Want to buy medical insurance but ....

Ysc3

A word of caution for people with the bestest plan. 

1. If you are super rich, stop reading. Doesn't affect you.  [laugh]

2. If you think you may want to downgrade when you are old cos of increased premiums -->

For serious chronic illness, please consider whether you want to go for Pte/A at first opportunity. Reason being, this classification will stick to you forever. So if you wanna go for an operation maybe when you are in your 60s and you want to choose B ward or you have already downgraded your plan to B ward Plan, you might be treated as a "pte" patient because of your past hospitalisation history when you were young. Hence, you will not be allowed to "downgrade" 

This is to my best knowledge, true. (Have left the industry for some time liao) Please consult your insurance agents to verify or for more info. 

Of course for those 1 off incidents, accidental injuries, knee ops .... go ahead, go for the best  [cool]

Actually, people who go for private plan do not necessarily stay in private hospital when hospitalized. I bought the best plans for my kids and wife. Recently my daughter warded. Could have gone to Private hospital but we decided on B2+ at KKH instead. This is because, we didn't see the need to stay in private hospital and by staying in B2+ ward, our bills are still covered fully, no co-insurance or deductible and I get $200 from the insurance company for everyday that my daughter is warded. 

Anyway, I think now easier to downgrade ward also cuz I have a friend whose daughter born premature, they delivered at private hospital but upon hearing that their daughter need to be warded in NICU, they just request to downgrade and straightaway transfer to KKH and pay subsidized rates.

To get the subsidies again, just go to polyclinic to get referral. I did that for my heart condition. I told the NHC that I want to become subsidized patient and they helped me to register with polyclinic and get a referral to the hospital for next check up. 

I have a contranian view on insurance especially medical...

Just buy the basic and intermediate coverage good enough...

Save the difference in premium in your separate bank account away from wifes and childrem...

Why?

The moment you give instruction to charge to your premium plan insurance, the charges all they anyhow whack in one... especially if you have all those riders and no co-payment plan.

I beg to differ. Long story short.

My Sis was warded to Public hospital cos she does not have insurance coverage. It took a week for the Hospital to diagnose it's cancer, & they still do not know what this the root cause of the cancer. 

In desperation, upon discharge from gov hospital. My BIL took my sis to a private doctor & took him 2 days to diagnose & 3rd day to start immediate radiation treatment for the related cancer.

The SOP for the hospital is to do a test for the suspected cancer gene. If negative, then they will continue to do further test. Imagine there are over 10 different types. It is like playing bingo with your life & hope the hospital will hit it right on the mark the first time. Unlike pte hospital & doctors, they will take necessary samples & test for all to determine the the root & do treatment ASAP. 

If you trust the gov medical system so much, by all means. My advice is that if you can afford full coverage, don't skim on it. You never know when you will need it. Gov Hospital bureaucracy will not bend to expedite medical treatment to save one single life(Unless you are a Minister). They will follow their SOP strictly.

I beg to differ. Long story short.

My Sis was warded to Public hospital cos she does not have insurance coverage. It took a week for the Hospital to diagnose it's cancer, & they still do not know what this the root cause of the cancer. 

In desperation, upon discharge from gov hospital. My BIL took my sis to a private doctor & took him 2 days to diagnose & 3rd day to start immediate radiation treatment for the related cancer.

The SOP for the hospital is to do a test for the suspected cancer gene. If negative, then they will continue to do further test. Imagine there are over 10 different types. It is like playing bingo with your life & hope the hospital will hit it right on the mark the first time. Unlike pte hospital & doctors, they will take necessary samples & test for all to determine the the root & do treatment ASAP. 

If you trust the gov medical system so much, by all means. My advice is that if you can afford full coverage, don't skim on it. You never know when you will need it. Gov Hospital bureaucracy will not bend to expedite medical treatment to save one single life(Unless you are a Minister). They will follow their SOP strictly.

Yeah. That is what I believe too. Get the highest plan you can afford to keep the options open. Don't want to stay in private hospital then go to subsidized ward and get the daily hospital cash. I believe all insurers do have this daily hospital cash if you choose to stay in a ward below what you are entitled to.

of all the insurance, Medical is a must.

premium is affordable even up to A ward.

Over the past 10yrs, i may have paid like 5-6k in premium but i have claim much more than that.

last thing u need to worry when you are undergoing a treatment or surgery is about the medical bill.

I have been trying to buy medical insurance for the last 10yrs but so far none accepted me after hearing of my various illnesses.

Only insurance I keep buying is home, car and travel. laugh.gif

This SAF insurance company, Aviva keep writing to me to upgrade my policy. But long long time ago I wrote to them, they say cannot liao. The ppl there still keep sending me brochures to upgrade my policy, as if I can.

My insurance fren also tried to help me purchase accident insurance. I think coming to one year liao, still no one wana accept me. I see my insurance fren once a week, keep asking him, he say me got no chance to do business with. laugh.gif

I just let it be and claim using my company insurance. So far, they allow me to claim for my existing illnesses. But new illnesses, they request doc memo for consideration. My two illnesses claims are currently pending their approval, Fatty Liver and Roceasa.

Hi, can tell more, what is your illnessess? Unless very serious, medical insurance may still have hope one. 

with my present condition, most of agents tell me no or not worth to buy.

but recently one of my agents came to my with a special plan (subject to health check). I am not indicating which company as this is for discussion only.

thing goes like this :

for a coverage of 300k, I am estimated to pay about 7k/year (after loading for my conditions, for death only)

however, for the next 30 years the company will up the coverage to 500k for death.

during which I will pay 7k/year for the next 30 years.

after the 30th year, I will stop paying the premium but the company will continue to cover me for 300k + "bonus" until i am 99 year old. so a rough estimate will be that by the time of 99 years, the coverage will reach about 450k.

when i become a centurion, the term policy will terminate and they will pay me the 450k instead even if i am still alive.

