Usage of disabled/handicapped parking space/lot

Bloodymiko

I would like to find out more about the usage of the disabled/handicapped parking space/lot.

Firstly, I do not have the handicapped sticker/label to stick on the car as I'm not a disabled or handicapped driver. But my grandparents both are having difficulties walking as one is wheel-chair bound while the other sometimes need a wheel-chair or the 4-legged walking support.

There was this once when it happens that both are at my relative's place and I'm fetching them home one night. All the available lots were taken up, even the handicapped lots. Finally I waited and one driver went off from one of the handicapped lot and I went ahead to park in it before I called my grandparents to come down to where I parked.

This was at the carpark where there is this area allocated for parking with only 2 lanes for incoming and outgoing cars with a continuous single white line in-between where I'm not supposed to park/wait on either side of the road. I don't have the sticker so i can't just park and leave the car there to go fetch my grandparents.

As both requires some time to get ready to come down with some assistance so I can only wait for them. Then at this time, there is another car who drove by and both the male driver and his wife stared at me. I was wondering why are they staring at me so sternly? Then the man drove his car very very close to mine, almost scratching the front part of my car. All this while, he was still staring at me.

Then his car screeched and stop in front of my car and still staring at me. I'm really wondering what's wrong with this man. Then an old man came down from the car with a walking stick, then I realized why he's been staring at me. I wanted to get off my car and ask if he needs the parking lot so since I'm waiting so let him go first, but his wife came down from the car and stared at me and then he quickly drove round and parked his car opposite mine.

I'm really puzzled, then i checked if his car has the disabled/handicapped sticker, he didn't have it. So why is he staring at me all the time? Then when his wife left the old man walking halfway on the path towards the block and quickly went back to the spot where he dropped them, he drove his car quickly again so close to my car (almost scratching) and screeched and stopped in front. Then sped off.

I really can't understand this action.

I understand that such lots are definitely reserved for those who really need it. But waiting in such lots for handicapped people are also allowed right while they take time to come down?

I'd checked with LTA and they said that so long the waiting time is not considerably long and there are no other cars with the disabled parking sticker/label waiting around (if have, i'll have to give way), otherwise it's alright to use it in such situations.

But I would still like to check with the people here who are more experienced in their years of driving in terms of morally or driving ethics, can i use the lots for my situation? Would like to hear constructive feedback. If it's not alright for me to do so, how else can I wait for my grandparents when they go to my relative's place again in future?

Thanks for taking time to read and reply.

In fact, you can apply the handicap parking label for your grandparent that have difficulties walking, even you are not a disabled driver. But the thing is that you will need to get some supporting document from the hospital doctoer. The process is around 1 months plus or so. But the catch is the label only can be use on the registered car plate number for ferry them around, and the car the most can only park I think 2 hours or so in a handicap parking lot. And cannot use it to park over night. Last thing, using the label you still need to display parking coupon if parking in hdb car park, if it is not rep parking system.

You have a valid reason to park there and he has his, but you were there first.....

He can stare till his eyes pop out or he could ask politely :D

In fact, you can apply the handicap parking label for your grandparent that have difficulties walking, even you are not a disabled driver. But the thing is that you will need to get some supporting document from the hospital doctoer. The process is around 1 months plus or so. But the catch is the label only can be use on the registered car plate number for ferry them around, and the car the most can only park I think 2 hours or so in a handicap parking lot. And cannot use it to park over night. Last thing, using the label you still need to display parking coupon if parking in hdb car park, if it is not rep parking system.

thanks for your kind response, both my aunt and another uncle are usually the ones who ferries them around, but as a granddaughter, i feel that i should do my part and not tires them out as they also are working adults so when it's possible or when the relatives they visit are nearer to my area or so, i'll try to ferry them since i dont really sleep so early so they can stay longer if they want and don't have to rush them.

as for the label, i think my aunt/uncle has it on their car so i might not be able to get it right?

You have a valid reason to park there and he has his, but you were there first.....

He can stare till his eyes pop out or he could ask politely :D

Actually I saw him taking out his phone and not sure if he took a photo lol.... :(

You have all the right to use the lot, moverover you are in your car. Your aunt got the orange label for care-givers, only allowed to park 2hrs. If the starer report you, just fax your grannies medical condition to whichever authority concern.

Why you did not get out of your car and explain to them?

