Young gen wants BIG titles, fat salary but no dirty hands

Windwaver

I have a degree but have worked my way up from a junior staff to a senior one over many years. Listened and learned from my seniors when I was a noob and was humble when I was junior. Many young executives or managers I come across these days are pretty impatient, want BIG titles and fat salary but refuse to get their hands dirty. I don't think just talking is going to get things done. The other porblem is if those young fellows come in and don't start from the bottom, just give instructions without even knowing the real situation on the ground, how is that going to work out?

I seriously think something is very wrong with today's education. That's my own experience (of course not all are like that), what do you folks think?

I don't think education is the main play.

Its the glamourizing of selected industries and the after-effect of spreading out to the general graduate population.

I don't think education is the main play.

Its the glamourizing of selected industries and the after-effect of spreading out to the general graduate population.

Am I the only one who came in because I read "Big Titties"? <_<

Give me big salary, I don't need big title and have no reservations towards getting hands dirty! [laugh]

ahaha yeah, that's what i told my former boss. I'll do the dirty shat for you and in return just make sure i get a good increment & bonus

Oh well, one generation will comprain about the younger generation. So, this younger generation will then comprain about the generation younger than this younger generation when his turn comes. LOL... Nothing new.

Same thing also happen in the Army. The lao jiao comprains about the sin jiao, the sin jiao comprains about the sinner jiao.

I have a degree but have worked my way up from a junior staff to a senior one over many years. Listened and learned from my seniors when I was a noob and was humble when I was junior. Many young executives or managers I come across these days are pretty impatient, want BIG titles and fat salary but refuse to get their hands dirty. I don't think just talking is going to get things done. The other porblem is if those young fellows come in and don't start from the bottom, just give instructions without even knowing the real situation on the ground, how is that going to work out?

I seriously think something is very wrong with today's education. That's my own experience (of course not all are like that), what do you folks think?

Singapore's meritocracy through academic qualifications alone, that is a repeat of the imperial examination system that repeatedly failed ancient China. History repeates itself. Politicians love mistakes

Its articles like that which fuel their egos ...

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1188500/1/.html

Class of 2011 SMU graduates' salary at record high: survey

Posted: 12 March 2012 1816 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Education Ministry has published the results of the 2011 Graduate Employment survey, which polled 12,998 graduates from the three public-funded universities.

Graduates from the Singapore Management University's (SMU) class of 2011 earned an average of S$3,388 a month from full-time employment, a record high since 2004 when SMU's first batch of graduates entered the job market.

This is an increase of about 3.6 per cent over the previous year's average gross monthly salary of S$3,271.

In its annual graduate employment survey, SMU said the top 20 per cent of the 2011 cohort commanded an average gross monthly salary of S$5,039.

SMU produced 1,231 graduates in 2011.

According to SMU, six in 10 graduates had job offers even before they graduated.

62 per cent of them had multiple job offers, with two to eight offers per person.

Overall, 95.6 per cent of SMU graduates found jobs, and they reported higher starting salaries across five of the university's degree programmes.

Graduates from its Information Systems Management topped the list, drawing an average of S$3,637 per month, up by 4.7 per cent.

Those with cum laude or better - cum laude refers to students with cumulative Grade Point Average of between 3.40 and 3.59 - earned an average of S$4,294 per month.

SMU's economics graduates who achieved cum laude or better earned a average gross monthly salary of S$3,999, an increase of 11.7 per cent compared to the 2010 cohort.

For the National University of Singapore (NUS), law graduates from the 2011 cohort made an average of S$5,037 per month, while medical graduates from NUS' Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine earned an average of S$4,016 per month.

At the Nanyang Technological University (NTU), graduates from its engineering college topped the list.

Computer engineering graduates earned an average of S$3,577 per month, while aerospace engineering graduates took second spot at S$3,489 per month.

- CNA/ck

got job vacant?

intro me lah, i dun expect to earn much, just decent..

plus, i willing to learn if you willing to teach.

during my time, graduate in the market like 卖猪仔, quite worthless [:(]

Graduates nowadays still worthless. Unless they can prove they are capable in their job, they are no better than a dip holder -_-

Now born in nineties kids came out liao.. they are very much different from 70s~80s kids..

maybe cause of young parents dun know how to teach their kids.. pamper & spolit them..only ask them to study & study ..must score A .. make them cannot tahan hardship..

Edited by Aaron_soh80