National Service in Singapore

Scb11980

I admit tried to cheap by not answering the correct answer during colour blind test. Shit end up in teKong.

I am non-swimmer and yet kenah diver selection ... went to SNT and then just act blur lor, go sound chamber got sound say no sound, no sound say got sound ... take it as an excursion ...

Reminded me when during pre but check up. I told the. I colour blind and phobia of blood. They put me in medical (smm).. really very che ark.

my platoon mate also color blind ... but still went for the diver selection also ... KNN, I think they purposely one ....

Hahaha during medic school (3 months course) there were quite a few lobo. Everyday cut grass..sweep drain.

I keng by getting ATt c bunk or home for major field tests....failed all the theory test. Still can passed out and end up in armour. hahaha BTW theory test they have whole day to keep on repeating the test untill you passed.

I have never passed ippt during ict. First principle to follow if one want to keng during ict

I got my monetary during RT. One trip $5/6 dollars add up three months strtch also quite a sum. Bo bian need to "make" a living the hard way.hahaha BTW such allowances not taxable I reckon.

wah......rt oso get money.......sure wu hua wan. I neber kana rt before since day 1......and i seldom train for ippt. Get silver and the $200 happy like bird....

Maybe they want you to overcome your phobia ma?! Lol. People say phobia can be overcome if you continuously expose to it until you immune liao. Running away and avoidance cannot solve the problem. 

Your OC sabo you or they couldn't be bothered just randomly submit names which they are required to do. I was sent for special ops selection when I couldn't even run 2.4 under 11. Yeah, just went for excursion but quite interesting to learn about their "special training".

Haha that reminds me during NS we have this fellow who is kind of living in his own world.

He actually volunteered to the OC that he want to go for SOF selection course which was open during that time. Everyone was puzzle cos he failed IPPT and is kind of a whiner. Hardly SOF material.

Needless to say he didn't even pass the pre-selection aptitude test and got booted out.

Edited by Pocus

Salary and benefits quite good in those days if can qualify. Some regular will volunteer for special courses and vocation cross training just to get extra pay.

What is the average salary ah?

specialists = sergeants and below yea?? 

those genuinely smart enough wont do it wat... no pay or rank recognition... 

in other words... they are looking for people to do sai gang... 

yup. woohoo cheap cheap labour! Sai kang warriors.

but they are short sighted la. want to pay peanuts for sure get monkeys.

oh well at least it saves some tax dollars.

wonder who's "bright" idea this is.

in the early days, my platoon got this guy who has polio which affected 1 arm and he cannot close an eye so he skip some obstacles and we help with his fullpack. he completes his recruit training leh. 

Maybe they want you to overcome your phobia ma?! Lol. People say phobia can be overcome if you continuously expose to it until you immune liao. Running away and avoidance cannot solve the problem. 

Talk of phobia...

I was a combat engineer. After we passed our armour conversion course, got a platoon posted in to go through the course, and we were to be the NCOs in unit.

During the arming of the live mine, at the site, one guy in the platoon when only practising dry runs on the blue dummies, he was shivering, perspiring and in tears... That was i think maybe 2-3 weeks into their 3-mth course. 

We see already very worried. Our PC (same batch) was very worried. The course commander was super worried. The safety officer and the supervising officer made the decision to pull him out from that 'exercise'.

He said he had phobia of explosives...

After a few days, he was posted out to become a medic.

He was from good family. Stayed in landed near River Valley...

Till now also dunno whether he was oscar winner, or really kanna posted wrongly to our platoon...

Talk of phobia...

I was a combat engineer. After we passed our armour conversion course, got a platoon posted in to go through the course, and we were to be the NCOs in unit.

During the arming of the live mine, at the site, one guy in the platoon when only practising dry runs on the blue dummies, he was shivering, perspiring and in tears... That was i think maybe 2-3 weeks into their 3-mth course.

We see already very worried. Our PC (same batch) was very worried. The course commander was super worried. The safety officer and the supervising officer made the decision to pull him out from that 'exercise'.

He said he had phobia of explosives...

After a few days, he was posted out to become a medic.

He was from good family. Stayed in landed near River Valley...

Till now also dunno whether he was oscar winner, or really kanna posted wrongly to our platoon...

Don't discredit medi lah.

Medi also got combat (me) and service medic. I also cheong mountain cheong sea.

in the early days, my platoon got this guy who has polio which affected 1 arm and he cannot close an eye so he skip some obstacles and we help with his fullpack. he completes his recruit training leh. 

its all in the mind ... the instructors always tells us ... "your body is weak ... but your mind is not!"

quite true for an anemic guy in my platoon - 16 single handed pull-ups in one minute !!

I am even struggling with two with two hands ...I guess my mind is as weak as my flesh.

i never discredit hor. It was merely to state what happened to him, by now ~30 yr ago...

And i do know how siong it is for combat medic - when we build minefield, we actually asked our medic to help us to carry barbed wire leh... That was when SAF  [hur]

from estab 7 men in a section (plus commander and 2ic), they wanted to try out 4-men section. TMD, not enough manpower, so we asked signaller, driver and medic all help out  [laugh]

our medic was attached from another unit one... heard he later complained to his MO about having to help  :D

i never discredit hor. It was merely to state what happened to him, by now ~30 yr ago...

And i do know how siong it is for combat medic - when we build minefield, we actually asked our medic to help us to carry barbed wire leh... That was when SAF [hur]

from estab 7 men in a section (plus commander and 2ic), they wanted to try out 4-men section. TMD, not enough manpower, so we asked signaller, driver and medic all help out [laugh]

our medic was attached from another unit one... heard he later complained to his MO about having to help :D

Don't play play with medic.

If test time and ask to declare casualty they can declare you as casualty that need iv drip. Hahaha

Well maybe I was lucky. My mate never drag medic into the water. Signaled yes. They still need medic help when want to get MC.

To be serious once medic put on his arm band he should never be in the front line all. Genvena convention say so...your medic new bird..tried asking me to put barwire..haha

Edited by Kopites

Hahahha you seen that before, wriggle but still head under the bar.

i still wonder what make us think that we can somehow stand on air by kicking our legs during our chin-ups ?? :XD:  :XD:

i only clerk ... cheong canteen one ... [wave]