You let dealer sell your car because...

Fuelsaver

Hi all

With recent free documentation offered to car seller / buyer, and after selling a car myself once, I should continue to sell as direct buyer.

Recently checked out some used cars, found that some dealers told me there were no servicing record because all are at agent's database; nobody keeps paper records anymore (definitely doubtful cos I still keep paper records). One of them even claimed he knew agent GM, wat a joke...

What is your take? Why would you let dealer sell your car?

There are rotten and fresh eggs in every industry, I always sell my own car, ( time consuming thogh ) but would be prospect can come browse, test drive and ask all sort of Qs : LIke where I service after warranty period, Type of job Im doing, Where is my office, home, daily Km of travelling to & fro...

Plus point: U know best, can size up better: Eg: Always hand wash my car, see no scratch mark or water-stained

Disadvantage : Most likes to bargain for lower than base price, unlike used car dealer, max. is 2-3K off asking

Only yest, I was eyeing a Merc on site@ a established carmart in commonwealth, I had written down the whole details on the asking price, color, year, mileage and OMV/COE... an hour later it was amended to $12K higher.

How could this happened? Car were sold to them and thy have the discretion to up prices since COE was high and adjust prices as and when they deemed fit ?

I called the boss myself pretending to be ignorant about it, He say: Bro, Let me make some $$$ leh!, Told him let me consider and revert if I'm keen...

Bottom line, dealer sell your car based on relationship or short-termed goal ( $$$ ), take advantage of car owner/s who may not be so savvy about OMV, loan interest and paperwork transfer procedure etc.

We can do it ourself, juz go to ROV and DIY

Never approach the dealers direct if you are selling yourself.

Advertise online and have direct buyers and dealers calling you up to offer their "best" price. Then, you decide. :D

Usually you will allow dealer to sell your car because you buy another car from them?! Same like you buy new car from agent, usually you will let them handle your old car.

Do it yourself, can get extra $5K more.

Let them handle, $5K lesser.

I have sold a couple myself and have also let dealers handle it. Usually if i have a car to trade in, let the dealers do it.

Pros and cons as it is time-consuming and that 3k - 5k more is something you have to decide if you want to get rid of it fast.

No servicing records means they dun want to show you the true mileage - you can easily tabulate this over the years from the indicated mileage in the service booklet.

How come $5K more? [confused]

half of the margin that dealers make

imagine they buy from you 70k, they sell to another party 80k

so if you cut away the middleman, you can sell 75k and the buyer can buy 75k

Hi all

With recent free documentation offered to car seller / buyer, and after selling a car myself once, I should continue to sell as direct buyer.

Recently checked out some used cars, found that some dealers told me there were no servicing record because all are at agent's database; nobody keeps paper records anymore (definitely doubtful cos I still keep paper records). One of them even claimed he knew agent GM, wat a joke...

What is your take? Why would you let dealer sell your car?

1. convenience - let go the car and after that wat happens not my problem.

2. annonymity - i wouldn't want my buyer to call me back one week later and accuse me of all kinds of things, telling me its a lemon (when all the while is fine when it was with me)

3. no need to do full settlement - if u sell direct urself, u would have to pay full settlement first before you can sell ur car. If not enough money to pay off the balance then its not even an option.

Having said that if i can get another $5k extra, maybe can consider selling myself (provided enough money to do FS). Or maybe another best way is to do consignment sales (like trade assist). You have to pay them some commission but u will still get better price than if u trade in to dealer.

How come $5K more? [confused]

Trade in confirm rotten rates one lah.

My (unpopular) car, the AD only want to eat $15K. I advertise for $25K. Pay for some advert fees, and one year later, I sold for $23K to a car dealer. Car dealer subsequently sold it for $29K.

You must have holding power. Else, most people just trade-in.

2. annonymity - i wouldn't want my buyer to call me back one week later and accuse me of all kinds of things, telling me its a lemon (when all the while is fine when it was with me)

3. no need to do full settlement - if u sell direct urself, u would have to pay full settlement first before you can sell ur car. If not enough money to pay off the balance then its not even an option.

Having said that if i can get another $5k extra, maybe can consider selling myself (provided enough money to do FS). Or maybe another best way is to do consignment sales (like trade assist). You have to pay them some commission but u will still get better price than if u trade in to dealer.

Asking dealer to sell your car, i think annonymity is important. Like you have mentioned, if you sell directly and what if the buyer call me back and complaint this one is spoilt, that one is spoilt?! [rolleyes]

Never approach the dealers direct if you are selling yourself.

Advertise online and have direct buyers and dealers calling you up to offer their "best" price. Then, you decide. :D

Dats wat I did for my ex-ride.

Actually sold ex-ride myself then go showrm cfm new car. 2 weeks w/o car during transition period.

Agree dat let dealer sell ride if buy another fr them; more convenient n less transitional effect w/o car or w/2 cars.

Edited by Fuelsaver

Asking dealer to sell your car, i think annonymity is important. Like you have mentioned, if you sell directly and what if the buyer call me back and complaint this one is spoilt, that one is spoilt?! [rolleyes]

But w lemon law 2b enforced, wouldn't dealer claim fr u if his buyer comes back within short period?

No. 3 no issue for me. So if I wan, will still stick to selling myself.

The reason y I'm asking is to gauge if ppl sell cars to dealers could b bcos their cars likely not 2b well maintained, but it seemed > meets the eye.