Medical leave issues

Kjleck

Honor system for medical leave. Would this work here?

Honour sick leave system taking off among start-ups; not suitable for all companies say experts

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/honour-sick-leave-system-taking-off-among-start-ups-not-suitable-8784950

Won't work here. So many postings (coe thread) in mcf during office hours do you reckon they can fall under the honour sick leave? Edited by Kopites

agree that start up or small headcount company easy to implement. Other labour intensive like manufacturing and retail quite difficult.

The young ones will fully utilise the annual medical leave quota/entitlement, while those above the hill >45 YO will not take a single day off even if they need to. [laugh]

Strange as it may sound. Shouldn't the young ones be fitter and healthier statistically? So, by right the young ones should have no usage or little usage of medical leave right? By left, it's the reverse wor.

Edited by Kangadrool

Not true

In civil svc among higher rung officers its implemented

Trust is impt nowadays

Not true

Trust is impt nowadays

I've ever picked up some riders along on my way to work, and the conversation with them unravelled a cold hard truth behind the 14days Medical leave system which is often abused. Those pple I talked to actually told me that they max. out their medical leave every year because they "feel" like they deserve the 14days and MC is their entitlement, so why not? It came as a shock to me that these millennials actually have this kinda mentality. Btw, those I spoke to are from the banking sector.

True, many people include 14 days of MC as their entitlement and part of the annual leave which they must take, if not they would feel wasted and whether or not they are sick or not. The Honor system might not work here if company think that MC is not part of the entitlement and do not like their employees to maximise their MC every year. Unless company is ok with employees maximise their MC, then no different which MC system they use liao.

Not true

Trust is impt nowadays

GP's income would be badly affected.

Less clinic

less clinic assistant

less jobs 

unemployment rate will go up.

How can you suggest this on May day?!

I observed most working environment that creates unhappiness and less caring of welfare

usually report for medical leave to avoid and be free from pressure.

This is the wtf kid mentality these workers hv lo

I never taken any medical leave in the last 20 yrs now

If I ever take leave, will be death leave... only thing howvto submit my death cert ha?

Haaaaaa

GP's income would be badly affected.

Less clinic

less clinic assistant

less jobs

unemployment rate will go up.

How can you suggest this on May day?!

Eh I give ppl like @vratenza chance to rest le

I observed most working environment that creates unhappiness and less caring of welfare

Yup!

If someone takes too much mc, clearly a morale issue

Yup!

If someone takes too much mc, clearly a morale issue

If someone takes too much MC, not say really is morale issue la. Some people really genuinely is sick. But even the person is really sick, but from the prospective of employer, they would not like it de and might indirectly penalise the person from taking too much MC.

If I ever take leave, will be death leave... only thing howvto submit my death cert ha?

Lol, yah lor.. Now you only collect death leave from those already at LCK cemetry right? No need to worry about yourself submitting la.. Maybe Bro Tianmo be your successor in years to come. Wahahahah

its not just the millennials... i know of someone who maxed out her MC.. her childcare.. her HOSPITALIZATION leave... her family days..  for the past 5 years...  and yes.. she is in the banking sector... 40ish lady... 

Lol, yah lor.. Now you only collect death leave from those already at LCK cemetry right? No need to worry about yourself submitting la.. Maybe Bro Tianmo be your successor in years to come. Wahahahah

choi! touchwood la... 

really?? no leave from MCF definitely... but... no medical leave?  [rolleyes]

you all dun be so bad can? i also try to max out my mc cos my boss give me very little leave, he allow me to claim mc as leave   [smallcry]  [smallcry]

its not just the millennials... i know of someone who maxed out her MC.. her childcare.. her HOSPITALIZATION leave... her family days..  for the past 5 years...  and yes.. she is in the banking sector... 40ish lady... 

choi! touchwood la... 

really?? no leave from MCF definitely... but... no medical leave?  [rolleyes]

Chill Chill.. Just joking bro.. No hard feelings.. 

Just 1 question, how did that lady use her Hospitalization leave for 5 years? Got so many problems and conditions for her to Chao Geng meh??

Maybe same as me, multiple illnesses and seeing different specialist.

I almost max out my entitled 14 days medical leave every year. Last year used 12 days. Esp when kena vertigo, took me 3-4 days to recover.

multitude of reasons apparently...  funny thing is.. work attitude decent...  just frequently not around...   

true story... if got chance to meet.. can tell u more.. lol