Blitz nets 16 motorists suspected of drink driving

Darthrevan

drinkops1e.jpg

In a major anti-drink driving blitz on Thursday morning, police arrested 16 motorists aged between 24 and 55.

The operations saw police conduct breathalyser tests at Clemenceau Avenue, Crawford Street, Jalan Toa Payoh and Kallang Road.

14 men and two women had flunked the test, with the most egregious offender recording a test result of 54 microgrammes of alcohol per 100 millilitres of breath. The legal limit is 35 microgrammes of alcohol per 100 millilitres of breath.

Drink drivers that are convicted are disqualified from driving for at least 12 months, and will have to retake the theory and practical driving tests in order to obtain their driving licences again.

Source: http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...riving-20120906

Yes ahhh!!

The only time I drank (a small glass of beer) just before I drove home, I already felt very groggy and my eyes closed for a few seconds liao. Thankfully all I received was bua-ing the kerb and damaging my rims, and I already felt very guilty about it liao.

Can't imagine how those who always drink alot then still drive make it home safely, be it for themselves or others (safety).

Edited by Hotshot85

Yes ahhh!!

The only time I drank (a small glass of beer) just before I drove home, I already felt very groggy and my eyes closed for a few seconds liao. Thankfully all I received was bua-ing the kerb and damaging my rims, and I already felt very guilty about it liao.

Can't imagine how those who always drink alot then still drive make it home safely, be it for themselves or others (safety).

Looks like you can't hold your alcohol well.

Anyway I think drinking is stupid.

Pay so much to get intoxicated..not worth it in Singapore.

In Australia, alcohol is cheaper than water. LOL!

Yes ahhh!!

I am against drink driving but to say you felt groggy after small glass of beer is a bit too much.

Perhaps your first time drinking :D

But your case certainly highlights how dangerous it can be if someone drinks and drives.

Any lapse of concentration at high speed can be deadly for you and other innocent drivers.

If you end up drinking..take a taxi home.

Not good enough... I support the prc way, caught drink driving?, go in sit 2 weeks, come out then talk about fine and license stuff.... [:p]

Go in sit two weeks still hav to spend our taxpayer $ leh...just give rotan treatment so they will be scar for life

Different people have different level of resistance to Alcohol.

It is quite unfair and unjust to say a person is not in a good condition to drive if he has over 35 mg of alcohol per 100 ml of breath.

It is also unfair to say a person is in a good condition to drive if the alcohol level in this breath is below the legal limit.

I had some friends who become so drunk and are unable to walk straight after drinking only a can of beer or a glass of whiskey-soda.

Yes ahhh!!

so easy drunk? if you girl confirmed kena piaked left right centre [laugh]

Edited by Little_prince

Even though different people have different limits, it's a fact that even a small bit impairs your senses, reaction time and judgement. You don't see fighter pilots and F1 drivers drink before they work right? There should be zero tolerance for alcohol for people behind the wheel.