How much do you think needed to lead a comfortable life? V2

Chewbacca

Remaking this poll for better option. Please note that comfortable is not opulent....  

15 members have voted

1. 1. X is in terms of income per year.

• X < 100k
    • 100k < X <=125k
    • 125k < X <=150k
    • 150k < X <=175k
    • 175k < X <=200k
    • 200k < X <=250k
    • 250k < X <=300k
    • 300k < X <=350k
    • 350k < X <=400k
    • 400k < X <=500k
    • 500k < X <=1000k
    • X > 1000k

Copy and pasted from the other topic:

Assuming as it is. That is, CPI remains at exactly like this for the rest of your life.

Yes, comfortable is subjective, driving a BnB maybe comfortable to some, but not to others. This I know, so it's up to your own definition.

Not trying to judge or anything. I'm just curious about the level of expectations for the people in this forum.

For me.....I think $120K should be quite reasonable.

You don't have to reveal what you chose if you don't want to.

Added:

I wonder what most of the 'comfortable' will mean. I don't think having a stable of cars with the likes of Ferarris and Lambos are considered comfortable. Those are closer to opulent, no?

Edited by Chewbacca

I think you X - 100k needs some intermediate steps, once above 100k dun need that many steps as not that many people earn that much

0 - 20k

20 - 40k

40 - 60k

60 - 100k

Edited by Twnll

Also need to define how the level of comfort, different people have different level of comfort eg some families die die need two cars, some families got one car very happy liao.

Also stay in HDB vs condo v landed

eg Stay in HDB, got one small car, $50k per annum ok liao

My own gauge of how 'comfortable' one's life is as follows:

- No, or minimal, car loan.

You can own more than one car, it does not matter.

- Target to be mortgage-free before you're 50.

Own/hold that title deed, rather than 'renting' your house from the bank till way past your 60's!

- Household salary must be at least $450-500K p.a.

- No outstanding, large debts

- Savings (or endowment fund) in place for children's university education (with overseas Uni, for worst-case-scenario planning)

- Not a problem gambler

- Your family is adequately insured