We need "someone" to do the same

Calvin79

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/world/...cen/627156.html

WASHINGTON: President Barack Obama plans to return five percent of his $400,000 annual salary to US government coffers out of sympathy for federal workers furloughed as a result of massive budget cuts.

"The salary for the President, as with members of Congress, is set by law and cannot be changed," a White House official said Wednesday on condition of anonymity.

"However, the President has decided that to share in the sacrifice being made by public servants across the federal government that are affected by the sequester, he will contribute a portion of his salary back to the Treasury."

Obama will cut checks every month to account for the impact of the budget cuts, known as the sequester, which came into force on March 1.

The White House has warned that thousands of federal government workers could be furloughed, see salaries hit or even be laid off because of arbitrary budget cuts of $85 billion.

The measure came into force because Obama and Republican lawmakers were unable to agree a deal on cutting the US budget deficit.

Obama is said to have chosen the five percent figure as it is equal to the cut being inflicted on non-exempt, non-discretionary government spending.

Upz the Safety Margin by many many times over. [:|]

Maybe somebody should compile the top 100 politician salary in the World.

Im sure one particular govt will overwhelm the entire list. [laugh]

Over here.... they will decide to UP their pay for the same reason...

what!! he only get paid US$400K a year and he gets to push the button that can blow up the whole world? :huh: :huh:

They already reduce recently Liao lah. Give them a break. Must keep bullets for the real stuff. If not people think we cry wolf only.

what!! he only get paid US$400K a year and he gets to push the button that can blow up the whole world? :huh: :huh:

Yeah he is paid too much.

Give me $200,000 and I will press that button for half of what he gets.

Yeah he is paid too much.

Give me $200,000 and I will press that button for half of what he gets.

now i understand money can't buy happiness :D

Have to make the god forbit decision for so little money.

Beri the bor huat lei.

Some people do so much less to earn much much more............which one u prefer ? [laugh]

At the recent meeting with Obama at the White House

LHL: Hahaha, my annual salary is so much more that yours!

O: KNN .....

photo_1364929254927-3-HD.jpg

Edited by Altivo

Do the same ?????..................i rather not man............or end up we all will pay more!!!!!............... :wacko: :wacko: :wacko:

If LHL contributes 5%, I can foresee two scenarios -

1) He gets corrupted for not earning enough

2) We need to pay him back 5000%

Which one you want?

Watched Lincoln..not an easy job running a country with more than 50 states...here..we cant even solve our LRT porblems.. [:(]

Obama pay is less than our pm need not say abt mr tan.

What gets me is, maybe even TPL earns more than the US president.

If LHL contributes 5%, I can foresee two scenarios -

1) He gets corrupted for not earning enough

2) We need to pay him back 5000%

Which one you want?

I dun mind he keep all his pay, or even up his pay by another few millions, IF he can do a good job..... but then hor reality suck...

Edited by Ahwhye