Taxes must rise for social spending to increase

HP_Lee

Why do maids who barely earn $400 a month attract a tax of $170 every single month?

Why don't we tax EP holders who earn $4000 a month at $1700 each month too?

Either maids are overtaxed, or EP holders are undertaxed.

I can only answer you this. Maids are underpaid if we are honest.

sheep fur grows on sheep

after the richie been tax, they just need to squueze peasant harder

ie: doctor increase their consultation fees, bosses increase product selling price, banker and lawyer increase their fees, etc

they will still drive porky and maserati and aint gonna downgrade to c180 or 320i ... lolz

The rich already taxed on progressive system. Plus they are taxed more when they own multiple cars, own multiple properties and corporate taxes on their businesses. Tax the rich is always a nice war cry for the masses but their wealth oils the wheels of the economy whether you like it or not. The money they spend creates jobs.

Increase of taxes, as country is more developed. Though a citizen of a higher tax bracket status, I do encourage to the gov to tax more on the rich, while maintaining those who are at the mid or lower tier tax brackets. This is a way to contribute back to the country. [cool]

Taxes Must increase for social spending

Tax more on the rich has side effects.

What if the rich tu lan because they feel, " hey, I work so hard to earn a lot $, and a lot of $ goes to taxes and they still want to tax more?? " Than those rich will not have the incentives to want to earn more $ and feel no point. Life already so stressful and even they earn $ also stress being having very high tax. Maybe some will think of early retirement and less hassle.

Those rich will have enough $ to retire anyway, so why they still bother to earn more $ ?? By making them tu lan = they will be less motivated to continue to earn more $ and retire and downgrade to shake leg better.

Edited by Yewheng

A Carbon Tax is an Pigovian tax levied on the carbon content of fuels.[1] It is a form of carbon pricing. Carbon is present in every hydrocarbon fuel (coal, petroleum, and natural gas) and is released as carbon dioxide (CO2) when they are burnt. In contrast, non-combustion energy sources

The rich already taxed on progressive system. Plus they are taxed more when they own multiple cars, own multiple properties and corporate taxes on their businesses. Tax the rich is always a nice war cry for the masses but their wealth oils the wheels of the economy whether you like it or not. The money they spend creates jobs.

Dun think anyone is more important than other. Eveyone contribute differently. The rich can invest but if no one to execute also no use.

I can only answer you this. Maids are underpaid if we are honest.

"Underpaid" is relative. They came on their own free will. At worst i will call it exploitation. At best, employment opportunity.

it is naive to think richie tulan to earn more due to higher taxes [laugh]

i say it again, rich will earn even more to compensate higher taxes. ceo and top management will just raise their bonuses.

rich become richer (100%) ... poor become poorer (50-50) because rich already got the oyster on their hand

ie: if a porky/maserati cost 2x more they will just has to get more bonuses or sell their property 50% more expensive

Tax more on the rich has side effects.

What if the rich tu lan because they feel, " hey, I work so hard to earn a lot $, and a lot of $ goes to taxes and they still want to tax more?? " Than those rich will not have the incentives to want to earn more $ and feel no point. Life already so stressful and even they earn $ also stress being having very high tax. Maybe some will think of early retirement and less hassle.

Those rich will have enough $ to retire anyway, so why they still bother to earn more $ ?? By making them tu lan = they will be less motivated to continue to earn more $ and retire and downgrade to shake leg better.

it is naive to think richie tulan to earn more due to higher taxes

Indeed. If high taxes make people lazy, how did Nokia and Ikea make it out of Finland and Sweden? And then think about all the German companies. Who wants to argue Germany, Finland or Sweden has lower taxes than Singapore? Germans, Finns, Swedes are lazy?

OTOH, tax havens like Cayman Islands, Bermuda, BVI... they are hardly known for hardworking people, are they?

It's a tragedy of modern democracy that the less well off masses can be easily manipulated to believe "facts" that are obviously untrue and vote against their self interest.

Just like the issue with importing foreigners.

If we are short of babies today, we need to import babies today or adults 20 years later, not full grown adults now.

