22 millions wanting to migrate.

KARTer

Newspaper report:- 1 in every 59 persons in china has the desire to migrate despite the country's economic boom and vast homeland. 22 millions is not a small number. Most likely they prefer countries like US, AUS, etc and bring their money along. After gaining citizenship or PR status, they still can return to make more money, best of both world?!

Prior to 1997, Hong Kongers did the same. Singaporeans i know who have migrated seldom do the same, but they do miss the local foods and friends. These two things have their place in most people's life. What other things in life, other than a roof and income, may also be important?

Got a Sporean couple left for USA and moved house 3 times due to retrenchments and now in Wisconsin. Got their Green cards and children born there.

Hubby got a Government job but barely making ends meet (as you know Garment job in USA low pay). Wife not working as got to look after 3 kids.

We had ask him to come back SG as we believe he can get a nice job with his US experience. He declined as he said they have life there, more family time and can do lotsa things that living in SG would be impossible.

Got another Sporean couple left for Aussie Brisbane with 3 kids. doing OK and got PR there. Also say there is Quality LIFE there that SG cannot give.

I guess those who left actually love to have more time in their hands - Sporean ideals.

Got a Sporean couple left for USA and moved house 3 times due to retrenchments and now in Wisconsin. Got their Green cards and children born there.

Hubby got a Government job but barely making ends meet (as you know Garment job in USA low pay). Wife not working as got to look after 3 kids.

We had ask him to come back SG as we believe he can get a nice job with his US experience. He declined as he said they have life there, more family time and can do lotsa things that living in SG would be impossible.

Got another Sporean couple left for Aussie Brisbane with 3 kids. doing OK and got PR there. Also say there is Quality LIFE there that SG cannot give.

I guess those who left actually love to have more time in their hands - Sporean ideals.

The land in US is vast, even the nearest neighbor Malaysia is so many times bigger than Singapore. Sure when you have time in your hand, you can travel from New York to San Francisco.

Newspaper report:- 1 in every 59 persons in china has the desire to migrate despite the country's economic boom and vast homeland. 22 millions is not a small number.

Wah, lucky Singapore not one of their preferred countries!

Just imagine if only 10% of that number ... 2.2 million were to settle here.

They will walk all over us, steal our jobs, small businesses - even husbands.

Geylang will become new China town, literally [laugh]

Quality of life in Brisbane?

You only need to have a business/office meeting with a group of Aussies.

They do 'treat' you like an Asian, obviously so.

Similarly at the shops too, if run by the locals (though not the Asian employees).

Sama sama in Washington DC, though somewhat lesser in NY.

funny that you have to move across half the planet e.arth to find quality time [rolleyes]

OZ, NZ or MY are good enough

Edited by Jman888

There isn't a place on earth which is perfect to live in. I don't think Brishane is perfect too. It really depends on what sort of quality LIFE you are looking at. If going on road trips very weekend is a quality LIFE, then Australia is a good choice.

The good part about living in a big country like Australia and USA is its vast area of land and recreation, something that SG cannot have and will never have.

Time is controlled by one-self. Some people in SG (I know) have lots of time....becos they know their limits and have good time management.

Quality of life in Brisbane?

You only need to have a business/office meeting with a group of Aussies.

They do 'treat' you like an Asian, obviously so.

Similarly at the shops too, if run by the locals (though not the Asian employees).

Sama sama in Washington DC, though somewhat lesser in NY.

out of curiosity ... is this something you have experienced personally.. or something related through friends and acquaintances?

I have been to Australia only a few times, and never to USA. But I have never encountered any form of racism myself during my visits (both business and leisure trips) to Australia. So far all my encounters with the Aussies have been very pleasant - they have been very courteous. Even in the streets - strangers greet g'day when I walk around. Not to say I think there is no racism in AU or USA - but I have not personally experienced yet.

out of curiosity ... is this something you have experienced personally.. or something related through friends and acquaintances?

