80% of the taxi drivers are ....

Lanevomax

I was heading home today from changi airport all the way to jurong using ECP / AYE....

encounter alot of road hoggers .... 80% are taxi-drivers. [rifle]

hardly can see a taxi driver who will give way but there are nice taxi drivers who will give way ..... :D

i guess most of the taxi drivers's mindset are "what important is my bussiness and time ahead, what happen behind is none of my bussiness."

their tradmark speech when encounter accident... [laugh]

if you hit their taxi " i want $xxx.xx amount of money otherwise , i will report you to your insurance .... my claim amount will be very high cos i can claim lose of income , lose of use of vehicle to go geylang ,and all kind of crap.."

if they hit on your vehicle " please dont report to my insurance and if possible dont repair lar, no damage mah.... i got 1 wife not working , 5 kids and 2 mistress at geylang to feed"

Long ago i already observed that many road hoggers are taxi liao. finally someone confirm that. almost everytime i drive on highway there is a taxi road hogging.

my observation is more of

30% hoggers

30% tailgaters

20% Nonchalant driving attitude

15% aggressive driving

5% law abiding normal drivers

Taxi driver thinking is as follows -

1. I am on the road all the time, and I need to get from point A to point B as quickly as possible to make money so I need to be in 1st lane.

2. I cannot be moving over to the 2nd lane everytime some leisure driver decides to tailgate me and then move back to 1st lane, so I'm just going to stay in 1st lane at 90km/h from the time I hit the expressway until the time I need to exit.

3. Something went horribly wrong with my life/career which ended up in me driving a taxi for a living so pissing other drivers off is the least of my problems.

if they hit on your vehicle " please dont report to my insurance and if possible dont repair lar, no damage mah.... i got 1 wife not working , 5 kids and 2 mistress at geylang to feed"

seldom have any taxi drivers giving way..they either hog lane 1 on expressways or plying really slow on lane 2/3 on normal roads hoping to pickup potential passengers

The road hog but stay at the limit to not get into trouble. But there are others who road hog at 60-70km/hr on the right most lane. Which is more annoying?

I dont want to start a debate on road hogging vs tailgaters, but recently i was behind a taxi road hogging at below 80km/hr, while the lane 2 was travelling at same or faster speed. He forced the cars behing to over take from the left and you can imagine how dangerous it was to overtake from the left at a slower speed than cars in lane two. i witnessed a few very close shave manourvre due to this road hogging.

Edited by Vextan

seldom have any taxi drivers giving way..they either hog lane 1 on expressways or plying really slow on lane 2/3 on normal roads hoping to pickup potential passengers

okie , we got proof here..

some taxi drivers are not aware of there is like 1,000 cars behind him and just drive within HIS speed limit.....

Edited by Lanevomax

I see a lot of taxi drivers straddle lanes also.

I suspect a lot of them quite old and got vision problem.. anyone also notice?

Yes, noticed that too. Some of them may be too tired to maintain lane discipline, some just simply cultivated this bad habit. At least 4 out of 10 taxis straddle the lanes!!!

We are a developed country...hope our taxi drivers can learn from JaPan Taxi drivers.

They are patient, courteous and do not hog roads.

What I notice is during daytime they are hoggers. At night all drive very fast and become tailgaters. Always see them speeding at night. Driving at 100km/h already and they are still much faster.

We are a developed country...hope our taxi drivers can learn from JaPan Taxi drivers.

They are patient, courteous and do not hog roads.

Jeepoon taxi uncles damn one kind:- wear white gloves and like to read in the driver's seat when they wait at taxi stand.... Maybe they read a lot of porn paperbacks? [rolleyes]

Next time I check if they also always lim kopi at kopitiam like sgp taxi uncles