Chiropractic Treatment

Elmo

Hi Kangadrool,

Thks for sharing your own experience.

My initial payment included a first treatment in which the doc target the problem areas based on the X-ray.

Of the many areas he adjusted, only my neck felt some immediate improvement. There were a lot of popping and cracking but my blocked sinus actually cleared.

I also have reservations about paying for packages and I prefer paying per visit. But the price diff is pretty good. Guess that's the marketing strategy.

Researching on orthopedists too which have much similarity with chiropractors.

care to share how's their package price like?

I was offered $50 per session for a 50session package at The Chiropractic Clinic located at fifth avenue.

I have tried it before, it's really expensive for just a few minutes of twisting, and I can't feel its effects. Oseopathy may be more useful.

Thks Changman999,

Yeah. I felt like a toy action figure being stretched at odd angles. But it was quite good when my sinus cleared. The session's really short. Actual 'adjustment' done probably about 5 mins only.

dun fall for that kinda 'shopping mall analysis' package con. if ur back got problem, go see an orthopedic specialist and they will xray and advise on the physio treatment necessary.

Probably will get back my X-ray and bring it elsewhere for a 2nd opinion.

An orthopedist covers the entire body, and not just the spine hence could be a better overall treatment path.

Will get my family doc to recommend.

What I heard thus far is that orthopedic treatment is slower vs chiropractic. But I think each case is unique so need to find out more for my particular problems.

An orthopedist covers the entire body, and not just the spine hence could be a better overall treatment path.

What I heard thus far is that orthopedic treatment is slower vs chiropractic. But I think each case is unique so need to find out more for my particular problems.

physio means you will have to work hard to correct things..

chiropractic is lie down and let them do the work

Take it from me, I was in the process of legislating some of these 'practices' and the process is pretty robust.

Put it to you, you dun see Drs having roadshows right? Apart from their talks at Hotels?

Thanks for the advice Radx.

Yeah. The docs are mainly from Aust and NZ and US.

There were some strong advocates from the ortho vs chiro camps that kind of put them in a orthodox vs alt medicine comparisons.

Understand Singapore docs are not allowed to advertise their service hence these chiros are in the same category of docs that can't prescribe MCs like TCM.

Don't fall for those that ask you to sign packages. I went through the same thing about a year back when I was at a spinal screening. After hearing that I need mandatory x-rays, I was apprehensive.

I looked around and found out that these chiropractors are unethical! I managed to find a chiropractor through reccomendation. He did not ask me for any x-rays nor ask me to sign any packages. The first visit was about 45 min long all in all including diagnosis and treatment.

After 5 sessions, now I only see him about once in one or two months for maintenance. Kind of like going to see a dentist for checkup.

There is no way that my condition would have required the "package" of treatments during the screening at the shopping centre.

Thks for sharing your experience.

Glad you found a chiropractor that you can trust eventually.

For myself I actually preferred the X-ray so I can see my problem areas. As to what treatment and the freq needed I'm at their mercy to call. Hence I was apprehensive too when they asked me to sign up for a big numbe of sessions. The explanation fr them was that the first few weeks to months would be intense and high freq treatment and subsequent ones will be more spread out.

The checkpt will be about few months later where another X-ray will be taken to confirm the progress.

I think the first important thing to do is to find out whether their chiropractors are local registered medical practitioner. Cos most often they are not, if you do a search chiropractors are not doctors. So if they are not doctors or specialist and they charge such high prices you must be careful.

Thks watwheels for the advice.

They are not locally registered. Most in the US and Aust.

They have lots of qualifications though. Most which I don't understand.

My personal take is that many of their treatments are just short of quack treatments and bloody dangerous. [rolleyes]

I rather trust normal TCM sinseh or physiotherapist.

Thks Lala81,

Especially the article you linked. Quite scary in fact for me.

Actually I wasn't that bothered by the neck pain. My sinus was the one that bugs me almost monthly. It gets infected and I need about a week to recover. My wife calls it the closest thing to experiencing the inconvenience of menstruation for me <_<

It was from the list of symptoms that can be caused by the neck area subluxation that intrigued me enough to try. Can't say I'm not impressed when the first treatment cleared my sinus. Don't know how long it will last but now also concerned about the safety and long term effects if any.

It is like a fast tracked treatment process of forcing the crooked spine back into place.

A bit like tui na minus all the oil.

a doctor once told me... "if it ain't broken, don't fix it"

well, not unless you are a 6 year old with a whole life ahead but since you managed to live your life pretty much normal, just continue doing so. unless it really affects you. bottom line is, you didn't even knew about the problem. imo, it's more like a marketing gimick... save the money bro...

Hi 987,

I used to think that way. Actually I have come acrossed this type of roadshow many times but chose to ignore. Just that as I age, I take longer to recover from both my sinus infection and sports injuries that I want to get some help.

For my sinus I already tried everything except surgery which the ENT specialist from SGH likened it to widening the Bukit Timah canal. It will still get clot up/flooded eventually if the root cause isn't removed.

Too bad he can only tell me the root cause is that I'm allergic to dust mites which irritates my sinus.

But heck, dust mites are everywhere.

Edited by Elmo

care to share how's their package price like?

I was offered $50 per session for a 50session package at The Chiropractic Clinic located at fifth avenue.

Same price but it is for a 90 session package. The next smaller package is 40 session but $60/session.

Exactly. Same as with orthopedic treatment. The patient has to do some stretching and massage exercise at home.

Chiropractic treatment is basically just close eyes and pray the doc knows what he is doing and don't snap my neck.

After these corrections, it's more important for you to take care of your posture. Otherwise, money down the drain. But, talk easy lah...

Yes. That's the maintenance phase. But posture is hard to correct. It was from the X-ray that I saw the effect of the years of carrying heavy bags on my right shoulder.

As I'm typing this just realized I have slid down my chair again to my fav nua position. Posture fail. Sigh.

How is this compared to pilates or yoga training??

Don't really know but my take is that yoga and Pilates focus a lot on breathing and achieving balance in body functions.

Chiropractic focus on the spine which supports the nervous system, which in turn supports the entire body function. Heal the spine and the nervous system will function normally and the body will heal naturally.

like prostitute? [laugh][laugh]

bro, u can't compare chiro to an ortho. it's like comparing the neighbourhood medical hall shopkeeper to a doctor.

orthopedics is specialist medicine. hv u seen any doctor who goes to shopping centre to hawk his wares?

bro, u can't compare chiro to an ortho. it's like comparing the neighbourhood medical hall shopkeeper to a doctor.

orthopedics is specialist medicine. hv u seen any doctor who goes to shopping centre to hawk his wares?

u see ortho meh? u shd see geriatrician or one specialise in fossil medicine [laugh][laugh][laugh]