Changi Airport - World Best

Maxus-MIFA9

Reminds me of SMRT during Saw time..... loads of resources and time spent on renting MRT station retail spaces to impressive bottom line but fail big time in track and train maintenance until the crap hits the fan recently.

i really think its stupid of the relevant authorities to spend so much money on the jewel@changi and the terminals just on making it look nice.

come on lah, travelers are just going to whisk through the airport to catch their flights ... how much time will they want to spend in the airport to ogle at the art or designer pieces at the airport ?

as for locals, yes, it might be an "attraction" for a while ... but make the prices of things there more affordable and it will be a regular hangout for everyone. but as prices at the food courts show, its not really that attractive also.

scale down abit on the money for the white elephants and use it for more purposeful development of the airport and its facilities and make it more economical and practical for us and the visitors instead - afterall, an airport is still an airport.

Reminds me of SMRT during Saw time..... loads of resources and time spent on renting MRT station retail spaces to impressive bottom line but fail big time in track and train maintenance until the crap hits the fan recently.

From Saw time until only recently they start to do something about the track and train maintenance crap! They really cannot make it.

I still dont understand why is there a need to build the jewel?

The existing shops and facilities in all the current terminals no good meh?

I can reasonably understand why they want to somewhat change Changi Airport into a aviation lifestyle hub. I think it is not unreasonable that Singapore would like to promote Changi Airport as more than a place to embark and disembark place. The Jewel will also present itself as an additional revenue generator with all the shop leases etc. All of these, will help us maintain Changi Airport as the best airport in the world, a n achievement that even oil-rich Saudi states can't live up to. Up until this point, I have no objection as a commoner.

What I do take issue is, why are the commoners asked to pay for it? And it appears that the travelers does not have a choice and being forced down our throats? Above that, why did CAG planned for a development it can't afford to pay fully for and had to resort to asking money from travelers through additional fees? Is this the precedent that whenever such an institution can't afford to pay for its own plans, they will just reach out their hands and ask for money from the travelers freely? When CAG makes profit, do the money contributors get a share? This is what makes the entire money-sourcing stinks to the core. Even when someone begs for money, I still have a say if I wanna give. For CAG, I don't even have a choice.

There is a complete lack of transparency regarding the development and nobody in Parliament is discussing it. Instead, they spend days over a so-called committee on online fake news with obvious hidden agenda.

I can reasonably understand why they want to somewhat change Changi Airport into a aviation lifestyle hub. I think it is not unreasonable that Singapore would like to promote Changi Airport as more than a place to embark and disembark place. The Jewel will also present itself as an additional revenue generator with all the shop leases etc. All of these, will help us maintain Changi Airport as the best airport in the world, a n achievement that even oil-rich Saudi states can't live up to. Up until this point, I have no objection as a commoner.

What I do take issue is, why are the commoners asked to pay for it? And it appears that the travelers does not have a choice and being forced down our throats? Above that, why did CAG planned for a development it can't afford to pay fully for and had to resort to asking money from travelers through additional fees? Is this the precedent that whenever such an institution can't afford to pay for its own plans, they will just reach out their hands and ask for money from the travelers freely? When CAG makes profit, do the money contributors get a share? This is what makes the entire money-sourcing stinks to the core. Even when someone begs for money, I still have a say if I wanna give. For CAG, I don't even have a choice.

There is a complete lack of transparency regarding the development and nobody in Parliament is discussing it. Instead, they spend days over a so-called committee on online fake news with obvious hidden agenda.

like what DR M says :

CnPB4BpUIAAZrw1.jpg

like what DR M says :

CnPB4BpUIAAZrw1.jpg

Rosmah's got 284 bags but not enough to fill up those cash they have  [laugh]

The price tag is simply too ridiculous.

The whole structure is made of titanium?

They can choose to build one using lesser funds but seems they prefer to splurge and ask passengers for the money.

For T5, I believe a big part of the cost is for the reclamation.

But agreed with most, why spend so much?

No other more economical or cost efficient way to increase our airport’s capacity?

I have no idea what the money was spent on, man. The manner the topic was raised with a generic media reply, I get the impression that this is something they want to avoid discussing in details at any cost.

I only know The Jewel was won by Woh Hup + Obayashi.... as for T5 tender launched last year March, I didn't really follow closely to know who tendered and to what extend and the expenses. As we all know, public numbers are often inaccurate.

As for T4, most of my peers who do alot of business travels all shared with me, they find T4 boring and emotionless. I traveled through T4 just 2 weeks ago, I feel the same - just another terminal.

No other more economical or cost efficient way to increase our airportâs capacity?

Worse is they spend so much money building T4.

It's really unnecessary since the new and bigger T5 can easily cover the capacity for T4.

Why do we need to have the best airport in the world?

so that passengers and airlines will still want to fly through SG instead of nearby regional airports.

No other more economical or cost efficient way to increase our airportâs capacity?

reclamation cost should have been separately covered by garment much earlier so cost should only include soil improvement works and infrastructure.

Why do we need to have the best airport in the world?

we can have the best airport - in term of functionality .... but we do not need the most beautiful or artistic airport .... which nobody actually stops to stare and appreciate.

Edited by Ysc3

reclamation cost should have been separately covered by garment much earlier so cost should only include soil improvement works and infrastructure.

Oh, ok.

Thanks for the clarification.

we can have the best airport - in term of functionality .... but we do not need the most beautiful or artistic airport .... which nobody actually stops to stare and appreciate.

Not really true la.

Our Changi airport control tower is an icon to Singapore leh. 

img0016.jpg

Aiya, missed the 70s and 80s again.

kfly8fowy9gz.jpg

so that passengers and airlines will still want to fly through SG instead of nearby regional airports.

Okay, so basically more passengers?

Why? Will it cover the construction cost? Who will earn this money? Why should current flyers pay for future flyers?

I still dont understand why is there a need to build the jewel?

The existing shops and facilities in all the current terminals no good meh?

If jewel is built with a casino inside, i am sure it will be first in Asia and will attract more revenue and potential tourists to reschedule their flights lol

It is just me....I think the T3 ceiling design sucks ....looks like unwanted rectangular doors hung up the ceiling.

p_changi_bridge.jpg