Beware pickpocket experts!

SimonTan

Foreign pickpockets strike on bus: They cut pants to steal money from wallet

STOMPer Kim Soon was a victim of a pickpocketing incident on Friday morning. He said a foreign commuter pretended to sleep beside him on the bus but later the STOMPer found his pants had been cut and money stolen from his wallet.

Said the STOMPer:

"This incident happened to me on Friday, around 9.40am.

"Two men, who looked like they are from northern China, boarded bus 62 around Aljunied Road. Both are big-sized, about 1.75m in height.

"They look in their 40s, with one sporting a shaved head and carrying a black sling bag. He sat beside me on the bus.

"I did not feel them cutting my pants, but when the guy leaned against me to sleep, I could feel some body contact.

"However, I was preoccupied with my thoughts and I was listening to music.

"I only realised my pants had been cut and my money taken after they alighted from the bus.

"As the bus is a loop service, they boarded the bus from the bus stop opposite about 20 minutes later, at 10.10am.

"I recognised them and enlisted the help of the bus driver to close the doors so they would be unable to escape, but they got away before the doors closed.

"I lodged a police report, but the bus does not have a CCTV camera installed as it is one of the older buses."

The STOMPer described in an email:

"Beware that there is a group of pickpocket crooks from China targeting passengers of single deck buses.

"They will sit beside a passenger, whose wallet is placed at the back of the pants.

"Then, they will lean with their shoulder agaist the seat and their back facing the targeted passenger.

"While pretending to be asleep, these crooks will start using sharp object to cut the pants of the passenger and take the cash out from the wallet.

"The whole process is done without taking out the wallet.

"Thus, the passenger will not be aware that his valuables are being stolen! "Once the crooks get the cash, they will alight the bus immediately.

"These crooks should be operating in pair and they speak in China accents.

"One is doing the stealing and another one is sitting somewhere in the bus as a watchdog.

"Be very careful and alert when someone is sitting beside you with his back facing you in a bus!"

STOMPer Kim Soon was a victim of a pickpocketing incident on Friday morning. He said a foreign commuter pretended to sleep beside him on the bus but later the STOMPer found his pants had been cut and money stolen from his wallet.

Said the STOMPer:

"Two men, who looked like they are from northern China, boarded bus 62 around Aljunied Road. Both are big-sized, about 1.75m in height.

"They look in their 40s, with one sporting a shaved head and carrying a black sling bag. He sat beside me on the bus.

"I did not feel them cutting my pants, but when the guy leaned against me to sleep, I could feel some body contact.

"I only realised my pants had been cut and my money taken after they alighted from the bus.

"As the bus is a loop service, they boarded the bus from the bus stop opposite about 20 minutes later, at 10.10am.

"I recognised them and enlisted the help of the bus driver to close the doors so they would be unable to escape, but they got away before the doors closed.

"I lodged a police report, but the bus does not have a CCTV camera installed as it is one of the older buses."

"Beware that there is a group of pickpocket crooks from China targeting passengers of single deck buses.

"They will sit beside a passenger, whose wallet is placed at the back of the pants.

"Then, they will lean with their shoulder agaist the seat and their back facing the targeted passenger.

"While pretending to be asleep, these crooks will start using sharp object to cut the pants of the passenger and take the cash out from the wallet.

"Thus, the passenger will not be aware that his valuables are being stolen! "Once the crooks get the cash, they will alight the bus immediately.

"One is doing the stealing and another one is sitting somewhere in the bus as a watchdog.

"Be very careful and alert when someone is sitting beside you with his back facing you in a bus!"

His back facing the victim and yet still able to cut away the wallet placed at the back pocket of the victim?

Quite difficult to visualize.

His back facing the victim and yet still able to cut away the wallet placed at the back pocket of the victim?

So dun sleep if there is someone beside you....Tt very popular in China

The bus sign board hv to go back to the early 70th "Beware of PickPocket"

Sounds suspect to me. Can take cash from folded wallet? Or is it that put wallet back after take cash? I tink is bogus.

Said the STOMPer:

Must they give such a detailed info? later this will become another FT bashing thread [laugh]

I can't tell northern from southern Chinese.....and Indians apart.

Anyone can reveal the subtle differences?

I know they cut your back pack or waist pouch. And also your back pocket while u are standing.

But this stomped story of being cut while sitting down is hard to understand. How to take the cash out of wallet without pulling out the wallet? Yes they can cut the pants, but how to take cash out of wallet?

jialat if they nick my butt. [sweatdrop]

Must they give such a detailed info? later this will become another FT bashing thread [laugh]

I rather suspect that's the motivation from the very beginning.

Like it or not, stereotyping is helpful in crime profiling.

Eg. Ah moh well-dressed female new zealanders are very unlikely to be pickpockets.

Please let me know if you disagree. :D

Like it or not, stereotyping is helpful in crime profiling.

Eg. Ah moh well-dressed female new zealanders are very unlikely to be pickpockets.

Please let me know if you disagree. :D

profiling is very very dangerous -

I would agree that it does help, but you must be careful on your indicators.

For instance, in the US profiling is commonly thought to mean "beard and turban" = terrorist.

Rather than the behaviours itself - and with this belief of course, you are totally excluding Timothy McVeigh.

Further, what about all the turban and beard that are not muslem?

It would be far more effective to focus on the behaviours themselves - eg: overstaying, only interested in taking off etc...

i think if a stomp want to publish a report that has been reported to police, they must verify the police report or even publish the police report together in the stomp. What if another make up story by people with agenda <_< <_<

this type of stomp got zero value AT ALL!

Edited by Jman888

i think if a stomp want to publish a report that has been reported to police, they must verify the police report or even publish the police report together in the stomp. What if another make up story by people with agenda <_< <_<

this type of stomp got zero value AT ALL!

Where got police report as "proof"? Didn't one of our candidate's for election get into trouble for brandishing police report?

I think this shows just how insular and provincial Singaporeans really are. Maybe we have been asleep in la la land for too long.

The well-travelled will know that this happens in all 1st world cities in USA and Europe, especially those heavily populated ones where more people walk and take public transport than drive their own cars. Yes, even in Florence, Rome, Prague (pickpocket capital of the world) and Budapest, beautiful cities with an ugly underclass.

Not to mention cities in Vietnam, China, Indonesia, South Korea etc.

If you feel someone coming too close for comfort, get away! Why you gong gong still act like it is normal?

Please lah, there is no cure for stupidity. Grow up and stop expecting the government to take care of your every need.

Better wear those metal chains underwear, if not accidentally cut off the kuku.

Those chain-mesh gloves that fish cutter wears, and also as full suit for those who swims with sharks. Where to buy such chain mesh to line the backpack or back pockets to prevent pickpockets.

Better wear those metal chains underwear, if not accidentally cut off the kuku.

Those chain-mesh gloves that fish cutter wears, and also as full suit for those who swims with sharks. Where to buy such chain mesh to line the backpack or back pockets to prevent pickpockets.

Stay at home better lah