DSLR or ILC?

Ssbcc

This is a question to all the photography buffs out there.

I'm new to photography, but I would like to upgrade from a point and shoot camera to something better, but I have difficulty deciding between a ILC (the Sony NEX series) or a full sized DSLR (either the Canon EOS series or the Sony Alpha series). Can anyone share about the difference in shooting these 2 groups of cameras?

Thanks. [wave]

↡ Advertisement

Turbocharged
(edited)

I'm new to photography, but I would like to upgrade from a point and shoot camera to something better, but I have difficulty deciding between a ILC (the Sony NEX series) or a full sized DSLR (either the Canon EOS series or the Sony Alpha series). Can anyone share about the difference in shooting these 2 groups of cameras?

Thanks. [wave]

ILC is just a compact/semi-pro with the ability to change lens.. since this category is relatively new, the lens selection may be limited+expensive..

just go direct to DSLR.. even an entry level series like Canon 1100D is more flexible than the highest end prosumer camera..

Personally, i think viewing thru the viewfinder is the best.. especially in low lighting condition

Edited by Shull

Both your choices come with interchangeable lenses,

both bodies mentioned are also very popular.

But you should be clear about your purpose for this

camera, so that'll help you to narrow down your choices.

try www.clubsnap.com.sg ... might help you to understand

your selections better. [:)]

Thanks. [wave]

i upgraded from point and shoot to canon 40d + 17-55mmf2.8 + 2 flash guns + 1 tripod because i need want the speed and quality. [laugh]:D

it all depends what you wanna shoot. if you just want to take some higher quality photo and speed is not impt, ILC is alright. ILC is light and handy. if you wanna shoot kids, you need speed, go dslr and must buy higher end dslr

Turbocharged