Knee arthroscopy - ACL & meniscus & microfracture

Hmsg

All the best to you. I've had mine in 2015. I took from own hamstring graft. Am now back to almost 100% functionality, recently also can do full Asian squat liao.

My advice is 1st 2-3 weeks are crucial and also the most painful. Take painkillers if need be. But must do the exercises to reduce the scar tissue so as to get full range of motion upon recovery. Getting the full range of motion is more important in building up the muscle/strength right after op. The muscle atrophy will have lots of time to work on it, but flexibility you only have that 1st 2-3 weeks of golden period to take advantage.

Jiayou!

serious? it took you 4 years to do a full squat?

what is asian full squat? they define by nationality  [laugh]

i be taking my own graft too, to prevent any complication.

you mean after surgery, i got to move my knee..

do the rehabs etc..

i broke my last finger during my teen days and what you said, is pretty correct.

i no longer can stretch my finger even after X years..

Edited by Kurty

what is asian full squat? they define by nationality  [laugh]

do the rehabs etc..

i broke my last finger during my teen days and what you said, is pretty correct.

asian full squat means can squat down like ahbeng and pass motion  [laugh]

what is asian full squat? they define by nationality [laugh]

do the rehabs etc..

See those prc squat around. Ang mo term should be Ass To Grass (ATG) squat. The real squat to achieve if you don't have any injury.

i see, thanks for the specific and detailed explanation of the terminology. 

for now, i still can squat.

hopefully, i can still squat to pian pian while i'm in malaysia.

i kinda like the posture of ATG or AFS

what is asian full squat? they define by nationality [laugh]

do the rehabs etc..

Yes for 4 years can't squat fully pang sai. Because my injured knee can't bend backwards fully heel touch ass. Also can't squat fully ass to grass with heels firmly planted on ground. This is Asian squat loh, apparently a lot of ang mos have difficulty doing this

May I know how is the ACL done in SGH which is not under their private clinic? I have to do mine too 100% ACL torn. So worried about undergoing surgery by Associate Consultant.

Lol done the same way lor.

Sometimes it's not about the position/seniority. It's the skills. Though SGH orthopedics does the most surgeries of any hospital. So should be ok lah.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1abAGb9Kbfc

That's great thank you for assuring me and thanks the video. Usually guys get it from soccer. Mine is freak accident plus a fibula fracture. I didn't have any direct impact to my knee yet it got badly impacted from a backward fall landed on my left butt with my right leg got badly twisted mid air after the force sent my leg throw off with the weight of my ice skating boot. After that I felt my knee disconnected. Sad

Lol done the same way lor.

Sometimes it's not about the position/seniority. It's the skills. Though SGH orthopedics does the most surgeries of any hospital. So should be ok lah.

This vid better

Esp at 4:00 onwards

post-547-0-95877000-1551337970_thumb.jpeg

why u post jpg file...

Anyway such videos, always better to show animation. Less wincing involved for those undergoing it  [laugh]

hahah..true too but best to prep mentally, esp the insertion of the drain ports and the scope access..

it's a youtube vid, edited

why u post jpg file...

Anyway such videos, always better to show animation. Less wincing involved for those undergoing it  [laugh]

yes.. i probably can't sleep tonight..

counting down..  [bigcry]

I did knee arthroscopy at TTSH.

I think the surgeon mentioned he cleaned up the loose parts (meniscus) so it won't cause pain.

Until today, I'm still not sure if that helps.

There's still a bit of pain when I squat.

hahahaha...all will be ok lah...take care

i really went and watch the video..

but can't continue after a min.. it's too painful to watch.

ok, thats enough for the day to make me puke..

I did knee arthroscopy at TTSH.

I think the surgeon mentioned he cleaned up the loose parts (meniscus) so it won't cause pain.

Until today, I'm still not sure if that helps.

There's still a bit of pain when I squat.

thats what my surgeon say too..

it has been more than 3 years since my last MRI.

i dont feel pain at the missing ACL but the area around the knee, especially the front.

He told me that during the surgery, will investigate and sort them once and for all..

Edited by Kurty

i really went and watch the video..

but can't continue after a min.. it's too painful to watch.

ok, thats enough for the day to make me puke..

thats what my surgeon say too..

it has been more than 3 years since my last MRI.

i dont feel pain at the missing ACL but the area around the knee, especially the front.

He told me that during the surgery, will investigate and sort them once and for all..

For those of you considering surgery but haven't gone for it, you might want to check out one of the blog posts I wrote a while ago ... Knee Surgery for Knee Pain. I included references to make it easier for fact checking!