Left Msia without chop

Pandaeyes

hi bros

yup.. this is how it went.

me at booth: i forgot to check stamp. really paiseh n sorry. how ah?

officer 1 at booth: oh, u park at side. come to office.

officer 2 at office: alamak, y u never check? must check u know? got sign board there.

me: ya lor, i know.. really sorry. got 2 anak at back making noise. cannot concentrate.

officer 2: let me check. (he then checks his computer. no records found of exit by my family!)

officer 2: tell u what. i see no records in my computer. u just go in jalan jalan and makan n enjoy. pretend u go in few days holiday and later u come out, my officer will stamp and scan.

me: thank you very much!

then after going in few hours, exited, got my passports stamped and scanned. this time, i checked.

Luckily you did not chose the other wayout, abangs over there are not that evil after all, cheers.

true true.. not that bad after all.

I have a experience which not many have before, lost my whole pouch during one of my road trips to Thailand, without my travel docs, the thai police promised me a bribed passage thru to Malaysia, but I choose to serrender at the Malaysian Checkpoint, the supervisor there allowed me to use their officer phones to contact our embassy in KL and finally my identity was clarified but Malaysian Immigration at Putrajaya still refused to let me tru without any identification paper. Its their country, this is their law, I followed their law.

Bo pian my frens drove my car to KL with my instant photos to process my temp travel doc with our embassy, they promised to wait for my frens till they arrive around 1-2am in the night. The officer at the checkpoint put me up at their living quarters but actually I should be in lockup. They told me theres alot of mosquitoes in the lockup. Left the checkpoint after my frens came back with my temp doc and I did sent them a bouquet of flowers upon my return the next trip. During my stay with them, Ive learn alot of lop holes which they highlight to me when Im traveling in My, cant share here in open internet. Pays to be honest and humble, they will do likewise.

I have a experience which not many have before, lost my whole pouch during one of my road trips to Thailand, without my travel docs, the thai police promised me a bribed passage thru to Malaysia, but I choose to serrender at the Malaysian Checkpoint, the supervisor there allowed me to use their officer phones to contact our embassy in KL and finally my identity was clarified but Malaysian Immigration at Putrajaya still refused to let me tru without any identification paper. Its their country, this is their law, I followed their law.

Bo pian my frens drove my car to KL with my instant photos to process my temp travel doc with our embassy, they promised to wait for my frens till they arrive around 1-2am in the night. The officer at the checkpoint put me up at their living quarters but actually I should be in lockup. They told me theres alot of mosquitoes in the lockup. Left the checkpoint after my frens came back with my temp doc and I did sent them a bouquet of flowers upon my return the next trip. During my stay with them, Ive learn alot of lop holes which they highlight to me when Im traveling in My, cant share here in open internet. Pays to be honest and humble, they will do likewise.

But why do you think they should put you in a lockup? You did not commit any crime such as deliberately passing the check point in a hidden car compartment or anything. At worst, you just remain at the Thai side of the border in some hotel until the paper work is completed??

A person with no identification appear in their custom checkpoint, singapore custom will immediately put you in lockup first den talk even though you turn yourself in. I did not want to stay at the thai side cos every officer will take opportunity to make some money out of you. I first question the police there more interested in how much I lost in the pouch, that says it all.

I was allowed to go to eat outside the checkpoint at the malaysian side with my frens, take instant photo without escort, check on me if Im comfortable, dinner on them with the my officers but was told not to wander too far incase stop by soldier. Sat in the officers, fortrunner to their living quarters, given towels and a clean sofa to sleep on. Told to rest at the quarters until my frens return from KL which they came back to pick me up. Overall they are ok with singaporeans, not the thais, only that some singaporeans stretch their limits. I still trust our nearest neighbour.

Edited by KaKiLang

A person with no identification appear in their custom checkpoint, singapore custom will immediately put you in lockup first den talk even though you turn yourself in. I did not want to stay at the thai side cos every officer will take opportunity to make some money out of you. I first question the police there more interested in how much I lost in the pouch, that says it all.

I was allowed to go to eat outside the checkpoint at the malaysian side with my frens, take instant photo without escort, check on me if Im comfortable, dinner on them with the my officers but was told not to wander too far incase stop by soldier. Sat in the officers, fortrunner to their living quarters, given towels and a clean sofa to sleep on. Told to rest at the quarters until my frens return from KL which they came back to pick me up. Overall they are ok with singaporeans, not the thais, only that some singaporeans stretch their limits. I still trust our nearest neighbour.

That's a pleasant experience in an unpleasant situation.

A lot of ppl take it for granted that checkpoint officer (every country in the world) will do their job. Some don't.

A person with no identification appear in their custom checkpoint, singapore custom will immediately put you in lockup first den talk even though you turn yourself in.

Is this true? [sweatdrop] Tourist do lose their passports all the time all over the world from theft, natural disasters, etc, and they end up in a prison while they apply for temporary permits? Even infants? What is the point of having consular services in the various countries? Even if you go to a country without diplomatic ties, I was told we could approach any British High Comm for assistance as part of the commonwealth countries.

