Ultra High Performance vs High Performance

Panerex77

general questions.

What's the difference between the 2 types?

UHP wears off faster, less comfortable, nosier BUT better grip of the road and accelerate faster?

thanks

Uhp

ku31

Ps3

Csc3

Dz101

S1 EVO

Etc..

They usually last 40k km or more.

High performance? Don't waste time on them lah

B&b car just use uhp.

Performance car use extreme performance.

Uhp

ku31

Ps3

Csc3

Dz101

S1 EVO

Etc..

They usually last 40k km or more.

High performance? Don't waste time on them lah

B&b car just use uhp.

Performance car use extreme performance.

These are NOT UHP,the real UHP are Michelin Pilot super sports,Bridgestone RE-11,Conti CSC5P...Advan AD-08..& a few more...

Since u day day those not uhp, then how to define uhp? Ur words and opinion?...Those brand selling snake oil ? False naming?...

Can refer to tirerack.com on how they classify.

The UHPs we know are called Max Performance, while the class above is called Extreme Performance.

Quite confusing. But I just know for tracking, the Extreme are the ones to go with while the Max's are more than enough for spirited street driving.

At the end of the day, we usually group them by wear rate and design. No matter how they classify, their design will show what they are really built for - comfort vs grip.

What about hankook rs3 or dunlop z1 str where they fall onto

Aiyoh, why his this reply I can understand but kena banned already.. [laugh]

Think the mods suspected his account was hacked since he was suddenly coherent [laugh]

can never understand UHP and HP..

really got different meh..

although myself is using UHP.. probably the word Ultra, put me in assuring state [laugh]

My 2 cents.

High Performance are street sports. That is good enough for street use.

Ultra High Performance is track tyres.

My example.

RE050 is a high performance tyre (replaced by S001)

RE001 is a ultra high performance (Now is RE002)

Ultra high performance is grip above all other consideration. Wear rate, comfort etc can take a back seat.

High Performance are those tyre that give above average grip while taking into consideration of noise, wear rate, comfort etc...these are meant for road cars that is driven on the road everyday. More applicable to road than track. Can track...but grip will be lower than UHP.

No point of buying a UHP tyre for street use...unless one intends to drive like a maniac. Most street tyres have enough performance not to get you into trouble.

Do not confuse with semi slicks...those are holy grail of grip...and noise is really damn jialat to drive on a daily basis. (not to mention when it wet...its super hairy to drive on semi slicks)

So conclusion, for normal B&B cars, it is good to go with UHP, instead of HP, if both prices ard the same range?

Thanks

If prices about the same, get the UHP ones. I wont say for B&B cars only in fact it applies to all. What you want is safety - grip/traction.

If you are concern about wear rate den I suggest looking at those with low rolling resistance.

OT I'm not sure whether are there any MIC UHP tires in the market. I would advise to stay away from those.

My 2 cents.

My example.

Ultra high performance is grip above all other consideration. Wear rate, comfort etc can take a back seat.

High Performance are those tyre that give above average grip while taking into consideration of noise, wear rate, comfort etc...these are meant for road cars that is driven on the road everyday. More applicable to road than track. Can track...but grip will be lower than UHP.

No point of buying a UHP tyre for street use...unless one intends to drive like a maniac. Most street tyres have enough performance not to get you into trouble.

Do not confuse with semi slicks...those are holy grail of grip...and noise is really damn jialat to drive on a daily basis. (not to mention when it wet...its super hairy to drive on semi slicks)

For Bridgestone, on their website, S001 is on the same level as RE002 in terms of "sporty" but higher in terms of "Prestige" - whatever that means. But for "sporty" I would read it to be handling and grip.

For RE002, my personal take is it is not really meant for track as the sidewall is soft, compared to S001 which is harder.

RE002 would be more of a PS3 which is still a sport/comfort.

RE-11 will be more of a track tyre but a bit overkill for street driving, like Michellin's PSS.

Just my 2cents.

those u talking about = extreme performance , a range higher than UHP.

all these stupid name r making people confuse.

What about hankook rs3 or dunlop z1 str where they fall onto

rs3 & z1 star r top of the range, extreme performance.

17" 225/45/17 for rs3 cost 240-250 z1 star ard 280-300

My 2 cents.

My example.

uhp not track tyres lah.

re050 re001 is uhp , but they r not grip above all, they do well in wet n dry & hv nice mileage. 40k km no problem.

the highest range for street legal tyres r extreme performace tyres

re11

ad08

z1 star

ku 36

rs3

federal rsr

Wah, can argue until cow come home. Anyway just to highlight there is still another level above Michelin PSS which is the Cup Sport.

Anyway i believe for any brand (especially the major brands), there is more than one UHP. UHP is not reserved for only their top tier tyre. In other words, among the UHPs there is higher UHPs as well. Example is michelin, from PS3 is already consider UHP, just that PSS and PSC is even "higher" or soem may say have different characteristics (for eg, some say PS3 is *slightly* better than PSS in the wet whereas PSS is sginificantly better in the dry hence overall PSS still better cos the gain in dry is more than the loss in wet). So i guess it comes down to application - what the driver is using and looking for.