Fixing TPE upper changi Exit

Wind30

Guy,

for those people who uses the TPE to changi in the morning, I am sure you know about the upper changi road exit which always jammed.

I think LTA has opened a new exit further down in PIE to enter changi north cresent in OCt 2012.

This has not really solved the problem.

Can we brainstorm what can be done to fix this and then feedback to LTA??

My suggestion

1) change the lane markings. Currently there is two lanes that can enter this exit from TPE and 4 lanes at the first traffic light junction at the upper Changi road. The current lane markings is the inner most lane will split into THREE lanes while the outer lane will conitnue as one lane. LTA should change the lanes such that both exit lanes will split into two lanes each. This will reduce the number of filtering required and helps to populate all four lanes more efficiently

2) change the traffic light timing. The timing should not be lengthened excessively but the frequency should be increased. It is because the four lanes at the junction cannot be fully utilized at the later part of the traffic light timing as there is only 2 lanes from TPE exiting.

3) Close off the left turn into Upper Changi Road north. All cars entering upper Changi Road north should use the new exit at PIE into Changi north cresent. no reason for them to squeeze with the rest of the cars going to upper changi road east.

Any other suggestions?

LTA feedback number: 18002255582

Guy,

for those people who uses the TPE to changi in the morning, I am sure you know about the upper changi road exit which always jammed.

I think LTA has opened a new exit further down in PIE to enter changi north cresent in OCt 2012.

This has not really solved the problem.

Can we brainstorm what can be done to fix this and then feedback to LTA??

My suggestion

1) change the lane markings. Currently there is two lanes that can enter this exit from TPE and 4 lanes at the first traffic light junction at the upper Changi road. The current lane markings is the inner most lane will split into THREE lanes while the outer lane will conitnue as one lane. LTA should change the lanes such that both exit lanes will split into two lanes each. This will reduce the number of filtering required and helps to populate all four lanes more efficiently

2) change the traffic light timing. The timing should not be lengthened excessively but the frequency should be increased. It is because the four lanes at the junction cannot be fully utilized at the later part of the traffic light timing as there is only 2 lanes from TPE exiting.

3) Close off the left turn into Upper Changi Road north. All cars entering upper Changi Road north should use the new exit at PIE into Changi north cresent. no reason for them to squeeze with the rest of the cars going to upper changi road east.

Any other suggestions?

LTA feedback number: 18002255582

Make a tunnel or flyover near the new Changi North Cresent exit to Changi South Ave 1.

One major factor is that there are merging lanes in the same short stretch..vehicles entering from Loyang ave into TPE and those exiting from TPE to Changi North road.

One of these has to be relocated.

That area consist of commercial/warehousing buildings. Whatever measures put in place would not be able reduce the heavy morning traffic.

Can you leave home earlier or not?

Edited by Toothiewabbit

i think the PIE to CTE is worse !! morning jam.. evening jammed...

should closed that entrance in the morning.. so i no need to pay $5 ERP.. ok.. off topic :huh:

That area consist of commercial/warehousing buildings. Whatever measures put in place would not be able reduce the heavy morning traffic.

Can you leave home earlier or not?

but whatever improvements can implement will help right??

The suggestions I made is all low cost ones.

Things like lane markings also cannot do properly. I mean the innermost exit lane branch out to THREE lanes while the outer lane is stuck with one lane.

They spent tens of thousands of dollars to create a new exit at changi crescent but leave out the simple things like traffic light timing.

few months later LTA also never call me back. The TPE still as bad as it is.

I mean all my suggestions are low cost ones which should help right??

Can more bros who use this road call up LTA to feedback?? thanks...

few months later LTA also never call me back. The TPE still as bad as it is.

I mean all my suggestions are low cost ones which should help right??

Can more bros who use this road call up LTA to feedback?? thanks...

I exit Loyang daily

I tot they did do something to that exit Liao or did they jus do the filter lane into the changi prison that small road

You dun come n exit Loyang then cut thru the pte estate hor

Adding to my jam

Hahaha jk jk