Insurance Premium discount for cars with in car camera.

SIM37

My insurance premium was up in october. Did my research around, and Direct Asia is the only one I found *so far* that gives an additional 4% discount when you have proof that you have an in car camera.

JUST FYI only, not their agent.

If anyone else knows of any other company, do tell please.

Cheers.

What's the T&C for DA?

What if by some ass luck that ur camera isn't working or happens to spoil at the moment of accident, no evidence to produce, are they going to void ur insurance? Ask u pay back the 4%?

Care to share the URL or link that shows DA gives additional 4% discount for proof of in-car camera? I've been DA customer for more than 3 years but never know of this....

What's the T&C for DA?

What if by some ass luck that ur camera isn't working or happens to spoil at the moment of accident, no evidence to produce, are they going to void ur insurance? Ask u pay back the 4%?

I call just DA, they say when point off accident they will ask for evidence. If i am not willing to produce them the video clips, i will have to pay a excess of $1500/- and i also ask them if at the point of time if i am willing to produce the video but due to camera actually malfuntion due to techical fault will i have to pay the excess? The answer to me was "should be no problem".

In my point of view the key words should be" NOT Willing to produce".

Anyway i find it ok since we have camera on board for the purpose of protecting ourself in the event of accident. I see no point why we are not willing to give the video clips to them unless it's really our own fault in the first place. This protect the DA and the comsumers too.

So [thumbsup][thumbsup] for DA!

i just renewed mine not long ago, and i have in car camera, but how come i dunno got such discounts???? wah lau...at least a few cups of kopi c siew dai leh....

Hi Rncw,

can you private message us your contact details and a suitable time to call you? I'd like the team to explore if it's possible to grant this discount retrospectively. I can't promise, but hope that would be the case.

many thanks .......

i just renewed mine not long ago, and i have in car camera, but how come i dunno got such discounts???? wah lau...at least a few cups of kopi c siew dai leh....

Not trying to help sell DA but their service is way better than bigger insurance coys in Singapore. I am with them for the passed 2 yrs. competitive rate n I like their fast n personalise service. Had very good experience with their tele callers.

Just a thought for DA.

Since the rest of the ins coys seem to be suckers, increasing premium unfairly, I think if you can sort of isolate yourself and cater to the majority of safe drivers with a significantly lower than mkt rate, your business shd fly.

Of course, strict underwriting applies to lower potential claims which IMHO, is unavoidable.

In short, we safe drivers want to be treated fairly n not being squeezed like a fool in a helpless manner. Accident free driving for yrs but premium keep increasing.

Hope DA can provide competitiveness of coverage for turbo charged vehicles. Last i checked for my renewal a couple of months ago, it still pales in comparison to a few others. Even though I have consistently been getting 55% discount over the years.

Turbo charged cars with low cc like 1.4l are increasingly common now.

Hi Rncw,

can you private message us your contact details and a suitable time to call you? I'd like the team to explore if it's possible to grant this discount retrospectively. I can't promise, but hope that would be the case.

many thanks .......

okay...will PM you later

Hi Darryn, thanks for going to the trouble of sharing this - that's really kind. The in-car camera seems like a win-win thing for customers and ourselves - everyone benefits, which is nice.

Hey DirectAsia, why aren't you shouting this louder? Once again showing the way forward for what insurance should be like!

Hi Tiger1 - thanks for sharing your very kind views. We are trying hard to help the average motorist in as many ways as we can. It's true our insurance is very targeted at the majority - there are some age groups we don't cover, for example. But that way we can really keep the premiums as low as possible for the majority, and pass that saving directly on to the public. Put this alongside cutting out the middlemen (agents) and the vast majority should see really good savings. Thanks once again for your kindness in sharing.

Not trying to help sell DA but their service is way better than bigger insurance coys in Singapore. I am with them for the passed 2 yrs. competitive rate n I like their fast n personalise service. Had very good experience with their tele callers.

Just a thought for DA.

Since the rest of the ins coys seem to be suckers, increasing premium unfairly, I think if you can sort of isolate yourself and cater to the majority of safe drivers with a significantly lower than mkt rate, your business shd fly.

Of course, strict underwriting applies to lower potential claims which IMHO, is unavoidable.

In short, we safe drivers want to be treated fairly n not being squeezed like a fool in a helpless manner. Accident free driving for yrs but premium keep increasing.