If you think Property price has peak, think again !

Wt_know

$1400 psf minimum ...

although psf varies by sizes, just a simple straightline computation for easy reference

750sqft = $1.05M

900sqft = $1.26M

1000sqft = $1.4M

no $1M don't go to any showroom next year

time to whack now ... huat ah!!!

SINGAPORE: New private homes typically cost 20 percent more than resale homes, but analysts say this price gap has since narrowed.

Entering into the fourth quarter, new private developments now command just a four percent premium over resale private units, according to data compiled by the Singapore Real Estate Exchange (SRX) which collates transactions by major property agencies accounting for 80 percent of the private sales market.

This premium is expected to increase as developers price in the higher cost of land in their new launches.

When it comes to new private homes, analysts say it's a buyers' market.

And that's why developers have been pricing new private homes "competitively" with marginal increases.

As a result, prices of resale units started catching up earlier this year.

By the third quarter, the median prices of resale homes reached $1,163.45 psf, one percent higher than new homes.

According to experts, resale units are usually near well-established amenities because they are in well-established estates. They are also bigger, in better locations and possibly have ready rental income from existing tenants.

Going into the fourth quarter, some analysts say prices of new private homes have recorded a premium of 4 percent. This works out to a median price of $1,261.24 per square foot for new private homes, compared to a median price of resale homes at $1,204.50 psf.

Lee Sze Teck, Senior Research Manager at DWG, said: "The price gap is likely to widen. We think that the new home prices, perhaps the situation could be reversed. Now you can see a gap between new home prices and resale prices."

Going into 2013, industry observers expect new private home prices to be some 5 to 20 per cent higher than resale units, as developers pass on higher costs.

Mohd Ismail, CEO of PropNex, said: "Based on the recent land bids, we have witnessed areas like Jurong and Tanah Merah - prices psf ppr by developer bidding exceeding $700. Which means that it will translate to sale prices next year, it will translate to $1,400 psf - minimum. Though today's median's prices are only about $1,200 for new launches. It is expected to move upwards."

Still, higher prices of new homes are expected to boost the value of existing private developments in the same area. And while resale homes come with shorter land leases, the waiting time to move in is also shorter.

- CNA/de

or you want another $100k coe thread?

do we need another thread on property???

so based on report from TS, is it still possible to buy from developers at launch and be able to sell at profit at TOP or 4 years later?

put it this way.....any decent profit will means the different in psf sold in future vs paid now has to be 100psf.

if one buys at 1500 psf for punggol does he think he can sell 1600 psf few years later?and if he sells 1600psf as resale few years later, what price does he reckon the future developers of first hand unit is selling? 1800 psf?

so based on report from TS, is it still possible to buy from developers at launch and be able to sell at profit at TOP or 4 years later?

all abt location lah , bro..

if you buy waterfront key at launch 3 yrs back, you probably make 200-300psf profit now.

But if you buy the D15 3 yrs back at launch, you probably make only 100psf profit now.

If chose the right location, and if they announce favour change near your property. profit still can be made. :)

e.g. if you buy flamingo valley now.. and if they announce they going to move the cementry next yr.. you will FA CAI lor.. :) cos' it's now below average for FH in that area. But if they dun announce... then you be prepared to stay with "your neighbours".

Edited by ShepherdPie

if you buy waterfront key at launch 3 yrs back, you probably make 200-300psf profit now.

But if you buy the D15 3 yrs back at launch, you probably make only 100psf profit now.

If chose the right location, and if they announce favour change near your property. profit still can be made. :)

e.g. if you buy flamingo valley now.. and if they announce they going to move the cementry next yr.. you will FA CAI lor.. :) cos' it's now below average for FH in that area. But if they dun announce... then you be prepared to stay with "your neighbours".

That one is muslim cemetery. I've not heard of muslim cemetery being exhumed and redeveloped before.

and when the bedok reservoir MRT is ready... prob will go up some more.

alamak... always thought it was a christian cemetery. Didn't know that was a Christian cemetery

Got both, one side was Muslem, one side Christian.

I think the house of the Muslem undertaker (not sure of proper term, the guy that did the burials) may still be there