Independent workshop for Mercedes Benz?

Yattokame

Sorri,a bit off topic!

Hi

my 2012 pfl e250 87k suspension is almost due,I feel the bounce more than most lately.

now the Q is which route should I go?

should I take the oem route(logical) ,which I think is a sach or should I look@ a bilstein?

It sounds pretty straight forward BUT i ' ve  basically travel dis route before with my previous 

ride a pfl w204,I actually change 2 shocks in a space of 3 months !

i purchase a new sach in but I found it to b way too soft NOT much different from the one 

dat I replace ! I dun realli fancy a bilstein always reckon it to way too hard till dis shop convince  me dey fitted a couple for the c class,go for the basic bilstein&it Wun b too hard.

Well,I dun realli noe y the oem sach is so soft,suppose it's quite decent when its new but

now,everything worn,including all d linkages.

what u guys reckon?

chip in on yr thought?

thanks

bilstein +1

Sorri,a bit off topic!
Hi
my 2012 pfl e250 87k suspension is almost due,I feel the bounce more than most lately.
now the Q is which route should I go?
should I take the oem route(logical) ,which I think is a sach or should I look@ a bilstein?
It sounds pretty straight forward BUT i ' ve  basically travel dis route before with my previous 
ride a pfl w204,I actually change 2 shocks in a space of 3 months !
i purchase a new sach in but I found it to b way too soft NOT much different from the one 
dat I replace ! I dun realli fancy a bilstein always reckon it to way too hard till dis shop convince  me dey fitted a couple for the c class,go for the basic bilstein&it Wun b too hard.
Well,I dun realli noe y the oem sach is so soft,suppose it's quite decent when its new but
now,everything worn,including all d linkages.
what u guys reckon?
chip in on yr thought?
thanks

I have a W207. 7 years old.

Was quoted 6k + to change the 4 adaptive dampers.

Have anyone changed theirs before. Is the price OK?

I have a W207. 7 years old.

Was quoted 6k + to change the 4 adaptive dampers.

Have anyone changed theirs before. Is the price OK?

try calling this number bro, 67798562. Look for Ah seng. Tell him what the problem is and get a quote from him. They only specialize in mercedes and other continental makes.

Should be every 15,000km.

sorry i have been driving Jap cars...

for jap cars, the first 3 servicing is 1k , 5k , 10k, 10k, 10k.. and so on

does that apply to mercs as well? especially the initial first few servicing

thanks.

Edited by angmoh

You PI should have some tie up with a workshop.. so do check with them. Otherwise every 15k or every year.

No service or check ups before that.

Do checkout our owners' thread too cheers and welcome to the club cheers :)

To add on, with the aid of some info from Merc forums:

Places to service that Merc:

West: Try Perfect Power at Bukit Batok WCEGA Plaza #06-12, look for Michael 85227011 or Ah Keong.

East: Chip Soon at Tampines (behind Safra Tampines), look for Daniel/Jason 67864648.

Kaki Bukit: Zen Auto, look for Ah Hui 96270903.

Kaki Bukit: JSM Motorsport, look for Victor 91824688 (mod lights specialist.)

JB: WeCare at Permas Jaya, book in advance, Francis Chin +6073866933

Mercedes Stockists
Gallop Autoparts
3 Pemimpin Drive #02-05, Lip Hing Industrial Building Singapore 576147
Tel : (65) 6258 7203 Fax : (65) 6258 7395
Monday - Friday : 9am - 6pm Saturday : 9am - 1pm (Shop Open Sat but they don’t sell parts as Sat is their days stock take etc) Sunday & Public Holidays : Closed
Min Ghee Auto Pte Ltd
8, Jalan Lembah Kallang, #01-01 Min Ghee Building, S339564
Tel: (65) 6298 3888 (15 Lines) • Fax:(65) 6297 0863 •
Mercedes Benz Department
Mr Ong Hai Choon
Tel No.: (65) 6298 9627 Fax No.: (65) 6294 1450
Goldenlink Auto Oversea enquiries Email : [email protected]
Kaki Bukit Branch 1 Kaki Bukit Road 1 01-43 Enterprise One S(415394)
Tel: 6749 9323
Waterloo Street Branch
Blk 261 Waterloo Street #01-30 Singapore 180261
Tel:6337 1133 6337 1134
Sin Min Autocare Branch Block 176 Sin Ming Drive #02-19 Sin Ming Autocare Singapore 575721
Tel:6553 1101 6553 1201
Surpass Auto Parts Supplies Pte Ltd
Mr Lim
KB Industrial Building #01-33 10 Kaki Bukit Road 1 (S)416175
Tel: 67476016
Hup Soon Tat Auto Trading 
Blk 685 RACE COURSE ROAD #01-334 S(210-685) 
Tel:62947100 / 62947600

Premier Auto Parts Pte Ltd
Blk 32 Sin Ming Drive #01-335 Singapore 575706
Tel: 6458 7833
Tye Soon Limited
3C Toh Guan Road East Tye Soon Building S608832
Tel : (65) 6567 8101 (Sales)
Another Town Office branch at: (Majority Merc Original Parts, not so much OEM parts)
Blk 261, Waterloo Street #01-31/37 Waterloo Centre, Singapore 180261
Tel: 6336 6439
Chua Auto Supply
138 Owen Road
Tel: 63920758
Eng Soon Auto Pte Ltd (Only sell OEM parts)
1090,1092,1094 Serangoon Road, Spore 328192
Tel: 6291 7775

