Mickey Mouse Tio Cap - Shoebox units relooked

Mustank

A lot of people believe in free market forces but lack the insight of how to use regulations to control what is a force of nature. It's like trying to control the course of a river through a populated area. That's what regulators must do.

Letting the river run at random is not always the desired outcome.

In general, I approve of the policy though the other issues must be addressed.

Your post is very general. What insights do you think people lack? What issues do you think must be addressed? Cannot just sweep things in general and say you approve lah. Its like writing I love that chick in general but I don't know exactly what I love about here. Maybe her butt. Maybe her legs. Maybe her boobs?

exactly (and i think its a decent policy as well) ... letting the market dictate prices would hurt genuine buyers even more, since the richer guys with money would just gobble everything up. we're a nation of property owners, not renters ... hopefully it stays that way ...

Why can't the richer guys gobble everything up? They can because they are rich.

Your analogy is like saying Melvin should control prices of his Lambo's' so that other poorer people get a chance to buy. They're genuine car buyers also what

Edited by Porker

The parking lot will be inside the condo compound, not eating into the space outside the road.

Also, can anyone gurantee that the total occupants in 56 large units will always be less than 100 shoeboxes? That 56 large units may own 2 cars each! The shoeboxes may not even have cars since most could be tenants.

Its not about parking outside the road or in the condo lah. Its about road width not matching up to the population density controlled by plot ratio.

Telok Kurau is historically a low density zone aka landed housing zone. They increase plot ratio to 1.8 and height control to 5 storeys so everyone starts maximizing lor. Road width forgot to take into account so now congestion problem :D

In short everything up lah ! These people cant buy shoebox , will turn to HDB resales [laugh]

HDB sellers happy with this shoebox clampdown if that is the case! Huat ah!

Current shoebox owners not worried that more shoebox supply and push down prices. Huat ah!

hmm, so maybe the unintended purpose is to property price hike again? Khaw solves one problem and creates another?

not apprentice continuing the work of the previous sith?

just look at the indices for HDB and private property. Same same.

those who bought mickey mouse units recently, screwed.

why screwed? Supply capped. Owners and developers still holding onto mm units boom town now.

Developers who want to bid for land thinking they can build more MMs than the new regulation are scratching heads.

Most likely they cant buy hdb so they turn to shoebox units for investment or own stay...for eg. foreigners or existing hdb owners....

those who bought mickey mouse units recently, screwed.

wrong...those who just bought shoeboxes should be rejoicing!

It's a simple demand and supply economics. Demand will always be strong for shoeboxes but now you have a supply delay.

Just think about this...we wanted to have 5-6 million population including foreigners. There will be only around 11 thousand shoeboxes by 2015. Now assuming a conservative 30% of that 5 million population are retirees, singles, couples who have 1 or no kids, and expats, you come to a number of around 1.5 million people. Let's say 10% of this amount of people is looking for shoeboxes, that's already 150,000 people. The demand far outstripped the supply.

Edited by Icedbs

It's a simple demand and supply economics. Demand will always be strong for shoeboxes but now you have a supply delay.

Just think about this...we wanted to have 5-6 million population including foreigners. There will be only around 11 thousand shoeboxes by 2015. Now assuming a conservative 30% of that 5 million population are retirees, singles, couples who have 1 or no kids, and expats, you come to a number of around 1.5 million people. Let's say 10% of this amount of people is looking for shoeboxes, that's already 150,000 people. The demand far outstripped the supply.

They only Cap the unit in specific areas right? SO areas like Geylang, tanjong rhu, balestier will continue to flourish with shoebox

khaw should just hands off. build more bto and ec. focus on public housing supply.

don't interfere in private property market directly and let market forces sort things out. those who get burnt in this round, learn from it like those who bought before 1997 crash.

They only Cap the unit in specific areas right? SO areas like Geylang, tanjong rhu, balestier will continue to flourish with shoebox

yah, i think ccr and rcr still got shoebox. ocr game over. theoretically, current shoebox owners in suburbs relieved that no more supply, while those in central would face more supply as developers would displace supply there.

The good news there are still leftover shoeboxes at reasonable prices. Grab them before its gone.