New satellite-based ERP is ready

Billcoke

Amid all the negativity on this system, the only positive side i can think of is..

Go up north, car kena stolen.. you know agak agak where is the last known location before the thieves hid it in a container/garage/workshop

Not possible unless there is data roaming.

Their modified SOP to steal any Singapore car: yank out the ERP device and throw it into bushes.

just need to cover the antenna with aluminum foil ..... 

Their modified SOP to steal any Singapore car: yank out the ERP device and throw it into bushes.

They need to factor in their cost for patching that hole..... [:p]

:a-m1524:  ..... wait LTA open one option which open to public to track/trace cars location .... [sweatdrop]

Wife or husband open the GPS to track the location of the car and what if found to be out of actual location :sick:

Ahhhhhhhhhh................... :omg:  not a good option to have satellite ERP ... :XD:

ok guys

please proceed to amazon / taobao thread [sly]

please send this info to LTA... will push back implementation by another 2 years while they try to find ways to overcome cheats  [laugh]

too bad David already resigned. Or else I think he will be the best candidate to speak up in parliament AGAINST ERP 2.0...... :grin:

:a-m1524:  ..... wait LTA open one option which open to public to track/trace cars location .... [sweatdrop]

Wife or husband open the GPS to track the location of the car and what if found to be out of actual location :sick:

Ahhhhhhhhhh................... :omg:  not a good option to have satellite ERP ... :XD:

please send this info to LTA... will push back implementation by another 2 years while they try to find ways to overcome cheats  [laugh]

hopefully some joker write some GPS distrupter app [sly]

no need app ..

aluminium foil less than $1...this will defeat the half-million dollar ERP 2.0...

No use lah.  The new IU will talk to server via radio wave.  Very likely it will have A-GPS to overcome any loss of signal especially in Shenton Way.

ok guyshqdefault.jpg

Must buy reliable one if you want. I bought one to prank my friend. Didn't work. His built in GPS still working fine. Lol. 

ok guyshqdefault.jpg

Jammer not useful for ERP. They will still have ways to fine you.

But it may be useful if you're driving a terrrorist car and a drone with missile is following you.

Edited by Kb27

aiya ... joking only ma ... what we can think of ...

scholar already think 10x to cover left right center up down middle liao ... lol

just like erp ... no matter which road you take to siam erp to reach the same destination ...

the erp is covered and it never breakdown unlike MRT ... muahahahaha

They already stated the system will be backed up by a network of cameras. So if u cheat with a jammer, good luck

Yes all loopholes will be covered

The underlying assumption in all govt policies is that Singaporeans are cheapo, try to take advantage, born cheaters etc

So there will be a chapter in the proposal on how to prevent Singaporean from cheating

My guess is they will impose a very heavy punishment, possibly jail. This is the best as it requires minimal resources to regulate. Just once in a while catch a couple of black Sheeps (usually bao tou by jealous friends) and whack them with jail. After that no one will dare to modify or jammer whatever for a year.

One year later rinse and repeat