I am considering this actually ... but then i am thinking if i be able to pay the premiums after the next 20 years ... not to mention 30 years ... meaning i will have to slog my whole life until i am 75 ??

i don't make 5k a month ... doubt i'll ever ... so its gonna be tough in the later years, esp after retirement age and pay gets docked.

Can share type of medical condition. Wonder why death benefit only with loading. Is it Diabetes? Thanks. I mayable to help. 

Hi, can tell more, what is your illnessess? Unless very serious, medical insurance may still have hope one. 

I have :

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uveitis

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ankylosing_spondylitis

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosacea

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hives

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irritable_bowel_syndrome

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plantar_fasciitis

Pending confirmation from SNEC of http://eyewiki.aao.org/Pellucid_marginal_corneal_degeneration

I no longer have fatty liver. More of all my illnesses here : http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2635456-i-am-diagnose-with-another-incurable-illness/

There is no hope for any insurance company to accept me. Various agents have tried and none of them accepted me. I have a few frens who are agents at various insurance company also tried, but unsuccessful. Even my wife, who was an ex-agent tried, unsuccessful. Cos the insurance company knows that I will be a liability.

Currently my company's insurance is picking up the bill for my specialist visits, various blood test/xray and medication. Before, I was doing tests every 3 months. Now its every 6 months. SGH is a place where I regularly visit even thou I dont work there at all!!! [laugh]

As mentioned above, I took up a policy with my existing issues which only covers death.

Will there be any problem with the insurance policy if I stop taking my meds?

Those waits at the polyclinic really making me feel more sick. Appts all how siao one also.

AIA launches Singapore’s first-ever insurance policy that covers mental illnesses

• Major Depressive Disorders (MDD)
  • Schizophrenia
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD)
  • Tourette Syndrome

One in seven Singaporeans experienced a mental disorder in their lifetime, with MDD and OCD among the top mental conditions for which people seek help, the 2016 Singapore Mental Health Study showed. The study was spearheaded by the Institute of Mental Health in collaboration with the Ministry of Health and Nanyang Technological University.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/aia-launches-singapores-first-ever-insurance-policy-covers-mental-illnesses

anybody here need this policy ?

Edited by Blueray

sure lose money ... SG so many siao lang

Won’t one lah. That industry works this way one...

Delay payout till there are more siao lang than the normal ones... the siao ones become the majority so would be considered normal liao.

Thinking of buying health insurance for my 2 small children to cover them against illnesses, should I fall out of job one day.

Which is the most value-for-more coverage?  Would appreciate your kind sharing. 

Many thanks, folks.

Thinking of buying health insurance for my 2 small children to cover them against illnesses, should I fall out of job one day.

Many thanks, folks.

You're talking about hospitalisation insurance ? Or those comprehensive ones?

Many thanks, folks.

Bro, 

For kids, what's best is to have one for normal illness, one for critical illness and spend the rest for the education. Just my 2 cents worth. 

For kids, normal illness can cover till they grow up and need little care. For critical illness, cover till they get their job as necessary. 

Should you want to cover for one day you are out of job, I hope so not. You will get another job. Or should you think you are not able to work, then cover your reason for not able to work like being paralyzed or any critical illness. 

You're talking about hospitalisation insurance ? Or those comprehensive ones?

I am not too familiar with insurance.  Just worried that in the worst case scenario when illnesses struck within the family, some forms of protection are available.

E.g. In the event if anyone needs long term medical attention (kidney dialysis, cancer treatment, surgery, hospitalization etc)

Medical treatments in Singapore can be very costly, especially over a long term.

Hence, thinking of getting them insured while they are still very young.

What are the typical premiums and which insurance companies are the best?

Bro, 

For kids, what's best is to have one for normal illness, one for critical illness and spend the rest for the education. Just my 2 cents worth. 

For kids, normal illness can cover till they grow up and need little care. For critical illness, cover till they get their job as necessary. 

Should you want to cover for one day you are out of job, I hope so not. You will get another job. Or should you think you are not able to work, then cover your reason for not able to work like being paralyzed or any critical illness. 

I am not too familiar with insurance.  Just worried that in the worst case scenario when illnesses struck within the family, some forms of protection are available.

E.g. In the event if anyone needs long term medical attention (kidney dialysis, cancer treatment, surgery, hospitalization etc)

Medical treatments in Singapore can be very costly, especially over a long term.

Hence, thinking of getting them insured while they are still very young.

What are the typical premiums and which insurance companies are the best?

I am not familar too but I think insurance is very very important in our life when I  look back on my parents and myself.

I cannot recommend you anyone too as this is my style not to interfere but just tok kok and enjoy this forum.

You may talk to your agent or get your close friends to recommend. Insurance is about talking about needs and start early. 

One of the thinking you might want to get rid of is "What if I buy and nothing happens?" then it will not be called insurance. 

I have 2 examples. After getting married, I also buy the needs for my wife. Of cos the needs is my wife getting sick or my wife getting critical illness and bieng paid. I cover myself for in case I get critical illness and death and savings blah blah blah. The ultimate aim is that if anything happens to me, my wife will not need to worry and if anything happens to her, we will not need to worry. 

So for our case, my wfie is the one always having to claim, this takes a lot of pressure off me as we do not have to worry. But for myself, I have been paying but never once claim. My wife being the stingy type will say the payments are wasted. But I always assure her that this is why it is called insurance. We do not want to pay and pray that things will happen and then claim. We just pay for a peace of mind. 

So talk to your agent to get the best you need and no worries. Come to forum and tok kok happily......Cheers