Interesting topic about Windows (not MS).

Kiadaw

I have an interesting discussion on another internet forum with a friends. It was a 3D design forum, & he commented why another person (from Hong Kong) was making a window (3D) that open outwards.

He (Swiss) said he never seen a window that open outwards & comment that even virtual items should follow real world logic. I told him that in Hong Kong, its very populated, & people live in small Apartments (not unlike Singapore). Opening the windows inwards will eat up the already limited space, which is a possiblity why windows are open outwards..

Anyway, we manage to find pictures of windows opening outwards (amazing isn't it!), but he said, oh, but that's not the NORM. I proceed to tell him, that in Singapore, windows normally open outwards or with a slider, so windows opening inwards is not a worldwide norm.

Now comes the interesting part....

He said he was curious how many people in Singapore fall out of the windows in the morning! Like a true blue Singaporean, I proceed to provide a picture of a typical HDB window & said, its a requirement to have metal frame on window frame (to prevent what he said, fall out of windows), but people DO FALL out of windows every now & then from cleaning the windows, as the outerside of our sliding windows or outwards opening windows can only be reach......from the outside!

Never in my life have it cross my mind that people falling from window to clean windows is just fundamentally how the windows is open! I know someone may say if they (mainly maids these days) are more careful, or educated, this will not happen, but it doesn't change the fact that the design give the issue in the first place.

Would you guys have trade a little space, to have the windows open inwards, for a little safety, not just cleaning windows, but also preventing falling over an open window (ok, normally not an issue as we have metal frame).

My guess is most people will rather have the extra space, but it would be interesting to hear your views or have how the window is open & its potential problem cross your mind.

Edited by Kiadaw

This has been brought up before, and people (including yours truly) have suggested online that HDB make windows that open inward. But what to do, foreign life is cheap here. Heck, even Singaporean life is valued relatively cheaply, depending on the circumstances.

And there's no reason it has to rob a lot of interior space. If one designs the window such that the panes fold back almost all the way (and don't jut out so much), the space taken up is minimal.

With better design ideas and technologies, theses falls can be avoided, questions is to include such design in the upgrading for ALL hdb flat here will probably take 10 years :D

Also half of the falls likely due to the hanging of tae kor outside the unit, maid who a not familiar with the handling highly likely to fall, I have to hang cloth many time in a week but still having phobia and extremely caution when doing so.

Edited by Jman888

It doesn't take much brainpower or planning to have windows that can open both ways. But interesting perspective that you have and if I remember it when I renovate my home I'll ask the window contractor about it.

This will also solve the problems of windows falling down onto the ground below, hence the need to change the nuts/screws a few years back.

That was I was thinking too, I think opening outward is just the most convenient design. For example my laundry area has about 6 push outward window, if it was pull inward design I don't think can sun the laundry out.

Didn't cross my mind too. Would prevent maid falling out. But is it the norm in other countries to open inwards? I don't recall it when I was in those ang mo countries many years back.

Nowadays have windows design that can open inwards and outwards lao hor.

An example I found from internet, still not very common, but maybe in future more of such both directions opening maybe more commonly used.

post-14834-1348102785.gif

Edited by Yewheng

whatever it is, it will take ages for HDB to adopt anything.

Many things are just common sense and we have the technology and material. But for some reasons, HDB takes forever to adopt it. Because of costs ?

-

whatever it is, it will take ages for HDB to adopt anything.

Many things are just common sense and we have the technology and material. But for some reasons, HDB takes forever to adopt it. Because of costs?

-

Maybe because of red-tape.

First they need to form a committee to look into the feasibility. Committee has to write a report with the recommendation.

Then another committee has to be formed to look into the costs of implementation, then write a report.

Yet another committee needs to be formed to evaluate the compliance with building standards and safety standards.

Finally another committee has to consolidate all the reports and write a final recommendation report.

By the time the final recommendation is made, the building and safety standards have been updated, and the whole study has to be restarted.

*Note:

The above is purely a figment of my imagination and may not be true of what is happening. Please do not sue me. [laugh]

Edited by Alpha78

Windows opening outwards has more advantage than opening inwards if you disregard the cleaning part. Firstly is ergonomics, it is always easier to push than to pull. Second, is space.With windows opening outwards, you can have more space to place your things behind the window. The last i can think of is safety. There will be sharp corners of the window frame inside the house if windows are open inwards and kids may run into them.

I feel that windows opening suits the lifestyle here more. The same for doors opening outwards in Japan apartments.

My take is,

angmor country cold mostly... can afford to keep window closed and house is still cool. house also bigger so not issues with space.

asian countries. hot need to open window more. if combine with lack of space, a inward opening windows will drive ppl nuts as everytime need to avoid windows when walking

I lived in ang moh country for a few years - having windows opening inwards is more to do with the weather.

Imagine it's winter and you need to open the window for a brief moment as it's snowing or raining outside - but the window only opens outwards - you will get a generous smattering or wettering on you - not fun if the temperature is below 0!

Also - for those snowbound countries - especially basement windows - quite often the snow will cover up your entire basement - and if the window were to open outwards - it would be impossible to open!

Windows opening outwards has more advantage than opening inwards if you disregard the cleaning part. Firstly is ergonomics, it is always easier to push than to pull. Second, is space.With windows opening outwards, you can have more space to place your things behind the window. The last i can think of is safety. There will be sharp corners of the window frame inside the house if windows are open inwards and kids may run into them.

I feel that windows opening suits the lifestyle here more. The same for doors opening outwards in Japan apartments.

The argument is not to impose windows must be open inwards

The argument is to have the windows to be able to open both ways, so that the home owners have the choice of either opening outwards or inwards.

It's such a simple mechanism to make.....

I think there are more considerations than just convenience and safety. If windows open inwards, how to fix the window grills? Fix outside? Will it also drop off one day?

The argument is not to impose windows must be open inwards

The argument is to have the windows to be able to open both ways, so that the home owners have the choice of either opening outwards or inwards.

It's such a simple mechanism to make.....

Mechanically I think it can be done. But what about water seepage? If you look at our sliding or casement windows, there is a kerb on the inside that prevents water from seeping in. Without this, even the best fit window will start seeping water after years of usage.