I have been to Australia only a few times, and never to USA. But I have never encountered any form of racism myself during my visits (both business and leisure trips) to Australia. So far all my encounters with the Aussies have been very pleasant - they have been very courteous. Even in the streets - strangers greet g'day when I walk around. Not to say I think there is no racism in AU or USA - but I have not personally experienced yet.

It depends on your luck, the places you have visited, and the people you have met.

In your visits as a businessman or a tourist, they know you are only a guest, so they would greet you nicely. Suppose you migrate there and live for a few months, take a local job there and venture into their heartlands, you may (if bad luck) see a difference.

If you are there long enough, you will see a lot... Especially the younger gen.

we also very nice to the tourist, but hostile to FT [rolleyes]

22 million to Singapore is a lot, to countries like U.S. of >300B population it's not even 10%. And it's not even 3% of China's population. Actually, any population is big for Singapore because we are not a "regular country". How much of Singapore's population has emigrated ? I bet its more than 3% , which is just a tiny 80,000, but someone can try to add it up from statistics.

300B?? :huh:

It depends on your luck, the places you have visited, and the people you have met.

In your visits as a businessman or a tourist, they know you are only a guest, so they would greet you nicely. Suppose you migrate there and live for a few months, take a local job there and venture into their heartlands, you may (if bad luck) see a difference.

Depends on where you live actually, i been here for 3yr+ and had yet to encounter any racism.

You prolly been to Oz for short trips and not actually lived there.

My maternal side all reside in Oz - Sydney, Perth and Brisbane.

My children are all studying in Unis there.

I hold a PR, but am very comfortable in SG.

But I still need to fulfill my minimum-days-stay-per-year there, to keep my PR!

Convert to Oz passport?

For me, very easy, with family legacy already there for the last 30+ years.

All naturalized already.

I want? No, not for me.

I am contented in SG.

Living in prime CCR landed, fully paid up.

A couple of D9 investment properties.

Earning >$500K p.a.

Own >3 cars.

Support the PAP govt 100%.

Become Aussie for what?

Seek quality of life?

My quality of life: R&R in Oz for a few months in a year (to meet my PR requirements)

Put a significant part of my cash savings there, earning 5+% interest in savings, or up to 6% for FD with ZERO risk and a guaranteed spending channel there (i.e. no forex exposure for me).

Best of both worlds what?

Racism non existent? How wrong you are.

You go shopping there only right - within the city only, I presume.

You only need to be schooled there, to begin with.

Aussie kids pulling their eye lids around corners and scooting off. My cousins got these when they were young.

Waiting in front of cashier first (no queueing system, but FCFS - like in Swiss Butchery here), only to be served later.

Walking along the street, minding your own business, only to be told to go back to where you came from.

You move into a neighborhood and Aussie neighbors avoid you ... till they find out that you are from Singapore (they actually tell you so, later on)

(blame the chinanese, hongkies and vietnamese for causing this Asian stigma? The Aussies couldn't tell the difference, cos we all look alike!)

Hey, all this happens in the suburbs lah, the Aussie heartland, not the short trips that you do in the city.

Work there? There is a glass ceiling hor, unless you are the best in that profession.

Otherwise do your own business.

Even then, risk your shop's glass of being smashed - like it happened in Perth a few years ago, to Asian-run shops only!

My friends and relatives who run to other countries, are not after money and fame. They just wan a better quality of life and I can say they have achieved their objectives.

They just spend what they earn and with some savings. They dun have to worry about old age living coz the garment will take care of them. Free medical, free public transport, free housing, discounted travels.

the ONLY thing they miss about SG is the food. Nothing else......

If i'm so rich like you, stay in Singapore for what? sell everything bring 30-40mil over and can live like a king, 1 week go NT shoot kangaroo, next week fly to Cairns diving at Great Barrier reef, next week fly to Tasmania drink red wine at vineyard.

Don't say 3 car, you want to buy 30 car also can and build a warehouse to store it. Why would you want to stay in Spore?

Edited by Trex101