If we need to import full grown adults today, it's because we were short of babies over 20 years ago, when Singaporeans obeyed govt orders for population control. That's something that will not change for the next 20 years even if Singaporeans obey the govt again and have a baby boom now.

The govt should admit full responsibility and apologise, not shift blame to an obedient people, or sillier still, use the low birthrate TODAY as an excuse to import full grown adults TODAY. And yet people buy it rather than calling bull-s--t.

Same issue with taxes. The government has been cutting income tax for many years, and the main beneficiaries are the high income, and shifting the tax load to GST... Rich people can fly overseas for their shopping sprees GST-free, poor people stuck here and pay GST for everything we consume.

And yet the govt can still call this shift a "caring" move for the poor, and worse yet, there are people who actually buy it.

Edited by Jim

can someone with a PHD in economics, explain why:

in the past Singapore had a weaker currency, but able to build this and do that without GST and increase taxes?

but now with a stronger currency we have to raise taxes and GST to afford the same stuff? shouldn't our purchasing power improve with a stronger currency?

Plus Singapore now has a larger population to tax, 5M and rising?

maybe, something somewhere within our gov is a black hole.http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2681948&st=0&gopid=4581239

bopian lah... inflation...

Many of us are already paying much higher indirect taxes through sky-high import duties for cars, even higher COE, petrol tax etc. Even though the income tax % is generally lower than other developed countries, the total tax (direct and indirect) we are paying to the govt could far exceed our contemporaries elsewhere. Not to mention, most of those countries 'give back' to the citizens thru substantial healthcare/education & social welfare subsidies.

Of course, the govt never put a gun to my head and force me to buy a car, just like i'm not forced to eat out and pay GST. Yes, we can all take public transport to work and stay home during the weekends. That way we avoid the high tax incidences. I'm fine with that, as long as the govt doesn't pretend that its people are living quality lives in a 'low-tax, strong social safety net' environment...not to even mention 'swiss SOL'.

think u get TS message wrongly.... he is refering to more tax to the rich. Not average Joe like us.

Indeed. If high taxes make people lazy, how did Nokia and Ikea make it out of Finland and Sweden? And then think about all the German companies. Who wants to argue Germany, Finland or Sweden has lower taxes than Singapore? Germans, Finns, Swedes are lazy?

OTOH, tax havens like Cayman Islands, Bermuda, BVI... they are hardly known for hardworking people, are they?

It's a tragedy of modern democracy that the less well off masses can be easily manipulated to believe "facts" that are obviously untrue and vote against their self interest.

Just like the issue with importing foreigners.

If we are short of babies today, we need to import babies today or adults 20 years later, not full grown adults now.

If we need to import full grown adults today, it's because we were short of babies over 20 years ago, when Singaporeans obeyed govt orders for population control. That's something that will not change for the next 20 years even if Singaporeans obey the govt again and have a baby boom now.

The govt should admit full responsibility and apologise, not shift blame to an obedient people, or sillier still, use the low birthrate TODAY as an excuse to import full grown adults TODAY. And yet people buy it rather than calling bull-s--t.

Same issue with taxes. The government has been cutting income tax for many years, and the main beneficiaries are the high income, and shifting the tax load to GST... Rich people can fly overseas for their shopping sprees GST-free, poor people stuck here and pay GST for everything we consume.

And yet the govt can still call this shift a "caring" move for the poor, and worse yet, there are people who actually buy it.

facebook-like.png

no increase then how to pay for better bicycle and chair ?? [confused] [confused] then teacher pay also suddenly raised ....maybe the problem is that they realise quality is going down...so need inject more money to get better quality.... [laugh] [laugh]

We got hundreds of billions of reserves ..... What are they for? Seed money for GIC/temasek to gamble in the intl stock market?

Singaporeans already heavily taxed by the high property / land prices, Coe, erp, gst, stamp duties, rising cost of living.

Still wanna increase tax ah.

Teachers pay just increase.. Civil servants pay also increase last year and army pay also increase.

All paid by tax payer to Buy Brompton bikes, Herman miller chairs

Wow,now this thread turn into political or gov bashing thread?

Not surprising as the title of this thread has the word "taxes" inside it so it is bashing.