ST Forum: Expunge Demerit Points After Three Months

Vulcann

Do not agree with the writer.

IMHO 3 months is not what he envisioned a "reasonable time to reflect" but a short period to lie low for some to chut pattern once again once over.

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...-point-20121023

Expunge demerit points after three months

AS MANY people need to drive as part of their work, I hope that the Traffic Police can consider expunging demerit points after three months instead of a year.

Motorists are already punished with a monetary fine, but still have to wait for 12 months for the demerit points to be zero again.

Three months is a reasonable time for a motorist to reflect on the traffic offence committed.

Chan Ban Choon

While I agree that 3 months is way too short for any real deterrent effect, some offences are almost too easy for a driver to commit here. For example, the amber duration is shorter than any other country I've visited in my travels. This makes truly accidental running of red lights fairly common, especially in wet conditions, etc. I would prefer they keep the original DPS system, but increase the amber duration by about a second or even two.

I can't remember if bus lane offences carry points. If so, those should be completely done away with, along with a sane redrawing of the bus lane markings around junctions with heavy traffic (it's very dangerous to expect people to keep left at the short dotted stretch right before the junction when nobody gives way in this place).

This guy need an IQ test or is in his lala world

3mth with 24 pt will result to insurance price will rocket more reckless driving.

While I agree that 3 months is way too short for any real deterrent effect, some offences are almost too easy for a driver to commit here. For example, the amber duration is shorter than any other country I've visited in my travels. This makes truly accidental running of red lights fairly common, especially in wet conditions, etc. I would prefer they keep the original DPS system, but increase the amber duration by about a second or even two.

I can't remember if bus lane offences carry points. If so, those should be completely done away with, along with a sane redrawing of the bus lane markings around junctions with heavy traffic (it's very dangerous to expect people to keep left at the short dotted stretch right before the junction when nobody gives way in this place).

i forgot whether it was HK but the lights have timers on them stating when they will turn to red then back to green. always found that pretty useful. (but hopefully people dont use as a countdown to start a race :D )

JB has the count down timer too.

LTA said no go for that. People see 5seconds from far will speed up and try to make it thru. I personally think it is a good system. Not everyone see left 5 secs will make a dash for it. Some will some down. So it is irresponsible to make a sweeping statement that we will make a dash for it without actual statistic.

Better dun. They will counter by saying that if the cars kept to the speed limit they will be able to react in time to the lights. Self-pwn.

I agree some bus lane markings do cause obstruction to the buses rather dan freeing them from traffic. Especially when the bus stop is near to a cross junction. Cars trying make a left turn have to cut into the path of the bus. They cannot follow behind the bus and wait coz of the bus lane and/or sometimes the bus obstruct the view of drivers whether there's a queue infront of the bus. They should do away with the bus lane in such cases.

true,

exponentially dangerous for those unfamiliar and newbs.

not to mention holding up traffic behind as well. ^_^

The closest we have to traffic school is the DIPS retraining course for those who are facing suspension. Theory lessons, theory test and practical driving assessment by driving centre. Even if you pass they usually just shorten the suspension, unless of course you appeal again and are successful.

I'd prefer insurers pay more attention to the demerit points of drivers like some countries overseas when it comes to calculating premiums. You kena more demerit points, the more your loading. License clean, give you discount (more than 5% please). License not clean, pay more to offset the discounts given to clean drivers.

Those "people who drive for work" already drive badly under the current structure, if the expunction of points is reduced to 3 months, it would just give them less reason to drive like their livelihoods dependent on their licence. We have seen how taxis, goods vehicles, large trucks, etc, some driven by local, some foreign. We don't need the roads to become more dangerous.

I drive a lot for my work (30,000km-40,000km a year) and have zero points on my licence after 10 years of holding my licence. Of course not as much as a taxi driver lah... but I am sure it is possible.

Three months is a reasonable time for a motorist to reflect on the traffic offence committed.

If he has already reflected and recognised the errors of his way, what difference does twelve or three months make? It only matters if he has the intention to commit it again.

Those "people who drive for work" already drive badly under the current structure, if the expunction of points is reduced to 3 months, it would just give them less reason to drive like their livelihoods dependent on their licence. We have seen how taxis, goods vehicles, large trucks, etc, some driven by local, some foreign. We don't need the roads to become more dangerous.

I drive a lot for my work (30,000km-40,000km a year) and have zero points on my licence after 10 years of holding my licence. Of course not as much as a taxi driver lah... but I am sure it is possible.

Like [thumbsup]

Perhaps they can implement kanna demerit points (points) = suspension (weeks).

Example -

3 demerit points = fine + 1 week suspension + demerit points.

6 demerit points = fine + 2 weeks suspension + demerit points.

so on...

LTA did a project for this count down timer at traffic at the pedestrian crossing between Bugis junction n Bugis Village towards City some years back.

After some months of observations, it was removed and not implemented islandwide.

LTA said no go for that. People see 5seconds from far will speed up and try to make it thru. I personally think it is a good system. Not everyone see left 5 secs will make a dash for it. Some will some down. So it is irresponsible to make a sweeping statement that we will make a dash for it without actual statistic.

Actually, LTA can just install a speed trap at the junction for that purpose. With Red Light camera, Speed Trap and a Timer, I believe the junction should be quite safe.

Side benefit, it creates more jobs for the companies that handle the the traffic light systems.

But any solution that requires more money from the government is akin to robbing the government, so I don't think they will do it. [laugh]