Consumers to gain if private car rental scheme liberalised

Dark

Me thinks this is not a good idea.

Look at how allowing HDB rental in 2003 has played a part in pushing up HDB prices.

Also excessive car sharing may lead to more congestion. Instead of owner driving to office in the morning and back in the evening, car may end up on the road the whole day.

To MOD: I post this first hor

Consumers to gain if private car rental scheme liberalised: GPC

SINGAPORE - The Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Transport has welcomed the possibility of liberalising the Private Car Rental Scheme, saying consumers will benefit from more competition.

But it also suggested that authorities carefully watch the impact on road congestion if private car rental is liberalised during peak periods.

A more relaxed scheme also means additional opportunities for car owners to get some money back from the high cost of vehicle ownership in Singapore. iCarsclub is an online peer-to-peer private car rental business where one can find cars for rent for under S$10 an hour - slightly pricier than renting a bicycle at some parks.

Of course, there is Electronic Road Pricing and fuel costs to consider. And under current rules, private cars can only be rented out around the weekends and public holidays. iCarsclub has proposed to authorities to allow weekday rentals.

The company estimates that a motorist can make S$1,000 monthly renting out his personal vehicle under current rules. The amount can be doubled or tripled, if regulations are relaxed, said Eddy Zhang, co-founder and CEO of iCarsclub.

Me thinks this is not a good idea.

Look at how allowing HDB rental in 2003 has played a part in pushing up HDB prices.

Also excessive car sharing may lead to more congestion. Instead of owner driving to office in the morning and back in the evening, car may end up on the road the whole day.

To MOD: I post this first hor

Consumers to gain if private car rental scheme liberalised: GPC

SINGAPORE - The Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Transport has welcomed the possibility of liberalising the Private Car Rental Scheme, saying consumers will benefit from more competition.

But it also suggested that authorities carefully watch the impact on road congestion if private car rental is liberalised during peak periods.

A more relaxed scheme also means additional opportunities for car owners to get some money back from the high cost of vehicle ownership in Singapore. iCarsclub is an online peer-to-peer private car rental business where one can find cars for rent for under S$10 an hour - slightly pricier than renting a bicycle at some parks.

Of course, there is Electronic Road Pricing and fuel costs to consider. And under current rules, private cars can only be rented out around the weekends and public holidays. iCarsclub has proposed to authorities to allow weekday rentals.

The company estimates that a motorist can make S$1,000 monthly renting out his personal vehicle under current rules. The amount can be doubled or tripled, if regulations are relaxed, said Eddy Zhang, co-founder and CEO of iCarsclub.

will definitely put more cars on the roads and for longer periods.

[shakehead]

knn, everything also want to make money out of. handbags also can rent. next thing is watches also can rent.

Singapore sibei unique!

[dead]

Asset enhancement policy taken to a whole new level :wacko:

Do we commoners have a say? Open letter, petition, national CONversation all proven to be useless now <_<

private car rental is not unique in Singapore, some countries are already running the scheme... But of course their main objective is to cut down on the carbon emission... Singapore, haiz sadly is about money than environmental

I have heard that for Hybrid or electric cars are not so environmental friendly when manufacturing certain parts in the car (sorry, not too sure which are the parts) but anyway, it should be more environmental friendly in the long run. I just don't understand why Singaporeans are punished in dollars and cents for driving a hybrid / electric car. They should be price even lower or should have huge rebate on COE or totally free from road tax to encourage people to use these cars.

this i dont understand....rental means more car usage so how can reduce carbon emission?

due to high car ownership cost in SG..car sharing is a viable idea for those who are skint but still want to "own a car"..but certainly monetizing from a personal vehicle is not everyone's cup of tea..there is still the question of parking offence/fines committed by the renter and also scratches/dents/damage issues

will definitely put more cars on the roads and for longer periods.

[shakehead]

knn, everything also want to make money out of. handbags also can rent. next thing is watches also can rent.

Singapore sibei unique!

[dead]

Well at least u r rich

Worry what. At most fly helicopter

Its peasants like us that worry

Well at least u r rich

Worry what. At most fly helicopter

Its peasants like us that worry

Fly helicopter?

Mai qua chang lah bro.

Even if can fly helicopter also wont work, our infrastructure not built for that.

I also peasant in every sense of the word....but worried, am not ..

I find it quite a good idea, I'm driving a small car, toying with the idea of change to a toyota wish, but if able to rent from private or exchange for just a few days so that I can move my whole family around when I need to go back malaysia. Renting from those car rental company are killer...

I have heard that for Hybrid or electric cars are not so environmental friendly when manufacturing certain parts in the car (sorry, not too sure which are the parts) but anyway, it should be more environmental friendly in the long run. I just don't understand why Singaporeans are punished in dollars and cents for driving a hybrid / electric car. They should be price even lower or should have huge rebate on COE or totally free from road tax to encourage people to use these cars.

Because we pay lesser for petrol mah, so they will still suck from hybrid drivers lor. Last mth I drove 3.7k km and my petrol bill less than 100 bucks, all pump in msia [laugh]