Breaking News -NParks officer suspended

Civic2000

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_825641.html

The Ministry of National Development (MND) has suspended the National Parks Board (NParks) officer responsible for the agency's recent purchase of 26 foldable bicycles.

This after discrepancies were found last month during a review of the procurement process of the Brompton bikes, which cost $2,200 each.

The ministry, in a statement on Tuesday night, said an MND internal audit team was tasked by National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan in July, to work with NParks to review the purchase of the 26 foldable bikes, 'with a view to ascertain its justification and to see if its procurement process could be improved'.

The audit, which was competed last month, followed a news report on the purchase on June 24.

The Ministry of National Development (MND) has suspended the National Parks Board (NParks) officer responsible for the agency's recent purchase of 26 foldable bicycles.

This after discrepancies were found last month during a review of the procurement process of the Brompton bikes, which cost $2,200 each.

The ministry, in a statement on Tuesday night, said an MND internal audit team was tasked by National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan in July, to work with NParks to review the purchase of the 26 foldable bikes, 'with a view to ascertain its justification and to see if its procurement process could be improved'.

The audit, which was competed last month, followed a news report on the purchase on June 24.

So who is the final authority to approve the purchase? Is he suspended as well?

whoa!!!! now thats big!!!!!

May be the final investigation result is that Npark officers should be paid 5x more to ensure no future corruption?

I thought Khaw defended Nparks decision to buy bikes?

After expose, then suspend the officer.

different issue. he support buying such and expensive bike.

procurement procedure breach is another issue.

for example.

let say you buy a lux car say, BMW.

your wife might agree with it. but later when she found out, you didnt test other brand because the sales girl slept with you. she will still punish you. [:p]

for example.

your wife might agree with it. but later when she found out, you didnt test other brand because the sales girl slept with you. she will still punish you. [:p]

Wah such anology oso can come out, too much speculation,

Ouch ouch!!

Wah such anology oso can come out, too much speculation,

Ouch ouch!!

nay. talk nonsense only.

Anyway i am more interested in knowing for this 500K procurement, which high ranking officer is so stupid not to do proper due diligent

Edited by Joseph22

for example.

That was a very very very good example :D

for example.

Don't pichah my lobang leh. [:/]

for example.

Bro, I like that example! Lol..

that example wont stand if he is part of the procurement procedure.

actually, i still think he self snook. speak too fast and didnt cover his backside.

should had mention at the end that he will be looking into the procurement procedure to ensure everything is done properly.

but then again, making such statement might result in causing them to panic and do a cover up.