PML Special offer in Straits Times

Sdf4786k

Saw the ad for BMW today. Some as high as 72 K. Anyone here things the 1 series is a good time to buy now that the recession is coming. COE should drop.

ah? shouldn't you wait even longer, since recession is coming, and price/coe is expected to drop?

buy leow all start to drop wouldn't you squeeze balls?

Those type of discounts come with a special tag leh - high finance, high interest rate etc. Just check and buy!

what makes u think COE is linked to recession? Prices of property and cars in sinkieland are indirectly set by PAP no matter what the propaganda media tells us....even if the world economy slows the prices of property and cars will remain high...only our salaries will drop...

if there is a recession, more people will just sell away their car. and more and more Cars lying around at car mart....

should be a good time to buy over those recently out new cars...confirm they are some lying around at auction.

dont be lame. No demand price will drop. Even federal reserve cant do anything.

will hdb drop to $200k? i don't think so leh ... even 2 lehman collapse

yes, govt cannot control the effect of world economy ...

but there is one thing govt can control in spore ... it's called QUOTA. close the tap ... price will skyrocketed

if there is a recession, more people will just sell away their car. and more and more Cars lying around at car mart....

should be a good time to buy over those recently out new cars...confirm they are some lying around at auction.

yes.. am waiting for it... tempted to get the recently launched cgi 7gtronic.. well..not that the kompressor is no good..just that a bit sian feeling when the new fl with new engine come out just 4 months after i bought the car...

anyway, still can tahan a some years till this happens..

Yes the gov controls the quota but in economy downturn, and nobody can afford new cars, does the quota matters much if there is no demand?

but there is one thing govt can control in spore ... it's called QUOTA. close the tap ... price will skyrocketed

yup. last recession I picked up a 1yr+ old car at half the price from brand new (over 200k)

damn shiok

actually, what NightWind said is not totally wrong, if you refer to the COE historical price vs economy crises. U will realise that economy have limited impact towards COE pricing compare to property or share market.

Dont ask me why, I know it doesnt make sense but thats what the statistic shows...

At last someone here has some intellect....good for you....and its a good example too...

The COE price here is largely supply driven because WE DO NOT HAVE A PERFECTLY COMPETITIVE MARKET. The govt controls the quotas. The peaks and troughs of the COEs are largely dictated by when the next batch of huge quotas are available. And the next huge supply is some where in 2014-2015.

Of cause there maybe some helpless deluded folks out there who think otherwise and expect COE to fall to $10-20k region in a recession...well they can dream on....no need to spoil their dream.

Few people realise that our COE situation is UNIQUELY SINGAPOREAN, and that the market for COE is actually a closed and controlled market. If there is indeed a fall in COE price that matches a recession, this is purely coincidental. You cant just link the two and conclude the recession causes the COE...

A recession means fewer people buy cars and thats true. It also means fewer people scrap cars and so on the supply side there is no huge increase. So the net effect is we are back to square one.

The PAP likes the COE because it not only generates cash for them but also allows them with some degree of certainty to determine/predict when the next peak and trough of COE prices occur so they can use it to their advantage in policy formulation to squeeze more cash from road users.....

actually, what NightWind said is not totally wrong, if you refer to the COE historical price vs economy crises. U will realise that economy have limited impact towards COE pricing compare to property or share market.

Dont ask me why, I know it doesnt make sense but thats what the statistic shows...

the low coe in 2009 is "largely" due to oversupply of coe (wrong projection) than caused by lehman collapsed

even greek collapsed now, as long as the supply of coe is "controlled", the richies in spore will still buy coe at 100,000 if there is only 1000 coes in 1 year

EXACTLY....and thats a good analogy that u gave....i guess the thinkers amongst us are not part of the 60% voting majority who still live in falala fantasy island (or should I say PAP island)....

the low coe in 2009 is "largely" due to oversupply of coe (wrong projection) than caused by lehman collapsed

even greek collapsed now, as long as the supply of coe is "controlled", the richies in spore will still buy coe at 100,000 if there is only 1000 coes in 1 year