Another benefit is you always get to park in handicap lot in shopping malls, and they are always next to the lift lobby

of course! if i can get the label then it would be convenient for my grandparents.... but sort of heard it that they only give 1 label for the main car which ferries them right? :)

You have all the right to use the lot, moverover you are in your car. Your aunt got the orange label for care-givers, only allowed to park 2hrs. If the starer report you, just fax your grannies medical condition to whichever authority concern.

Why you did not get out of your car and explain to them?

hee... actually i had wanted to do so but everything happened so quickly..... first i had to figure out why are they staring at me, then i got sort of a nasty shock when he drove pass my car so closely and screeching. Then i'm wondering what are they trying to do? (at this moment then i just turn on the main lock to lock all my car doors - geez... maybe i think too much lah...)

Figuring this out, then the moment came that the old man came out of the car, the wife followed, slam the door and the man turned his car around in split seconds lol.... when i'm trying to sort out my thoughts for a moment, then i already saw the wife walked back to the spot where he dropped her, and i hear screeching sounds of car (this is when he drove pass my car so closely again to stop in front of my car) pick her and sped off.....

when i turned around to see where the old man was, he was left walking on his own towards the hdb block. then my thoughts moved on to - can he walk on his own to the block then to his unit?

Cars with handicap label can only park 2 hours??

My Plc here got 2 cars with this label n yes the owners r handicapped

I see them in the lots 24/7

Seems like they dun need pay season parking

Lol

Stinkaporeans like to stare.

They come, they expect instant gratification.

You "blocked" him, so he stare.

If he do this in MY, he might get beaten up, but not here.

Stinkaporeans like to stare.

They come, they expect instant gratification.

You "blocked" him, so he stare.

If he do this in MY, he might get beaten up, but not here.

Seriously nobody likes to be stared at... :( if he really need the lot and should he had asked nicely, i don't mind moving away... anyway i'm not like permanently using it.... once my grandparents arrives i'll go....

There are 2 types of handicap labels for cars. One is the car owner is able bodied, but need to fetch their handicap relatives. They can have the label for their car, park in the handicap lot. But not forever, there is a time limit. Aim is when you just entered the carpark, you have time to bring them up to the house, come back down and move your car to the normal parking lots.

Similarly, if you are going to the person's house, but going to watch TV and do other stuff first, you will have to park at the normal lots. Once they are ready to leave, you go and bring your car to the handicap lot. Go back to the unit and bring them to your car.

Of course, if they can walk from their house to the car on their own, then there is no issue. In some cases, they will need to be escorted even with walking aids.

The other type is the car owner is handicap. That one can park for unlimited time. Of course, parking fee also must pay.

I anticipate the application for handicap lots will go up in the years to come. Hopefully, the housing estates that are undergoing upgrading or have already been upgraded have more handicap lots too. Simply because we are going to have an ageing population and it only makes sense that now when we have not reached the peak of having many elderly people around, we prepare the infrastructure first.

If were me if the guy and wife keep on staring, probably I will ask them WTF and don't just staring.

These ppls better stare till eyes pop out.

There are 2 types of handicap labels for cars. One is the car owner is able bodied, but need to fetch their handicap relatives. They can have the label for their car, park in the handicap lot. But not forever, there is a time limit. Aim is when you just entered the carpark, you have time to bring them up to the house, come back down and move your car to the normal parking lots.

Similarly, if you are going to the person's house, but going to watch TV and do other stuff first, you will have to park at the normal lots. Once they are ready to leave, you go and bring your car to the handicap lot. Go back to the unit and bring them to your car.

Of course, if they can walk from their house to the car on their own, then there is no issue. In some cases, they will need to be escorted even with walking aids.

The other type is the car owner is handicap. That one can park for unlimited time. Of course, parking fee also must pay.

I anticipate the application for handicap lots will go up in the years to come. Hopefully, the housing estates that are undergoing upgrading or have already been upgraded have more handicap lots too. Simply because we are going to have an ageing population and it only makes sense that now when we have not reached the peak of having many elderly people around, we prepare the infrastructure first.

Thanks for the detailed explanation!

As both grandparents requires assistance to move around, its good to know that i can actually park my car in the handicapped lot when i got the sticker, just that i need to put coupon.

As for the 1hr grace, it's good enough to send or fetch them :) as i'll never know when another who is in need of the lot might just come along...