Water Polo: Shock Win For Sg at Asian Swimming Championships

Vulcann

Well done , Singapore [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Have always been puzzled why we can do so well in SEA but unable to replicate that success in Asia or even at world level.

From CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/spo...1238983/1/.html

Water Polo: Shock win for S'pore at Asian Swimming Championships

By Tan Yo-Hinn, TODAY | Posted: 23 November 2012 0753 hrs

post-5981-1353633469_thumb.jpg

Pan Ning

Edited by Vulcann

I ever spoke to one friend who is into water polo.

he only mention one word. Size.. we are strong in Asean, but loss out in Asia simply because on Size of opponent.

Well done , Singapore [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Have always been puzzled why we can do so well in SEA but unable replicate that in Asia or even at world level.

From CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/spo...1238983/1/.html

Water Polo: Shock win for S'pore at Asian Swimming Championships

By Tan Yo-Hinn, TODAY | Posted: 23 November 2012 0753 hrs

Pan Ning

he only mention one word. Size.. we are strong in Asean, but loss out in Asia simply because on Size of opponent.

Agree to a certain extend.

For certain sports like basketball or rugby there is no freaking way we can beat the goliaths out there.

But Koreans and Japanese are almost the same build as us and they could do so well in international sports like soccer so we actually could achieve something.

Table tennis, shooting and bowling are good examples where size does not matter and which I think our SSC/NSAs are heading the right direction.

Of course the biggest drawback is that we do not have a critrical mass to support these sports.

Plus most parents would prefer their kiddos to pursue the academic route than taking up sports as career.

Agree to a certain extend.

For certain sports like basketball or rugby there is no freaking way we can beat the goliaths out there.

But Koreans and Japanese are almost the same build as us and they could do so well in international sports like soccer so we actually could achieve something.

Table tennis, shooting and bowling are good examples where size does not matter and which I think our SSC/NSAs are heading the right direction.

Of course the biggest drawback is that we do not have a critrical mass to support these sports.

Plus most parents would prefer their kiddos to pursue the academic route than taking up sports as career.

Japanese and Koreans are very hard working. what they lack in size. the compensate in Speed. see our S-league we know our player cannot run for 90 min liao [:p]

on serious note. I think their Size increase a lot in recent year. they might no longer be same size as us liao.

Japanese and Koreans are very hard working. what they lack in size. the compensate in Speed. see our S-league we know our player cannot run for 90 min liao [:p]

on serious note. I think their Size increase a lot in recent year. they might no longer be same size as us liao.

ya... Park Ji-Sung, Kagawa, Nakata, Shinji Ono etc. These players either had good techniques, 3-Lungs or very zippy. But, they all very hardworking.

S-League players... most hardworking ones I've seen............... Shi Jiayi?

ya... Park Ji-Sung, Kagawa, Nakata, Shinji Ono etc. These players either had good techniques, 3-Lungs or very zippy. But, they all very hardworking.

S-League players... most hardworking ones I've seen............... Shi Jiayi?

to balance out a bit. our climate also play a important part.

i think if those european player come here they also cannot run full 90min because of our humidity.

i used to play it abit, heard from a coach tt comment tt our polo team is strong in the region is mainly we promoting swimming alot. those tt cant make it to the top lvl at swimmin events being pull to the polo team. meanin we prob have the fastest team in the region, couple with the region is not really strong to begin with tts y we dominate the scene. to the next lvl, where the play involve more technique and tactics, we cant really rely on our pure speed to win the games.

i dont agree

it boils more to mentality

see better opponents

mentality will be sure lose

see weaker opponents

mentality will be easy meat until over confident

and when result dont go their way they start to panic

i dont agree

it boils more to mentality

see better opponents

mentality will be sure lose

see weaker opponents

mentality will be easy meat until over confident

and when result dont go their way they start to panic

Size does matter especially in contact sports.

Have u ever tried being drag down by a guy who is twice ur size in the water?

Alot of things happened under the water where pple dun know.Just look at the special trunks the players are wearing.

No leh. Ours very big. Sibeh satki

singapore-water-polo.jpg

Koreans and Japs have the same build as northern Chinese, especially the Koreans... definitely bigger size than us South East Asians. Nevertheless, our youth are catching up. I see a lot of youngsters nowadays all quite big-sized and tall... maybe due to the growth hormones in our meat supply these days [laugh] Just need to build up on fitness and strength.

are chinese players bigger than us?

all i know is water polo is a very rough sport

Edited by Ngck

Played it at hostel level and it was a dirty game...

Like some bros mentioned there were really nasty things that happened underwater during the game.

Did retaliated after some rough encounters but after the game all came out of the pool and shook hands friend friend again..

With the population in china,u can easily get talents and sizes where they can easily" eat" up most locals :D

That's why water polo training is a killer.Try carrying a chair and tread water above ur head for one minute :wacko:

But glad to see a lot of youngsters taking up the sport.

Like some said,some of the swimmers who can't make,went to play polo.

Some prefer it as it's more a team sport.

Played it at hostel level and it was a dirty game...

Like some bros mentioned there were really nasty things that happened underwater during the game.

Did retaliated after some rough encounters but after the game all came out of the pool and shook hands friend friend again..

actually i dun believe in playing dirty then coming out and shake hands again....

its bullcrap to be...

i would prefer clean game (any sports)... but if someone start dirty, i will not hesitate to have fun together with him...