Young pple got no hope

Ahtong

Dear Gilbert,

I am writing to you because i think I need help.

I graduated from NUS engineering, and back while in school, I thought that I would be highly employable with people rushing to give me job offers.

However, I could not be more wrong.

When I graduated, we were facing the aftermath of the 2007-2009 financial crisis.

It was hard to get employed and the future wasn

↡ Advertisement

Turbocharged

i find it strange he had to emphasize he was from NUS. so what? once you go out into working life, you may realize your boss only got a poly dip, but he is more successful than you. plus .. a lot of the stuff we've done in school doesn't necessarily prepare us for working life ... and I think this guy might have an issue since he couldn't stay at one job for very long ..

not sure what his best bet is, but maybe he should try something different (property / insurance agent etc) and see how those people leg it. (i could be wrong about this though .. but we dont know what the real issue with him is)

as usual there are many things to blame, it was not his fault but his life happen to be tougher than others, then again this is life!

Dear Gilbert,

I graduated from NUS engineering, and back while in school, I thought that I would be highly employable with people rushing to give me job offers.

When I graduated, we were facing the aftermath of the 2007-2009 financial crisis.

No regulating on number of students vs the real industrial needs. That's the problem of previous local UNI. Except medical and law. During my time, I have a friend got into plastic technology back in late 80's. After he graduated. The industries disappeared and most moved out of Singapore and Malaysia. Over the years, we have too many engineering graduates flooding the market. As for my friend, now ended up in F&B business and luckily he is doing all well.