Changing battery experience sharing

Mikelcy1963

Went to RV to change my battery. Not a regular there (because don't like the oil they offer). Inspite being end of business day, they gave me good customer service, to the extent that when the new battery do not fit due to my car's quirky height restrictions, they brought me to another shop. The technician assigned follow through until the battery was replaced.

RV was also professional when swapping batteries. Not just clip a spare battery to the terminals and change (which can accidentally dislodge while removing the terminals)

On a side note, before I went RV, I was at another tyre shop and to my horrors, they just start my engine and remove my terminals. For old cars this is fine but I have not seen this method for donkey years. That shop also did not have the right battery size and wanted to cut away my terminal cover so that a recessed type battery can be used. I have to insist NO before they put back my old battery.

Just to be clear, I am not in anyway affiliated with RV. Posting this because I thought helping me to find another shop and following through is something worth encouraging.

erm how did RV manage to overcome the height restriction?

i tot most battery cover and size are standard? just get back your normal brand battery can liao mah no meh

oh ya so what battery you change, whats the brand and power rating? price also?

my battery i think dying too

Edited by Galantspeedz

They couldn't. Thats why they bring me to another shop. My battery size is 23R, cannot be too tall and cannot use recessed type.

RV uses Amaron, too high, cannot tighten down.

Bosch is recessed type, terminal post cover blocking (other shop).

Finally got a korean brand "Global" battery (coz Korean car ?) from the shop that RV brought me too.

Old battery was "Globatt", lasts me 10 months only. Previous 2 other batteries were Korea type also (I think AC Delco?) changed from AD and each last 13-14months + carrot head of course.

I hope this Global will also last about the same.

3 years eat 3 batteries..terrible

After reading really feel u r from rv

Hahaha

Wa a battery last 10 mths is really crazy n u still doing that again n again

The batt that I used 3-4 yrs one lei

U really got a prob there

Or what car is that really must die die use Korean Batt meh

After readin

I wun dare buy a Korean car

ts, in the end u pay the $ to which ws?

skyjet, i also change my battery every 12months and it always kaput around Xmas/newyear period.

This time round, I must get it change end of November. I dont want to get stranded on the road again.

Edited by Mcf777

I really not the green battery sales

But last few batteries all using this green battery

Can last 3+ yrs

Dun go for other brands only last < 2 yrs

They couldn't. Thats why they bring me to another shop. My battery size is 23R, cannot be too tall and cannot use recessed type.

RV uses Amaron, too high, cannot tighten down.

Bosch is recessed type, terminal post cover blocking (other shop).

Finally got a korean brand "Global" battery (coz Korean car ?) from the shop that RV brought me too.

Old battery was "Globatt", lasts me 10 months only. Previous 2 other batteries were Korea type also (I think AC Delco?) changed from AD and each last 13-14months + carrot head of course.

I hope this Global will also last about the same.

3 years eat 3 batteries..terrible

huh? they bring you to another shop and you bought a korean batt from that shop but RV swap the battery for you???? Then who you pay the money to?

i use korean batt once dunno what brand... also about 1 yr.... change to amaron then bo taiji liao...

so your korean brand batt is how much and what power rating? 45? 60? 70?

I really not the green battery sales

But last few batteries all using this green battery

Can last 3+ yrs

Dun go for other brands only last < 2 yrs

I'm also using this green battery. Did you wait till your car couldn't start before changing, or by measurement of the voltage? I'm into my second green battery, first one lasted 2 years and 8 months before I decided to change. Battery still cranks fine, I was just worried of the car refusing to crank, and without warning.

First green battery change, the mechanic used another battery to tap in parallel, before swapping. Second one, asked me to start engine and he changed with running engine. I know the spare battery tapping is a recommended method, is the running engine method safe?

They bring me to a shop on Level 2 and the guy there swap it. But the technician was with me throughout until the job done. I pay directly to that battery shop and the price is normal coz my old "Globatt" battery was also the same price.

I'm also using this green battery. Did you wait till your car couldn't start before changing, or by measurement of the voltage? I'm into my second green battery, first one lasted 2 years and 8 months before I decided to change. Battery still cranks fine, I was just worried of the car refusing to crank, and without warning.

First green battery change, the mechanic used another battery to tap in parallel, before swapping. Second one, asked me to start engine and he changed with running engine. I know the spare battery tapping is a recommended method, is the running engine method safe?

No, engine was still able to start. I knew its dying coz normally it only takes one or 2 crank to start but it now takes 3 to 4 cranks and the cranks are somewhat laborious.

However this is not a fool proof method. Previous dead battery has no warning. Just died the next day. Btw battery is $140. 55AH

Spare battery in parallel to terminals is normal. Start engine and yank out the terminals is definately not a good way.

Learnt from RV that some conti cars CPU need to detect voltage otherwise it will be dead.

Better way is spare battery to main lead-in, not terminals. In this case, you reduce the chance of the clip accidentally coming loose while removing the terminals. But not many do this.

Normally they used a spare battery so all ur memory wun be erased rite?

Correct me if I'm wrong

When it's harder to crank

Then chAnge lor

Now I using the 3rd one

Last 2 last me both > 3 yrs

V powerful

My clog using so recommend us n now all of us using

Hahaha

We r cheapos always looking for cheap things but good things

Hahaha

RV=River View?

Just to be clear (again), I am not related to them, In fact, I've only been there twice, once to repair my old Altis and once an oil change on my current Chevy.

I went there for battery because the day is ending and I figure most of the std tyre & battery shops may also have the same size problem and I am nearby so give them a try.

When they realise they could not use their battery, I was plesantly surprised they help me w/o me even asking.

Just my personal experience sharing.

Very ex ex ex expensive

55 n last one yr

Omg

But if really ur ride has restriction then no choice

But but sure can use other batt one

They can do some simple mod to fit one

All these ws very clever but teh siao one

Haha