Most work more than 40 hours a week

Jman888

If official weekly working hour is 44, so average of over 40 hours is normal, no? 60 hours will be quite siong though [:(]

but glad to see there are more companies offering different type of time off for the staff. Saw the news last night on one of the minister's conversation with the youth (yah there are all kind of 'conversation' lately), some young adult actually express that the stress in work and suggested a 4-day work week! :huh:

will singapore soon becoming France to have 35 hours work week?

Most work more than 40 hours a week

These results suggest that most respondents are overloaded with work, including those in senior positions. -My Paper

Jacqueline Woo

Fri, Dec 21, 2012

My Paper

Medical social worker Sara Lee works from 8am to about 8pm or later, at least three times a week.

"The latest I've worked until is 10pm. It's fulfilling, but tiring," the 23-year-old told My Paper.

"And that leaves me with only the weekends for catching up with my family and friends," she said.

Ms Lee is not alone in her predicament.

A survey conducted last month by Singapore Press Holdings' online job portal STJobs found that 65 per cent of over 3,000 respondents clock an average of more than 40 hours a week, spending more time than they should at work.

The poll, which looked at workplace trends and expectations, also showed almost eight in 10 employees in Singapore have not fully utilised, and are likely to forgo, their annual-leave entitlement this year.

These results suggest that most respondents are overloaded with work, including those in senior positions who are entitled to more leave, as they are generally not getting enough rest.

Human-resource experts attribute the issue of overworked employees to reasons such as Singapore's role as a "major regional hub".

"Offices here have to service many hubs around the world... and take on video-conference calls and other forms of communication with countries outside of their official office hours," said Mr Finian Toh, manager of banking and financial services at Robert Walters Singapore.

Mr Mark Hall, vice-president and country manager of Kelly Services Singapore, added: "Uncertainty in the market means that people are very conscious of protecting their jobs and prefer to take on extra work to demonstrate their value."

Mr Koh Juan Kiat, executive director of Singapore National Employers Federation, explained that employees could be not fully utilising their leave entitlements for personal reasons.

He said: "They could be planning to carry them over to next year for a longer break, or they could have taken other forms of leave, such as childcare or familycare leave."

Employers, for their part, can "encourage their employees to take leave to rest, spend time with family and friends, and recharge", he said.

Results of a separate survey released yesterday showed that more employers in Singapore are, in fact, making arrangements to offer their employees work-life balance.

Conducted by the Ministry of Manpower's Research and Statistics Department, the Employment Survey 2012 found that 41 per cent - or four in 10 - establishments offered at least one form of work-life arrangement, up from 38 per cent last year.

Part-time work was the most common form of arrangement offered by 33 per cent of establishments.

Flexible working times, staggered hours and teleworking were also offered.

The survey also found that employers are increasingly going beyond statutory requirements to provide their employees with various leave benefits that help them cope with family commitments.

These employers offered compassionate leave, marriage leave, paternity leave, study or examination leave, and parental-care or sick leave.

The survey, conducted from June 27 to Aug 31, involved about 3,500 establishments in the private and government sectors, which together had 1,176,200 employees.

If official weekly working hour is 44, so average of over 40 hours is normal, no? 60 hours will be quite siong though [:(]

but glad to see there are more companies offering different type of time off for the staff. Saw the news last night on one of the minister's conversation with the youth (yah there are all kind of 'conversation' lately), some young adult actually express that the stress in work and suggested a 4-day work week! :huh:

will singapore soon becoming France to have 35 hours work week?

tan kuku lah. even within france, think only govt service works so little.

This was the conversation in news.

Poly students want 'stress-free' society

Their vision for Singapore in 2030 at odds with increasingly competitive global environment

by Amir Hussain 04:46 AM Dec 21, 2012

SINGAPORE - A more gracious and inclusive society with a slower pace of life, where Singaporeans are happier than they are today and not caught up in the rat race.

This is the Singapore that 185 students from four polytechnics here hope to see in 2030.

In particular, the students hoped for a "stress-free" society, less competition at the workplace and a four-day work week - wishes that are at odds with the increasingly competitive global environment that Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Lawrence Wong tried to paint to them.

The youths from Temasek Polytechnic, Republic Polytechnic, Nanyang Polytechnic and Singapore Polytechnic (SP) were participating in a two-hour dialogue yesterday with Mr Wong as part of the Our Singapore Conversation project.

The participants' views prompted Mr Wong to explain at length the increasingly competitive global environment that Singapore will find itself in.

Nevertheless, speaking to TODAY afterwards, Mr Wong said he was not worried and he could understand why the youths felt that way.

"They grew up in a certainly more stressful environment, a more competitive environment, and so I think it's natural that there is that desire for them to want a better work-life balance, to have a better quality of life," Mr Wong said.

