Update of garmin maps

Kurty

hi guys,

need some help,

i wish to update my garmin 1350, i tried 2 desktop and 1 laptop, none can actually detect my unit for long.

how you guys actually do your update of map?

via sd card? please teach me in doing so, simple and details.

much appreciated.

Hi bro,

I had the same issue before.

Actually it's due to the cable that you are using.

Some of them are meant for charging only and therefore, don't have enough power to establish a consistent data connection.

In my case, I happened to have a Seagate external hard-disk mini-USB cable and it worked fine.

You could purchase the proper cable from the service centre a Ubi or Orchard.

Hope this helps [laugh]

Hi bro,

I had the same issue before.

Actually it's due to the cable that you are using.

Some of them are meant for charging only and therefore, don't have enough power to establish a consistent data connection.

In my case, I happened to have a Seagate external hard-disk mini-USB cable and it worked fine.

You could purchase the proper cable from the service centre a Ubi or Orchard.

Hope this helps [laugh]

Me too! I'm using the USB cable from my Seagate external harddisk without any problem.

Try using other USB cables.......

Why not you call Garmin service centre and tell them to advise you?

If device still under warranty, bring it back and tell them its faulty... [rolleyes]

Navicom is one of the local agent for garmin

There are 2 ways to update your maps (have been using Garmin for 6 years).

Either connect your Garmin direct to the PC or take out the SD card and insert to the PC.

Once connected, replace the existing "gmapsupp.img" with a new version.

Done.

it really works, you guys are genius.

did anyone tried to download the latest MSM NT2012.40, it seem to have some error while installing.

for CN NT2012.30, this is not a free map???

haha, you will be damn disappointed with them.

garmin got the worst customer service ever..

now with east gear moving out, not many dealers are willing to help.

did anyone tried to download the latest MSM NT2012.40, it seem to have some error while installing.

I don't think they are free....mine 'cos I bought the one with lifetime map update so no problem when updating....

For free ones, you can try MalSingMap and MalFreeMap....... [thumbsup]

haha, you will be damn disappointed with them.

garmin got the worst customer service ever..

now with east gear moving out, not many dealers are willing to help.

Wah lau you! Last weekend I want to buy Marbella GPS and you told me buy Garmin better...now you tell me Garmin no good....I confuse liao... :wacko:

Garmin is still good imho......lots of free maps and cPOIs made available on the web for free.......only when need tech assistance got problem I guessed....but many brands be it gps or non-gps stuff also got such customer service problem lah....... [laugh]

I just updated my software to v2.50 and MSM NT2012.40, no problem so far...... [drivingcar]

I don't think they are free....mine 'cos I bought the one with lifetime map update so no problem when updating....

For free ones, you can try MalSingMap and MalFreeMap....... [thumbsup]

yeah, now i finally know why is lifetime free map update about.

no choice, using Malsingmap and MFM..

maybe backside itchy, i will probably upgrade again.

i suppose this 2 free maps got junction view.. i really find it handy to have such feature.

ya lah, just like what the bro has said

you wanna buy 1350? sell you cheap cheap, friend friend price. 150 ^_^

Garmin is still good imho......lots of free maps and cPOIs made available on the web for free.......only when need tech assistance got problem I guessed....but many brands be it gps or non-gps stuff also got such customer service problem lah.......

I registered my Garmin online, plug in and go to the Garmin Dashboard.

It will show whether my System and Malfree/Malsing Maps are updated to the latest version.

Garmin Dashboard

maybe yours is an Atas model.. me only using 1350..

i didn't know Garmin got such feature.