Ex-SMRT Staff on why SMRT kaput

Ahtong

Link

The problem all started when the Sr staffs were retrenched, resigned, retired and asked to leave. When she took over how many senior staff with years of experience and trained by experts from Japan, England and Hong Kong that did not agreed with her was removed and replaced with young people with paper qualifications and have not the slightest idea of how to run a train system. There these young management staff tried to impress her by backstabbing each other, come out with hairbrain ideas or quick fix solutions that did not sound in the long run. Well guess what after 10 years of this type of sh.it from a well oiled and smooth running system she ran it to the ground. Mark my words as long as she is in the helm surrounded by her clueless dogs there will be no improvment.

That was the time I took a serious look at my retirement plan. Then came her waves of cost cutting measures, buying of cheap spares that looks good on paper but can't even last till the next round of preventive maintainance, reduce the manpower to all sections working at skeleton crew level. The last straw came when some of my junior staffs was not satisfied with the way they were graded and the amount they got compare to what their bosses got. They brough it up to the union and HR and they got the same reply " The door is always open". That was when I knew the sh.it has hit the ceiling and I took my earily retirment and joined my fellow former co-workers.

There might be some truth to it.

I went for a course recently and my trainer told us something similar to that.

He's the very same trainer who's been conducting courses and training the MRT staff.

Not surprising, we need more of these whistle blower to give us more indepth insight into the happenings within the organisation.

This incident clearly speaks, everyone is clueless about what to do.

Could be some truth, those who know what to do have already left by the door.

Link

The problem all started when the Sr staffs were retrenched, resigned, retired and asked to leave. When she took over how many senior staff with years of experience and trained by experts from Japan, England and Hong Kong that did not agreed with her was removed and replaced with young people with paper qualifications and have not the slightest idea of how to run a train system. There these young management staff tried to impress her by backstabbing each other, come out with hairbrain ideas or quick fix solutions that did not sound in the long run. Well guess what after 10 years of this type of sh.it from a well oiled and smooth running system she ran it to the ground. Mark my words as long as she is in the helm surrounded by her clueless dogs there will be no improvment.

That was the time I took a serious look at my retirement plan. Then came her waves of cost cutting measures, buying of cheap spares that looks good on paper but can't even last till the next round of preventive maintainance, reduce the manpower to all sections working at skeleton crew level. The last straw came when some of my junior staffs was not satisfied with the way they were graded and the amount they got compare to what their bosses got. They brough it up to the union and HR and they got the same reply " The door is always open". That was when I knew the sh.it has hit the ceiling and I took my earily retirment and joined my fellow former co-workers.

My dad was an old guard in SMRT. Once reach retirement age, it was bye bye instantly in a very cold manner with no regards to the 20 odd years he contributed to the company.

He felt he could still continue, he had to appeal to his HR dept and they put him through medical and given 1 year contract with reduced pay and benefits.

Of course, he doesn't want to idle around at home and he took it + it is harder for him to get other jobs.

For most, I think will just f*** off.

And yes, he HATES HER. :angry:

Why blame her? She needs a job and applied for it 10 years back. Nothing wrong.

The one should get the blame is the one who hired her back then. I always believe you must know the trade you are managing. Meaning if you are running a bank, you better be finance trained. If you are running a transport company, you better be engineering trained.

But then hor, who says SMRT is a transport company. It is renting retail space. Running train is non-core biz. For those who think SMRT is a transport company, please wake up. It wasn't since 10 years ago when she was appointed the CEO

The one should get the blame is the one who hired her back then. I always believe you must know the trade you are managing. Meaning if you are running a bank, you better be finance trained. If you are running a transport company, you better be engineering trained.

But then hor, who says SMRT is a transport company. It is renting retail space. Running train is non-core biz. For those who think SMRT is a transport company, please wake up. It wasn't since 10 years ago when she was appointed the CEO

she got apply meh? not many will be able to see her application forms...so we are just assuming as much. if you are within a closed circle of those in power. ..one dont need to apply, they are invited! :ph34r: :ph34r:

With all these happening lately, she do not deserve to stay on to her million $ job. The door is always open for her to go. She know nothing about managing SMRT being an Ex-DFS girl.

Most of the companies, the top management only knows how to squeeze till dry from the bottom positions, then announces profit. After the announcement, fat bonuses for the top positions for doing a "fantastic" job. As long as most of the problems can sweep under carpet during their tour of duty in order they get their fat bonuses as first priority, who cares!

You don't apply for a job to be a CEO, either you are head hunted or picked from the BOD.

For SMRT, it's ka ki lang, so I can't tell much if she is the "preferred" or she is indeed selected based on her qualities and past experiences.

Skim on maintenance la, that's what they get now.

Yeah, save that few cents, but spend that thousands to repair.

Those in the engineering line knows that maintenance cannot be avoided or skimmed, the furthest one can go is to squeeze the part out by another max 5% from the rated MTBF.

Did anyone question her how she maintained her million dollar car?

Same standard as how the trains are maintained or she demands the best of the best parts?

Yeah, save that few cents, but spend that thousands to repair.

Those in the engineering line knows that maintenance cannot be avoided or skimmed, the furthest one can go is to squeeze the part out by another max 5% from the rated MTBF.

Did anyone question her how she maintained her million dollar car?

Same standard as how the trains are maintained or she demands the best of the best parts?

One of the remedy action they took was to use cable ties on the claws....REALLY? Something that has to endure trains passing by numerous times a day use cable ties as a backup? Cable tie to me is more like cheap and fast method, that's it.

Someone explain to me how it works. I mean I am really keen to know.

Surely there is a more secure method right?

Edited by Fcw75

Priest lah. CEO is hired to run the company, not run the trains. LOL...

The fundamental problem is she has no pride in our MRT. She does not care about the people taking the trains. No feeling of social responsibility. A classic farking FT.

She sees our rail as her cashcow and the people as stats. Hence her remark, 'you can get on, whether you choose too.' etc.

She has to go.

With all these happening lately, she do not deserve to stay on to her million $ job. The door is always open for her to go. She know nothing about managing SMRT being an Ex-DFS girl.

Sorry its only FEMALE.

10yrs on n she stil hv not gotten her retribution yet??

She's still the CEO!! Damn to her who retrench or terminate snr staffs n skilled worker just to cut cost to make money so she can get good bonus!!

She have ruin n break other ppls rice bowl, families n their lives....I hope smrt breaks down many many times more so that the truth will even be clearer for her to be sack or fired!!!