Not imprison, just detain in an area not allow to roam freely in that country.

Good to know that you went through that experience without any serious issues.

Understood why you decided not to remain in Thailand, the place where you lost your passport. But I still think, it is alway best to remain in that country where your passport is lost, make police report then contact MFA as per the link I showed earlier.

For you case, it was a little complicated. You willingly decided to enter MY without a proper travel document therefore I can understand why the MY authorities have no choice but to restrict your movement at the Thai border until your temp travel documents are sorted out. You are therefore considered to have committed an illegal entry into MY. It would not be considered an illegal entry into Thailand if you remain in Thailand without passport as you had entered through proper way earlier. Theoretically, you should still be able to freely move in Thailand without your passport so long it did not exceed your maximum days of stay. If you didn't like how the Thai police were treating you at the check point, you should just excuse yourself and tell them you want to call your embassy at a friend's house or some other excuse. At that point in time, you have NOT committed anything wrong. Misplacing your passport is NOT a crime.

Can you imagine if you lost your passport in China? Surely you should not even try thinking of passing the borders into Burma, Mongolia, Russia without your passport. Even MFA cannot help you there.

Edited by Topspin

Why should u be apologetic when in the 1st place they didn't chop your passport intentionally?

Go bang their table and have them apologize instead!

so, which sec school you going to?

Remain in Thailand, language barrier, most of the cops want kopi and illegal passage home so dont trust them, translation of the thai report oso they want kopi $.

Choose between Bangkok Singapore Embassy (the nearest one) or down south to KL, I chose to trust our neighbour abangs cos I still have my vehicle with me. Oredi made police report at Thai side. Not so bad experience after all, this is travelling road trip, travel as you learn. [laugh]

Was taught by the my custom officer, the stretch with the duty free zone between Malaysia and Thai is belong to Malaysia, I should says I lost the passport in that area den they will issue me a temporary pass to travel down KL Singapore Embassy but I have already submitted the Thai Report so dont make matters worst I accepted the consequences. Not too bad after all, spend a nite at Custom Officers Quarters, nobody ever experienced before. Din kenna lape lucky. [laugh]

Edited by KaKiLang

Actually, you should report the loss of your passport to the embassy in Bangkok. And you're quite lucky the Malaysia Immigration Officers actually allow you over to process your temp docs. Cos honestly, they have the right to bar you from entry till you furnish the temp docs from the Singapore Embassy in Bangkok to them. Otherwise, you're just an illegal immigrant.

Anyway, I know what you mean when you say about the thai officers. I had travelled via coach to thailand from malaysia. We didn't had to alight to process our passports while at the thai side. Instead, the officer came up to collect our passport and RM2 from each of us as "processing fee".

Actually, you should report the loss of your passport to the embassy in Bangkok. And you're quite lucky the Malaysia Immigration Officers actually allow you over to process your temp docs. Cos honestly, they have the right to bar you from entry till you furnish the temp docs from the Singapore Embassy in Bangkok to them. Otherwise, you're just an illegal immigrant.

Anyway, I know what you mean when you say about the thai officers. I had travelled via coach to thailand from malaysia. We didn't had to alight to process our passports while at the thai side. Instead, the officer came up to collect our passport and RM2 from each of us as "processing fee".

If I go north to bangkok, the whole gang will have to tag along, and the vehicle permit was under my name and was just 50km from south border which is my route plan might as well gamble and made it. [laugh] After 20yrs of road trips I still got faith with our neighbour abangs. Thai custom will release me with my police report but its up to MY side to act.

Kopi $$$ I dont mind as long it solve problems but in this case no kopi $$$ involve, and our abangs still can solve problems. The thai side different story, I waited 3 days for the return and police to act on my travel docs, but seeing the same officer every morning, same thing wants kopi $$$. And when I finally told him I go the legal way he slam down the phone.

Edited by KaKiLang

2nd Gear

Sorry to dig out an old thread. 

Yesterday I came back from KLIA and was clearing the custom back to Singapore. However, when the officer stamps my exit stamp, she had stamped on another entry date which has an existing exit stamp already thus leaving one of the entry with no exit stamp(Needless to say, one of the entry has 2 exit stamps now....) So should I do any follow-up action from my end on this one? I am worried that I might get detained for not having a proper exit stamp on my latest entry.

Edited by Orb

Sorry to dig out an old thread.

Yesterday I came back from KLIA and was clearing the custom back to Singapore. However, when the officer stamps my exit stamp, she had stamped on another entry date which has an existing exit stamp already thus leaving one of the entry with no exit stamp(Needless to say, one of the entry has 2 exit stamps now....) So should I do any follow-up action from my end on this one? I am worried that I might get detained for not having a proper exit stamp on my latest entry.

once you are back you are safe, Usually the worry is they dun stamp when you go in.