Without_a_car

The Straits Times

Published on Apr 28, 2012

Printed from straitstimes.com

Wages must rise faster with higher living costs: Minister

Slow down income gap growth: Swee Say

By Janice Heng

The higher cost of living means that wages must go up faster, said labour chief Lim Swee Say on Friday.

The widening of the income gap must also be slowed down, added the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) secretary-general in a message ahead of the labour movement's celebrations on May Day on Tuesday.

Inflation hit a high of 5.2 per cent last month, after staying at more than 4 per cent in the first two months of the year.

In his message, Mr Lim also set out the challenges - old and new - which Singapore faces.

Copyright

The Straits Times

By Janice Heng

The higher cost of living means that wages must go up faster, said labour chief Lim Swee Say on Friday.

The widening of the income gap must also be slowed down, added the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) secretary-general in a message ahead of the labour movement's celebrations on May Day on Tuesday.

Inflation hit a high of 5.2 per cent last month, after staying at more than 4 per cent in the first two months of the year.

In his message, Mr Lim also set out the challenges - old and new - which Singapore faces.

Copyright

At last he seems to understand what it is all about. He really so low IQ?

he got serious lagged... high inflation started at end of 2008... now after arguing with the professor about 50% increment for $1500 he then realize wage increment lagged behind inflation...

2010 Straits Times already write article liao, must be he never read...

World country, but not First World wages?

Singapore has grown rapidly in the past four decades, achieving First World status in terms of economic growth.

http://www.asiaone.com/print/Business/News...517-216611.html

Tue, May 18, 2010

The Straits Times

By Sue-Ann Chia, Senior Political Correspondent

he got serious lagged... high inflation started at end of 2008... now after arguing with the professor about 50% increment for $1500 he then realize wage increment lagged behind inflation...

he was still insisting the rich and CPF amount thing, creating joke of the year not so long time ago.

At last he seems to understand what it is all about. He really so low IQ?

it is a talk kock thing.

anyone can say that. no one know how to achieve that.

The Straits Times

By Janice Heng

increase wage = further increase of the consumable price = further inflation.

without increase wage, inflation already so bad, after increase wage, i can forsee even worse.

no increase wage, ppl also cant tahan.

tackle the factors that contribute current inflation first, then talk about wage increment.

increase wage = further increase of the consumable price = further inflation.

without increase wage, inflation already so bad, after increase wage, i can forsee even worse.

no increase wage, ppl also cant tahan.

tackle the factors that contribute current inflation first, then talk about wage increment.

Can't possibly ask government developer HDB to lower prices, or Capitaland to lower rentals right?

So pass the baton to employers loh...

to be honest i laughed when i saw thw title of the thread. what do you mean he failed? you shouldn't even lay the expectation on him in the first place if you understand the role and purpose of unions in singapore in general.

I don't know why,

but every time I read a news article involving this Swee Say fella,

I don't know whether to laugh or to cry.

I don't know why

But every time I read anything news about him I feel

Cheaper, not better but surely faster...

to be honest i laughed when i saw thw title of the thread. what do you mean he failed? you shouldn't even lay the expectation on him in the first place if you understand the role and purpose of unions in singapore in general.

You mean to imply that unions and LSS have been suppressing wages of the labour class, under the "guise" of competitiveness?

[rolleyes][rolleyes]