Mr Wong added: "I think that what's important is, as I have tried to do, to help them understand that we have to make a living within a more competitive environment at the same time.

"And so as we try to find our way in that competitive environment, I think then they will have to find their own balance."

The dialogue was jointly organised by the People's Association Youth Movement (PAYM) and the SP's Youth Model ASEAN Conference committee.

The participants were split into 10 groups to discuss five key themes: Education, family, jobs, society and people. They then presented their ideas to Mr Wong.

SP student Daniel Chew, 19, suggested a four-day work week with a break on Wednesday, "so it gives you time to relax".

He noted that most people usually feel burnt out by the fourth day of the week and have to drag themselves to work on Fridays.

Another participant added: "We want Singaporeans to be more approachable and friendly, and have a more optimistic and carefree lifestyle, to be stress-free."

Mr Wong said the idea of a four-day work week was enticing but he noted that businesses will be affected.

On their ideal Singapore in 2030, the participants should take into account the Republic's broader environment then, Mr Wong said.

By 2030, China would have overtaken the United States as the world's largest economy.

The economies of Asia would also be larger than the combined economies of the US and Europe by then, he said.

Other trends include the Republic's ageing population, the rise of Asia's middle class and the growing demand for resources such as food and energy, which will put pressures on commodity prices.

"It's not to be taken for granted that Singapore will be where we are today, because other cities are growing much faster than us, and the drive to get ahead is very strong," said Mr Wong.

"And we must keep in mind that we are a small city within this bigger world. And as we think about what we would like to have in the future we have to consider these factors as well," he added.

"It's a question of choice and consequence ... all of us can choose but we must be mindful that there are consequences behind (a particular) choice," Mr Wong said.

Apart from talking about the Singapore they would like to see in 2030, the participants voiced strong opinions on perennial issues affecting their daily lives now - the lack of concessionary travel on public transport and the availability of university places for Singaporeans.

In response, Mr Wong said the issue of concessionary fare for public transport for polytechnic students is being reviewed by the Ministry of Transport.

On university places, he reiterated that the percentage of each cohort entering university will be increased from the current 30 per cent to 40 per cent, while the percentage of international students has gone down from 18 per cent to 15 per cent.

i tink most sinkapore lang work MORE THAN 40 hrs a week leh......

like me,work 6 days, each day 8 hrs....48 hrs liao.....

nowadays hard to find 8 hrs daily, 5-day week job liao leh......

4-day week??!!! :blink:

tell that fellow sit at home better, 0-day week.....more power..... <_<

everybody wants work life balance. who don't want?

haha that poly student. want to work 4 days, ask him go eat air lah... see how hungry he will be after eating some air ... [laugh]

everybody wants work life balance. who don't want?

haha that poly student. want to work 4 days, ask him go eat air lah... see how hungry he will be after eating some air ... [laugh]

he can find la...

go work part time lo...

he want 3 days work week also can...

just dun expect to be paid the same amount...

The guy who suggested 4 day work week is simply lazy IMO.

After I have worked like s--t in Korea did I realize how fortunate I am working in Singapore. [laugh]

The guy who suggested 4 day work week is simply lazy IMO.

After I have worked like s--t in Korea did I realize how fortunate I am working in Singapore. [laugh]

Depends what kind of work... in large countries with long commutes to work, they have choice of 4-day week, but with longer work hours each day. They start the day early, e.g. 6am (?) - would anyone here be willing to do that? [laugh]

I think it's more important to like the job and your colleagues, or be working on some project that interests you, then it's not such a drag to go to work. Many youths these days want to sleep until close to mid-day, how to work? [laugh]

i tink most sinkapore lang work MORE THAN 40 hrs a week leh......

like me,work 6 days, each day 8 hrs....48 hrs liao.....

nowadays hard to find 8 hrs daily, 5-day week job liao leh......

4-day week??!!! :blink:

tell that fellow sit at home better, 0-day week.....more power..... <_<

Think he's trying to say...4 day X 24 hrs = 96hrs per week.... then rest shiok shiok for 3 days...maybe

Dont understand why people want to work so long hours?!

If the body could cope without rest...I rather we have the full 24 hrs a day x 365/6.... then u will find 40 hrs a week actually not alot....

Dont understand why people want to work so long hours?!

In the morning, I will be in office at 9am and I have to attend to an hour long briefing, thereafter, I have to prepare the papaerwork for the day appointment and also to reply to client's email, attend to immediate service issues or execute order.

In the afternoon I will meet clients for lunch or meet them in their offices. By the time I returned back to office it is 6pm, I have to returned calls or call client for sales until 8.30pm. Afterwhich I have to fill in the paperwork for tomorrow submission. By the time I end the day work, it will be around 9 or 10.