be wrong...

dun think so lah.... as long as you pay rent everyday.... the company couldn't care what you do with the car... lol

last time i help 1 old uncle pay AXS, he say he drive taxi everyday just to cover rent and petrol. after that use the car as personal car fetch friends and family. 4-5 hours should be sufficient

Is diesel free?

what about those cars that fetch ministers including high judges around

Our agencies really ambiguous.I know AVA requires frozen food to be carried in refrigerated trucks when delivering.And these trucks need to on engine to operate their refrigerators.But NEA does not allow vehicles to on engine while stationary and not attended.

So on or not to on har? [rolleyes]

Can't they(Govt agencies)have better coordination?Someones skiving??? [rolleyes]

can still lock what.

remove the remote keychain and press.

you should try, it does not lock from outside when engine is running (unless it's being modified, if at all possible by layman). Even spare key also doesn't work. That's how my previous Jappy and current conti behaves. Think it's a safety feature; to prevent locking yourself out of your own car.

Edited by Kangadrool

you should try, it does not lock from outside when engine is running (unless it's being modified, if at all possible by layman). Even spare key also doesn't work. That's how my previous Jappy and current conti behaves. Think it's a safety feature; to prevent locking yourself out of your own car.

my old pok car and my current car can be locked from outside with the engine on i assure u.

my old car locked me out once.

my current car can be locked with both key and remote when engine is on.

car not moving mileage will run meh??? 1st time i heard this... [rolleyes]