Neighbourhood or Elite Primary School

Caldina

This school has all along been majority chinese.

i feel they can benefit more on the specialised mother tougue teachings due to this.

Many many other issues and factors too.

Racist is your choosen sole perception of my views which i can say is not correct.

Are you saying since majority chinese, all parents whom enroll their kids there are racists ??????

No offence, but you sound like a racist. Why is racial homogeneity so important to you? Minimise FTs, OK that I can sort of understand, but you don't want contact with other race Singaporeans also? [rolleyes]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

there is really a difference in neighborhood school and those so called elite school if you bother to do your research. however, your child plays a big part too. going to elite schools doesn't mean sure good result but chances will be higher if your child is willing to study. take a look at the different exposure they will get.

parents are also another factor. your child may get good result because of you making them studying hard but how long they will do so? ideally is they will study not because of you but because of their own internal drive. it is not an easy job to find that balance or to turn on this internal drive.

good luck.

30 years from now, my kids will get their turn to hao lian here. hahaha. [laugh][laugh] [laugh]

Wrong. If the school intake never increases, while more and more alumni try to get their kids in, it will be the case of alumni's kids also need to ballot. [laugh]

Is how you apply yourself in school that matters. Not say good school always churn out good people. I all the way neighbourhood school, I think I've done well for myself.

To my mind this is a reason NOT to put kid in that school.

Mine attends the closest school - Mee Toh.

If I'm not wrong,despite being a neighbourhood school, Mee Toh also had to ballot for within 1km. Also one of the school that require, parent volunteer or affiliation to increase the chances.

Wrong. If the school intake never increases, while more and more alumni try to get their kids in, it will be the case of alumni's kids also need to ballot. [laugh]

But birthrate also dropping mah, so kind of counter effect.

This school has all along been majority chinese.

i feel they can benefit more on the specialised mother tougue teachings due to this.

Many many other issues and factors too.

Racist is your choosen sole perception of my views which i can say is not correct.

Are you saying since majority chinese, all parents whom enroll their kids there are racists ??????

I come from a school which was 99.9% chinese. Even my indian classmate has better mandarin score than me!!! My mandarin is very jialat. No choice, come from a english speaking family. So I dont think the school matters if one doesnt want to learn. [laugh][:p]

All school is the same. It's the parents that need to guide their kids along with their education and not to leave it to the school teachers. Parents needs to find times and sit with their kids everynight to go through with them.

Look at it this way, 2 parents (husband & wife) taking full attention on 1 child is better or 1 teacher taking attention after 30 childs better. :ph34r:

If all school the same, then why some school can consistantly produce good results on majority of the corhort year after year?

To me ... Elite or Neighbourhood .... not important.

More important is affilation to secondary schools .... Eg ... Fairfield Methodist Primary .... affilated to FMSS for sec and to ACJC for JC.... what the point of trying so hard to get to RGPS but have to fight for Elite secondary schools like all the rest.

Or more elite ..... ACS Junior, SGGS Primary, NYP ... but only girls have affilation to NYGS, MGS etc etc.

Hey....me too. My chinese suxs. [laugh]

Butttttttttt............it doesnt benefit me doesnt mean it will not benefit my kids.

Why purposely ignoring an advantage when the situation present itself ?

Anyway, i dont id Pei Chin as an elite school. I dont believe in elite schools in the first place. [laugh]

I come from a school which was 99.9% chinese. Even my indian classmate has better mandarin score than me!!! My mandarin is very jialat. No choice, come from a english speaking family. So I dont think the school matters if one doesnt want to learn. [laugh][:p]

talk like no talk, end up still in elite school [:p] [:p]

Eh

Where got elite sch?

Still neigbourhoid lar

Jus that dun even need to ballot of volunteer

As it the sch I come from leh

In the 80s 90s considered a gan s ter sch in the northeast lar

My Ang mo so bad where got elite sch one

Haha

ok lar.........at least the papa did his part liao.

They cannot blame me on this later on. [laugh]

Frankly speaking

Not only elite sch needs balloting leh

As long as in the neigbourhood

ESP when it's a mixed sch

The demand is higher

That's y I op for boy sch

More vacancy

Easier for me

Hahaha

My boy has too many gfs in cc Liao

Enuff of all these bgr issue

Too pop Liao

Hahaha

Sb hao lian

Borrowed a statement from our minister......''All school in Singapore are good''

But some are better. And maybe 10 are the best.

Good, better, best. Minister is correct, all are at least good schools.

i like that school, i believe it has a very good moral teaching.

I bump into a P1 girl from meetoh (recognised from her t shirt) in a tuition centre (CDAC to be precise), she saw me from far and not knowing who i was (just using their toilet in the building [laugh] [laugh] jk), she bow to me with respect, i almost cry on the spot!! i dun think i would ever met a kid like her in singapore.

The school is big on personal responsibility - kids are supposed to carry own bag to school, must tell parents school messages, have Dharma class...

But it does also have its share of Kiasu parents.

Also quite stressful - they do streaming for P3 - so quite competitive

If I'm not wrong,despite being a neighbourhood school, Mee Toh also had to ballot for within 1km. Also one of the school that require, parent volunteer or affiliation to increase the chances.

Yes its popular - much much competition.

Originally wasn't going to send there, but after visiting open day was impressed by moral teachings, and also by the way the students spoke to my wife when she talked to them in Chinese.

And plus, it is about 50m from our lift lobby.

Or more elite ..... ACS Junior, SGGS Primary, NYP ... but only girls have affilation to NYGS, MGS etc etc.

"Elite" here does not merely mean academics ok.... ACJS and SCGS are academically abysmal.

And if you send your kids to such schools (assuming they can even get in), be prepared for the classic Singaporean "keeping up with the Joneses", but this time you're playing at the District 9, 10, 11 bungalow level where a swimming pool at home is de rigeur, household income is above $750k, 3 or 4 cars is common, the cheapest one being a BMW, holidays will be to Swiss chalets, Alaskan cruises and London shopping trips... on first class no less.... many of the kids have not experienced "cattle class" economy before...

If you are unable to play the game, your kids will be ostracised.

If you can hack it, by all means send your kid there but be prepared to answer any questions he/she will have on your family's economic status.

At MGS, the teachers asked the girls to name the car brands they have at home. Majority were Mercedes Benzes, a few had Bentleys and Porsches, maybe one or two Ferraris. Imagine if you drove a Nissan GTR.

Edited by Viceroymenthol