SingTel Signed Next 3 Seasons BPL Broadcast Rights

Picnic06-Biante15

FRom CNA : SingTel secures BPL broadcasts rights for 3 more seasons

Posted: 10 October 2012 2252 hrs

SINGAPORE: SingTel on Wednesday announced that it has secured the broadcast rights to all 380 Barclays Premier League (BPL) matches for the next three seasons commencing August next year.

These rights were acquired on a non-exclusive basis, meaning that SingTel is not obliged to share the content with their competitors.

Mr Allen Lew, SingTel's country chief officer (Singapore) and CEO of Group Digital L!fe, said: "We are delighted to bring all the BPL matches 'live' to Singapore for another three seasons.

"Along with our recent acquisition of the rights to the UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, FA Cup, Serie A, Ligue 1 and other prominent football tournaments, fans can be assured of SingTel's strong commitment to deliver the most comprehensive football experience on mio TV, the home of football."

The matches will continue to be available online on miostadium.com and on mobile via SingTel's BPL application.

Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore said: "mio Stadium has provided Singapore fans with great local programming and coverage of the Barclays Premier League action in a comprehensive and innovative manner. We are pleased to be continuing our partnership with SingTel for another three seasons."

In response to SingTel's announcement, StarHub issued a statement saying: "We are surprised that FA Premier League (FAPL) did not conduct a tender for Singapore, departing from all past practice. We will be seeking clarification from FAPL before deciding on our next course of action. We will be keen to acquire the BPL only if the price is right."

Well............. have to stick with SingTel for the next 4 years.... -_-

I subscribe MIO TV only for BPL but it seems getting better deal now with Champion League, Europa Cup, La Liga, Serie A and French Ligue 1 thrown in starting this year ... [bounce2]

Saturday evening won't be the same anymore.... [bounce1]

Glue to TV from 6.30pm onwards with all the football matches from European countries... [:)]

after that ...what? :blink:

I subscribe MIO TV only for BPL but it seems getting better deal now with Champion League, Europa Cup, La Liga, Serie A and French Ligue 1 thrown in starting this year ... [bounce2]

No. SH can bid for the rights as well. But they haven't done so.

FRom CNA : SingTel secures BPL broadcasts rights for 3 more seasons

Posted: 10 October 2012 2252 hrs

SINGAPORE: SingTel on Wednesday announced that it has secured the broadcast rights to all 380 Barclays Premier League (BPL) matches for the next three seasons commencing August next year.

These rights were acquired on a non-exclusive basis, meaning that SingTel is not obliged to share the content with their competitors.

Mr Allen Lew, SingTel's country chief officer (Singapore) and CEO of Group Digital L!fe, said: "We are delighted to bring all the BPL matches 'live' to Singapore for another three seasons.

"Along with our recent acquisition of the rights to the UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, FA Cup, Serie A, Ligue 1 and other prominent football tournaments, fans can be assured of SingTel's strong commitment to deliver the most comprehensive football experience on mio TV, the home of football."

The matches will continue to be available online on miostadium.com and on mobile via SingTel's BPL application.

Premier League chief executive Richard Scudamore said: "mio Stadium has provided Singapore fans with great local programming and coverage of the Barclays Premier League action in a comprehensive and innovative manner. We are pleased to be continuing our partnership with SingTel for another three seasons."

In response to SingTel's announcement, StarHub issued a statement saying: "We are surprised that FA Premier League (FAPL) did not conduct a tender for Singapore, departing from all past practice. We will be seeking clarification from FAPL before deciding on our next course of action. We will be keen to acquire the BPL only if the price is right."

So under MDA's rules, only exclusive rights then need to share with Starhub?

This will be interesting.. the ball is on Starhub's court on whether to go and buy the rights also..

Did u guys receive the letter from Mio that they have upped their prices for the Sports package??? Bloodly hell, I am sure they gave a lot more money so now we have to pay more too!!!

Currently paying $26+ for the sports pack, Nov will be $34+ or $37+!!!

watch internet one lor [:p] what for feed this kind of a monster? the more you feed, the hungrier they become :ph34r: vote with your wallet !!! [pirate]

heng i aint no football fan...just like canon kwai lan die die don want to reduce price for 5d3, i don buy lor, i continue to use my old 40d, use until pit lagi song [rolleyes]

lshpicmovie.jpg

little-shop-of-horrors-image.jpg

Did u guys receive the letter from Mio that they have upped their prices for the Sports package??? Bloodly hell, I am sure they gave a lot more money so now we have to pay more too!!!

Think only for new subscribers, mine since MIO TV started and still old price (total package plus rental and other programmes at $37/-) ... :mellow:

So under MDA's rules, only exclusive rights then need to share with Starhub?

This will be interesting.. the ball is on Starhub's court on whether to go and buy the rights also..

SH mentioned, only when the price is right ... [:(]

So all SH subscriber jus wait lor, when the price is right ... [sweatdrop]

Think only for new subscribers, mine since MIO TV started and still old price (total package plus rental and other programmes at $37/-) ... :mellow:

Me not new subscriber. Been with them since EPL shifted to them.

Let me go home get the letter and scan it for u. All my previous billing were $26+ for the sports package.

Me not new subscriber. Been with them since EPL shifted to them.

Let me go home get the letter and scan it for u. All my previous billing were $26+ for the sports package.

me on fiber stadium plan.. shouldnt have this problem. [confused]

Unless you renew the package. Btw your current package did not include UCL & others league right?

heng i aint no football fan...just like canon kwai lan die die don want to reduce price for 5d3, i don buy lor, i continue to use my old 40d, use until pit lagi song [rolleyes]

D600 lah. I got myself one. 5D is at level of D800 mah. Won't reduce price one.

Unless you renew the package. Btw your current package did not include UCL & others league right?

UCL have. My current plan have channel 102 to 110(Mio Stadium), 114(ESPN), 115(Starsports), 116(ESPN news) and 117(ESPN HD).

I usually watch UCL on demand cos I cant wake up early in the morning.

D600 lah. I got myself one. 5D is at level of D800 mah. Won't reduce price one.

i got way too many canon gear liao......wanted to go nikon to spite canon but cant....but it is ok because it is ususally the photographer that limits the camera and not the other way round....in my case, this is definetaly true! [blush]

watch internet one lor [:p] what for feed this kind of a monster? the more you feed, the hungrier they become :ph34r: vote with your wallet !!! [pirate]

Support u on the greedy thingy. I was a football fan but no more. The greed of this corporation has killed my appetite even to play the game. Hope many pple will see howw they are feeding the greed! [shakehead][shakehead]

i got way too many canon gear liao......wanted to go nikon to spite canon but cant....but it is ok because it is ususally the photographer that limits the camera and not the other way round....in my case, this is definetaly true! [blush]

ah! ultimate photograper's toy! LEICA! [thumbsup][thumbsup]