Min Hoe Auto Supply Co at 

572 Serangoon Road 
Singapore 218187

Tel:+65 62922857

Fax:+65 62956625

For older MBs. maybe you guys can consider trying this Indian chap ..... ALI or AH Lee. Used to be at Circuit Road. What impressed me when I saw him was he was referring to his MB encyclopedia (about 10cm thick!!!!) when trying to troubleshoot his customer's car 

The building has been demolished, but if you ask around, shouldn't be too difficult to find him 

hi guys. am a newbie here and sorry for opening this thread. does anyone know of any good outside workshop that has experience with AMG cars? I wonder where the AMG PI goes for servicing. My CLA45 is from cnc but just past 3yr warranty period so looking for outside workshop to replace brake pads which I hope will be much cheaper. Appreciate any recommendations. Thanks

hi guys. am a newbie here and sorry for opening this thread. does anyone know of any good outside workshop that has experience with AMG cars? I wonder where the AMG PI goes for servicing. My CLA45 is from cnc but just past 3yr warranty period so looking for outside workshop to replace brake pads which I hope will be much cheaper. Appreciate any recommendations. Thanks

Go sgmerc, there are people talking about workshop in the forum.

http://www.sgmerc.com

On 2/29/2012 at 4:40 PM, Raymondism said:

my mechanic used to work for C&C and he drives an old SEL300...

if u wan i can intro....

Can you introduce your mechanic , ah li?

I am taking over a pre-owned W212 and I want to get it checked and service first.

Also, the side shoulder lumbar for the pasenger seat is inflated and already grinding against the console trunk , This one definitely needs to be fixed.

thanks.

4 hours ago, riot168 said:

I am taking over a pre-owned W212 and I want to get it checked and service first.

Also, the side shoulder lumbar for the pasenger seat is inflated and already grinding against the console trunk , This one definitely needs to be fixed.

thanks.

Pls call him. 67457574

On 10/13/2019 at 10:53 AM, riot168 said:

thanks.

Chip Soon has such service. $1xx and takes 2hrs. I just enquired on behalf of my colleague, so sharing the lobang here. So obviously I have never tried it before, but would definitely prefer it over the standard inspection services offered by those inspection centres.

On 10/13/2019 at 3:05 PM, Raymondism said:

Pls call him. 67457574

I did.

I went to his workshop on Monday and ended around 8pm.

The car was driving smooth and good after the service.

However, today, I noticed a burning smell at the front of the car and the bonnet feels very very hot to the touch(you cannot place ur hand there at all. sibei hot).

SO, tomorrow, maybe have to go down and ask him why.

Edited by riot168

1 hour ago, riot168 said:

I did.

I went to his workshop on Monday and ended around 8pm.

The car was driving smooth and good after the service.

However, today, I noticed a burning smell at the front of the car and the bonnet feels very very hot to the touch(you cannot place ur hand there at all. sibei hot).

SO, tomorrow, maybe have to go down and ask him why.

I did

1) change of Rear Brake pads and disc

2) ATF flush

3) Engine mounting

4) aircon filter change

5) Linkages change

6) brake pull and bleed system?

and some other stuff I cant quite make out his handwriting. hehe

Cost around $2.2k.

Edited by riot168

This is worrying..

https://www.bowersautomotive.net/warning-signs-engine-overheating/

I got these symptoms. no wonder last night after i drove home and park the car, i hear the ticking sound...for quite a long time and i was thinking because it's just service..  And after you parked the car, you can feel the heat just standing beside the hood area.

1) 

Hot Hood

When the engine is running, you can expect the hood to emit heat and feel warm to the touch. This is completely normal. If however, your car’s hood is extremely hot, this could be cause for concern. You should be able to comfortably place your hand on the hood for 10 seconds without burning it.

2) 

Ticking Noise

If your engine is making an audible ticking noise, it means that your engine oil is failing to lubricate the moving parts sufficiently. When engine oil is overheated, it loses its lubricating properties and behaves more like water than oil. At high temperatures, if the mechanical parts of your engine are clacking against each other audibly you can expect them to undergo wear and tear at a much higher rate than usual.

3)

Coolant Leaking on the Ground

If you notice a puddle of coolant under your car, it could be a sign of a leak somewhere in your cooling system. It also could indicate that your engine has overheated and boiled the coolant within the radiator, causing the overflow tank to release excess liquid to relieve the high pressure created. In either situation, your car’s cooling system no longer has the correct amount of coolant flowing through the engine, so it will be prone to overheating. 

4) 

Smells “Hot”

There is a distinctive odor emitted when the engine heats up enough to start burning oil. As the temperature increases, the rubber seals, plastic valves, and bits of resin holding the whole engine together may begin to melt, releasing fumes that you would not normally smell otherwise. Most people describe this unusual odor as a ‘hot’ smell. It’s also possible that leaking coolant containing ethylene glycol will fill your car with sweet-smelling, but toxic fumes. Any unusual odors are a bad sign and should not be ignored. 

Edited by riot168